We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's - Beach Bar & Italian Restaurant

Roberto's - Beach Bar & Italian Restaurant
c/o Indiana Beach Hotel | Bamburi - North Coast, Mombasa 83125, Kenya
+254723223399
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 99 restaurants in Mombasa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice venue excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Located on the beach front of the north coast this place is just rite for a romentic dinner or with friends
You can either sit on the balcony or within
The waiters were wellcomeing and helpful to decide on the manu
Service was good and timing between ordering starters and main course was nice
Really enjoyed the steamed fish
The price is also reasonable according to the location service quality ad quantity of the food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    19
    16
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We found this from walking down the beach from our hotel, and thought we would give it a try, prices are very reasonable compared to hotels, and the food and service was pretty spot on.
We came back quite a few times, for lunch or dinner and found each time the meals were very nice. The food and the drinks were also good prices and we seemed to save a lot of money coming here than staying in the hotel. Nice sea view too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice venue”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Good location, reasonable menu and friendly staff. We had a few drinks and made use of the free wifi but decided not to eat as we felt it was a little expensive. There are so many options nearby and Roberto's did seem a bit quiet while other places were busier so we left it at drinks.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Italian Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The best on north coast just next to the sea, nice cool breeze to enjoy, great ambience, great taste what more do we need

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entebbe, Uganda
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Compared with others on the north coast, my favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have lived in Mombasa for 6 months now, so have tried many of the coastal restaurants - Yuls, Il Covo, etc. I like Roberto's because it is not pretentious, prices are less than Yuls or Il Covo, the food is just as good, and you still overlook the beach with its shows and the sea with its boats.

I'm a vegetarian, and found adequate choices. BTW, Roberto's at the Cinemax is also very good.

I admit - have not yet tried the famous Tamarind, but I hear it's pricey, so am waiting for a special occasion for that one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's - Beach Bar & Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Mombasa, Coast Province
Mombasa, Coast Province
 

Been to Roberto's - Beach Bar & Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's - Beach Bar & Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.