We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect bucket list check-off” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porini Lion Camp

Save Saved
You added Porini Lion Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Porini Lion Camp
Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A perfect bucket list check-off”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The was the last of the Porini camps we visited. I cannot say enough about our incredible stay at this and the other two camps (Amboseli and Rhino). The service was absolutely exceptional; the guides went above and beyond; the food was wonderful. Everything--and I mean everything--was taken care of and all we had to do was sit back and enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    316
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
144
40
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Our experience with Porini was so fantastic, I don’t know where to start with my review. Camping with Porini was an adventure I will never forget. The guides Jackson and Ketere are wildlife fanatics and went to great lengths to ensure our game drives were catered exactly to our requirements. It was up to us to decide on early starts, full day drives and/or night time drives. They had the knowledge and the experience to answer all our questions/observations (and more!) and their hospitality during our picnics and sundowners in the Masai was simply divine. They would spot wildlife that I could barely see via my binoculars and then transport us to where the excitement was at. We saw countless Cheetahs and Lions - certainly the Porini camp has all the big cats -we even saw a Cervat Cat which apparently is a rare sighting and we also two leopards! Other people who stayed at the camp had different experiences - we didn't see a black rhino but others who stayed there were lucky enough to sight one. This is what makes it so exciting - you never really know what your day will entail.

With regards to the camp, it’s clean, comfortable and the staff go out on a limb to make sure your stay is perfect. The chef cooks superb fresh food and during our stay, my wife had her 33rd birthday whereby the chef made her a cake and the Masai warriors displayed their Adumu dance whilst singing their harmonies.

The tents provide 5 star accommodation whilst giving you the experience of being in the bush. The first night we had hippos and elephants grazing near our tent and could hear the roaring of lions in the distance. A night we will never forget. There are armed guards on duty all night and guests safety is never a problem. Don’t let this put you off!

The wake up calls by the masai hosts each morning is another example of the thought and care which has gone into the customer service at that camp - inclusive with a delivery of fresh filtered coffee and home made biscuits to our tent. A delicious breakfast was either had in the dinning area our out on the Mara. Lunch and drinks were provided throughout the day and the evening we were fed a delicious 3 course meal with unlimited wine. A guard would walk us to our tent and secure us safely inside where we’d find a snug hot water bottle under our sheets.

The jeeps are kitted out with electrical points to charge your phones, camera, ipad etc. They also pack hand sanitizer gel, wipes and blankets. In fact, if Porini could think of anything else to make your stay with them more comfortable or enjoyable, they’d do it but it appears Jake Grieves-Cook (MD and in my opinion, entrepreneur) has everything down to perfection.

During our stay, it was our choice to visit a Masai village but we were very suspicious of it's authenticity. We were also required to pay the chief $20 each. On reflection, I'd advise advise others to miss this part of the experience.

If you’re going to splash out some money on a safari - then this is the place to stay and experience the environment under the best possible circumstances. The service was excellent and we are sure you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We chose Porini Lion Camp following a recommendation from a friend and we certainly weren't disappointed. The camp was great - rooms were clean, service was exceptional, food was great, fantastic small touches such as hot water bottles in your bed at night and tea/coffee and cookies with your wake up call in the morning all added to the wonderful experience.
Porini is one of only 4 camps in the Olare Orok conservancy rather than being situated in the main Masai Mara reserve which means that there are significantly fewer cars but all the same great wildlife.
It was amazing to wake up in the night and hear hippos right below in the water, lions, hyenas, elephants and all sorts of other birds and animals.
Jackson, our guide, was great - he was easily able to find us all the animals that we said we wanted to see, including 2 extremely friendly cheetahs who were playing on the roof of the jeep for some time! He was extremely knowledgeable about all the animals and wildlife.
Wouldn't hesitate to go back in the future!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The Porini Lion camp is a eco camp outside the main reserve. This mean that you can drive in the conservancy in addition to the main reserve. Here you can find all the cat animals without the annoyance of other cars coming and disturb you.

Still, with the main reserve close by you'll also enjoy all the pleasure of driving in Mara!

The camp is an eco camp. This mean there are no pools or big buffet for lunch and dinner. The food is good though, with all the wine, beer or any drinks you can heart.

The drivers and guides are extremely good (at least our driver and guide. John and Jackson are highly recommended).

The tents are luxurious and big. The beds are good and with water toilets and shower. Each tent has two beds; one big (two people) and one small.

Every morning you'll have a wake up call. This mean tea or coffee served in the tent. A good way to start the day.

All in all, very good place to go.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Porini camps: Rhino, Mara, Lion, and Nairobi.
 
We went during the slow season and so the tent camps were mostly empty. Even the lovely Lion Camp was mostly empty. The camps are all comfortable. The beds are comfortable. The service was consistent and timely. Might I say impeccably timely. The game drives were really great. The guides and the drivers are excellent. They know how to find game and have deep knowledge of the animals and habitat. The relationship between the Maasai and the tent camp operator seems to be win-win. The conservancies provide privacy and the fact that all the employees are Maasai, provides added value in the form of culture and their knowledge of the lands and wild life. Most, if not all, the guides are trained at a school in the Maasai Mara. We got to visit a Maasai village. At lion camp, the guides have named all the prides and nearly every cat. They have intimate knowledge of the stories of the cats. It’s really quite impressive. We enjoyed our 13 day Safari at 5 different locations. This was our first experience in Tent camps. I would have been curious to have experience a more occupied camp.
 
 Annie & Paul - Raiche

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

An absolutely phenomenal vacation from start to finish. It began with Julie Roggow from Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps organizing our itinerary and answering all of our travel questions. From there it was personalized service from the time we cleared customs in Nairobi until the time we departed from Okiombo airstrip in the Masai Mara after four days of game watching. (Most of that game watching occurred in the Olare Orok Conservancy, a location we found far superior to the Masai Mara game reserve). Harry Maina, the Lion Camp Manager met with us daily before and after each game drive, making sure we were completely taken care of. The food was great, prepared fresh daily by the camp chef, and Phillip made sure we were satisfied with every meal. Our Masai Guide, Meshack, assisted by our Masai spotter, John-Mark, were incredibly talented, making sure we didn't miss a single moment. We watched a lioness and her cubs devour a topi, followed by black backed jackals, vultures, a golden eagle and a spotted hyena competing over the carcass. We saw elephants, giraffes, baboons, gazelles, hippos, cape buffalo and common eland. We witnesses a leopard devouring a waterbuck in a tree. It was real nature at its absolute finest. We recommend the trip and Porini Lion Camp to anyone who wants to experience nature first hand.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

superb trip and excellent holiday.thank you game watchers.
saw the big 5 and migration.
what a lovely end to our first trip to africa.this was the last of our 3 camps(ambroselli,rhino ad lion) and was much much bigger and busier then the rest especialy as it was peak season with the migration in full swing.
the camps are well managed and run like clock work.
all the camps follow the same routine so once you go to one camp you are so comfortable in knowing that you can expect the best always,
fantastic rooms,food and ever so polite staff.game drives were good!never had enough of seeing the animals!felt good that our trip also was helping the community. thank you once again game watchers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porini Lion Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porini Lion Camp

Address: Olare Orok Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 110 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porini Lion Camp is located in the exclusive 20,000 acre Olare Orok Conservancy bordering the Maasai Mara Game Reserve, home to an abundance of animals. With 10 spacious comfortably furnished tents, each with private verandahs and en-suite bathrooms, the camp is small and exclusive giving a real bush experience. Guests enjoy the game drives in open 4x4's, escorted bush walks with Maasai warriors and sundowners. The Camp is the perfect base to experience the annual wildebeest migration. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Porini Lion Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porini Lion Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Porini Lion Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porini Lion Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.