We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buccaneer Diving

Buccaneer Diving
Nyali Voyager Hotel, Off Links Road | plus Whitesands Hotel, Bamburi & Mnarani Club, Kilifi, Mombasa 10394 - 80100, Kenya
+254728999225
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: East Africa's premier PADI 5 star IDC dive centre. Offers Nitrox, wreck and many specialty courses. Widest variety of dive sites and very extensive marine life including whalesharks, humpback whales, manta rays and reef sharks. Most dives done in the well known Mombasa Marine Park as well as other excellent dive sites in the season. Lessons conducted in English, French, German, Spanish and Italian.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Last October, we went for two dives with Tim and his team, in Kilifi - Amazing! First, he organised it last minute (and only for us - 3 divers) and second, we saw a whale-shark.. What else! Of course, that's not something that can be planned.. but at least, if you go diving with Buccaneer Mnarani, you'll have a blast - very nice diving sites/fishes/divers and captain!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    22
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Buccaneer@mnarani”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

This was the second time we visited Buccaneer at Mnarani and both times have been excellent. Tim and his team are extremely professional and do their utmost to ensure you have the best time possible. The local dive sites are amazing and Tim's vast experience guarantees a great dive every time. I hope to return soon.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilifi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unbelievable diving in Kilifi ! ! Swimming with giants !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Wow! I had been told it would be amazing and had heard lots of stories of recent dives in Kilifi with Buccaneer Dive Club... I'd heard so many stories that I was worried to be expecting a little too much! But it was beyond expectations! Diving the cliffs of Vuma was spectacular... Hearing the whales from the bottom surrounded by white snapper, rays and overhanging corals was quite unbelievable... in fact I couldn't believe they were whales! Twenty minutes later... we were snorkelling with a giant Humpback Whale and her baby...

Tim went out of his way to make sure we had the best time possible whilst maintaining the highest standards of security and respect for the marine environment ... What else do you need?

Thanks Tim, it was amazing!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go Buccaneer diving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Brilliant place to dive lots to see,Wreck diving also available for those who choose something different to do

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best diving experience yet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Mnarani Club in Kilifi becuase of the presence of Buccaneer Diving... and not only were my expectation of a dive outfit met, they were blown away and are now the high mark I measure all other dive outfits against!
The dive sites on offer are varied and always amazing - the sealife and reefs off the coast are just amazing to the point I really wished that I had a dive camera - something I rectified on returning home! Rays left right and centre, stonefish of various colours, huge shoals of various reef fish and of course the colourful nubiranchia. And even a surface interval swimming with dolphins!
But the single most impressive thing are the staff of Buccaneer Diving. Tim, Litza and the rest of the team were amazingly friendly which instantly puts you at ease, professional and hugely knowledgable about their patch making every dive special.

It was an amazing 2 weeks in Kenya with a three day safari in the Masai Mara and nine dives with Buccanneer resulting in one of the best holiday experiences ever and definitely my favourite dive experiences. So much so there is a standing plan to return... must see a whale shark!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buccaneer Diving also viewed

Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 
Watamu, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Buccaneer Diving? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buccaneer Diving, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.