We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PRICELESS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JuliusTsafaris Day Tours

JuliusTsafaris Day Tours
PO Box 83144, Mombasa 80100, Kenya
+254723997495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 124 Activities in Mombasa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Julius Thuvi Safaris offers good excusions for Nairibo city tour,masai mara,amboseli,tsavo,Lake Nakuru.Visit caren blixen and fourteen falls.Has offices in Diani Bazaar shopping centre and Near Nakumatt Nyali New Malindi road and a branch in Nairobi Ngara Road new flyover.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
San Bernardino, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“PRICELESS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We booked several components of our trip to Kenya with Julius via the internet from the U.S. He was always very responsive and was very easy to work with to get exactly the trip my wife desired. We were met at the Nairobi airport and taken to the Fairview Hotel (an amazing property near the embassies). The next morning we had a marvelous buffet breakfast and were off on our first safari. Cisto our guide and driver took us to Nairobi National Park - 500 yards in and we were within yards of two male lions.... and the day got only better. We traveled from Nairobi to Lake Nakuru and stayed in the Flamingo Hill Tented Camp - better than many hotel rooms in my worldly travels. Even hot showers and again wonderful foods at the buffets. The animals on the safari were very cooperative and we were able to photograph the BIG 5 and so much more. The only mistake we made was ours - taking the train from Nairobi to Mombasa. It has given us many stories but, nothing I would recommend to others. Fly or take a reserved bus. We arrived in Mombasa and were taken to our timeshare. While in Mombasa another guide and driver took us to Tsavo East - Jeremiah and Joseph showed us more elephants than we could have dreamed possible. So, don't fret about paying the deposit - don't worry - Hakuna Matata as our Kenyan friends taught us - truly it will be a trip of a lifetime and Julius and his colleagues do everything in their power to make sure your dreams become reality.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    18
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We hired Julius Thuvi for our 7-member family's first safari based solely on TripAdvisor recommendations. His prices were more reasonable than those of operators we contacted. He asked us what we wanted to do, and the type of accommodations, and he took from there. His quick and helpful responses to our emailed questions put us very much at ease and enabled us to put our full trust in Julius, which was richly rewarded with a fantastic trip from start to finish. We paid for everything in advance, so we were a little nervous until we landed in Nairobi and after passport control and customs were greeted by a friendly driver holding a large sign with our name. From that point forward, everything about our trip, with 5 hotels/lodges, 3 domestic flights, and other connections, was seamless and met or exceeded our expectations. The Royal Mara Lodge in the Mara North Conservancy, expecially, was superb and an experience of a lifetime. We join other reviewers in enthusiastically recommending Julius Thuvi.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellently organised and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

After a number of enquiries with different operators we settled for a seven day safari through Tsavo East, Tsavo West, Amboseli, Masai Mara and finishing with a half day in Hell's Gate NP. With hindsight we would probably have extended the safari rather than excluding any part of it.

Our driver and guide, Nicholas, was superbly friendly and very knowledgeable for everything from plants, to birds, reptiles and mammals. He also had an amazing eye for spotting and identifying wildlife from a great distance.

We were slightly nervous about having transferred what felt like a rather hefty sum as deposit but our fears were completely misplaced. The day before the safari our driver/guide, Nicholas, and Mary met us at our hotel to brief us about the coming safari and to collect the balance payment.

In terms of accommodation organised by Julius Thuvi we were VERY impressed with Lion Hill Lodge (Tsavo East) and Rhino Lodge (Tsavo West) - location, comfort, cleanliness, friendliness of staff, quality of food all exceeded our expectations. Kibo Safari Camp (Amboseli) is perfectly acceptable (quite busy and not in any way fancy but with good food and very friendly restaurant staff; great location). If possible try to find something which is either much smaller and personal or much fancier than Kichakani Camp (Masai Mara) unless you travel during the great migration - soulless is an understatement when trying to describe this establishment, although the staff was lovely and the young chef excellent.

Similar to other reviewers we have no hesitation in recommending Julius Thuvi Safaris.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"Superb organisation"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked a three day two night safari in the Masai Mara from England. Julius's prompt email responses to our myriad of questions inspired confidence, as did the other reviews about him. Every transfer he organised for us was spot on time, whether in Nairobi, or the Mara or Mombasa. His recommendation of the Royal Mara Lodge was excellent and his ability to turn up at key points in the trip, such as at the Nairobi Hotel when we arrived and then in Mombasa when we finished, ensured a lasting impression of someone who puts customer service at the forefront of his business model. He even gave us all presents when we left. I have no hesitation in recommending him.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
“3 day safari: Tsavo East and Amboseli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We enjoyed our three-day safari very much. Guide Nicholas was very friendly and helpful, really willing to show us all animals. The combination Tsavo East - Amboseli was special, though took a lot of driving.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JuliusTsafaris Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to JuliusTsafaris Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage JuliusTsafaris Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.