We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mombasa Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mombasa Backpackers to your Saves list
Mombasa Backpackers
Mwamba Drive #69 | Behind Kenol petrol station on Mtwapa Rd., Mombasa 34258-80118, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

After reading some of the reviews from people i was somewhat disheartened, but me and my friends decided to go anyway. Turns out this place is a lovely mansion with a pool, awesome backyard and cool owners and staff.
I have been meaning to write a review for a while because while I was there I there was still construction going on, i left money in my locker and through my paranoia thought one of the workers there had stolen it. After telling the owner he was very shocked and apologetic as this has never happened before, He then offered to pay me back in full for what I said was stolen! Turns out it wasn't stolen and i found it in another part of my backpack (i know i am an idiot). I have never met an owner of a hostel who would willing give his own cash on what someone has said went missing.
Me and my friends had some of the best nights out in Kenya right near the backpackers where they had a club complex. The place did not seem dodgy at all, me and my friends went drinking at night and were walking around, its just like anywhere in Africa, you just have to be smart.
I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay in Mombasa at very reasonable prices. Cheers for an awesome few days, i will be looking to come back soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    21
    8
    9
    17
See reviews for
2
19
76
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hagen, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the mombasa backpackers. I met very nice and funny people and the house is absolutely awesome. It has a swimminpool in the garden and the rooms are always clean. I felt at home and leaving the place was difficult coz i had a very good time there.

to go to Mombasa town is very easy and the beach is nearby. The owners have always time to help you with problems or questions.

When you book a bed at mombasa backpackers, you can be sure to have a really great time and a lot of fun there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

The perfect place to go if you want to meet people, party, and see the sights of Mombasa! Great for a range of people and younger crowd. With three Massai warriors manning the completely gated grounds, security couldn't be better. Cheap in-house bar and dinner (great food!). Rooms are massive and very clean. Guys who run the place are fantastic, great to hang out with, and know lots about the area and hidden gem destinations along the coast. Owners are a very helpful group of well-travelled guys from around the world. One is a Canadian! A great time in a great place with great people!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

i truly enjoyed staying at mombasa backpackers. initially i just wanted to stay a couple of days to visit mombasa..but it turned into a three week stay. sweet location and cool staff. looking forward to get back there soom :)
securitywise one has to be careful outside of the hostel (e.g. use tuktuks). but this is similar all over town..it's mombasa

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have stayed at Mombasa Backpackers a number of times, and it is great for having a relaxing time and meeting new people.

The backpackers is a beautiful white house with an exotic garden and a pool, great for jumping in after a long, hot day. I usually stay in one of the dorms, which are good value for money, cleaned daily by staff. They have about 6 bunk beds in them. They also have fans to keep you slightly cooler at night, and mosquito nets.

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The chef serves up great, cheap meals. There is also an outside kitchen for guests and with a supermarket about a 10 minute walk away this can be handy on a tight budget.

The backpackers is always buzzing with a variety of people, the nights are sometimes a little noisy for this reason. However it is perfect if you enjoy beach bars/ clubs at night as there are a few nearby.

The location is great, in the main tourist area of Mombasa called Nyali. It is tucked away from busy roads but only a short walk to the beach. It is about 20 minutes taxi ride to Mombasa city (30 mintutes by Mtatu) and 15 minutes taxi away from the gorgeous Bamburi beach. Tsavo is the closest safari national park which I would definitely reccommend.

I always feel safe staying here as the staff are always around and there is a guard at the gates. Also the owner offers a locked room for your valuables.

There is a bar, music, a TV room and books. There is wifi available for a small charge. The bathrooms are clean, despite a few ants at night, but you can't really escape that in Kenya! Also there are some monkeys which pop by every now and again, they are funny to watch in the garden.

Hope this helps, I would strongly recommend staying here if you are looking for a chilled out atmosphere and meeting like-minded people.

Contradicting past reviews ...

The owner is a lovely gay. He is sobre and does wear trousers.

The TV is definitely not the only thing going on here, in fact on my last visit I don't remember it being used (the main TV/DVD player/wii it is in another room out of the way).

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper and want early nights I would recommend you ask for a room upstairs, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Nice house, friendly staff, close to the beach, convenient to go to town and, last but not least, a great garden with a swimming pool... This place has what any traveller on budget needs maybe more. Few hours there and you're already relax, feeling home, making it difficult to leave.

On the safety side I didn't have any problem, I've been advice at arrival of the problem that can exist outside but they do exist anywhere else in Kenya as well so it's not really about this place. Inside the house itself and the garden there is no problem, the guard is always here and the staff take care of your stuff.

House is clean, the staff makes sure the place neat at all time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have to say that I haven't met any of the bad things I've read here.

The personnel is sober, and they use trousers.
We were advised of all the security problems you could have around as soon as we arrived.
The common areas are always clean, and only some costumers leave their waste around not taking in count that this is a hostel and not a hotel.

I think they've learnt from the past and they have solved all what I've read about.

It's a huge house with dorms that are cleant every day, and the bathrooms as well.

The ambience is allways relaxing, and sometimes an unexpected party happens.

This is a good place for people who's in a budget. And also for people who's not looking for a conventional hotel, it is not. Is a nice place to share, to meet people from everywhere, and find new adventure partners.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mombasa Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mombasa Backpackers

Address: Mwamba Drive #69 | Behind Kenol petrol station on Mtwapa Rd., Mombasa 34258-80118, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Mombasa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Mombasa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Backpackers in Mombasa, owned and run by Backpackers, has been pleasing the needs of independent travelers since may 2010. We offer dorms/singles/doubles/camping in a relax and chill atmosphere. Swimming pool, kitchen facilities, TV lounge, and chef. Within walking distance to public Transport, Supermarkets, restaurants, bars, and THE BEACH. Great spot to base yourself while Diving or kite-surfing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Mombasa Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mombasa Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.