We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only we could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entim Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Entim Camp
Save
You added Entim Camp to your Saves list
PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“If only we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Entim Lodge. We were picked up by Pilot our Masai warrior driver and whisked to the lodge doing some amazing game viewing en route (we saw a family of lions before we even checked in!). We arrived and were welcomed with a lovely drink.
Our luxury tent was perfect. It had a huge comfy double bed, en suite bathroom with lovely hot shower and all the trimmings you could possibly need. The balcony was lovely with a perfect view of the Masai River with the hippos making lots of noise.
We were taken in our own private vehicle (there were five of us) all over the Masai Mara park. Early morning drives starting at 6.30 am until around 11am back for lunch and a snooze and off ogain for an evening drive starting at 4pm till around 6.30pm for sunset. The park is spectacular! We saw all the big five apart from the rare black rhino so we were so chuffed. We saw some mongoose, bat eared foxes, serval cat, lots of hyena and some beautiful cheetahs. We felt so lucky.
I would highly recommend staying at Entim Lodge. The staff we perfect, exceptionally helpful and very tentative making sure we always had a drink. The food every day was really delicious and perfectly seasoned.
The only negative was that sadly they often didn't have stock of simple drinks like Coke and beer. They were due deliveries which did arrive in the afternoon but it was just a small irritation. Otherwise we had a wonderful 2 days and wished we could have stayed longer. Thank you Entim for a spectacular holiday.

Room Tip: Tent North 1 (nearest to the restaurant) is slightly older than the rest so try and opt for one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    16
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
73
17
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent four days at Entim Camp at the tail end of our Kenyan Safari. Henry our guide was on hand to meet us at the airstrip when we arrived in the Mara. The drive to the camp took us about 30 minutes and saw our first leopard within minutes of crossing the Talek River.The views blew us away when we arrived in Camp. North 5 was the room we checked into. The tent was spacious and had more than everything that one would need on safari. We were the first guests at the camp after its renovations. Enjoyed the new bar and dining deck and would recommend the table on the outside of the dining tent
Henry our driver guide was excellent and also saw the beginning of the migration at sand river on one of our game drives. The camp served excellent food and beers were cold. We would recommend Entim Camp to everyone

Room Tip: North 5 and North 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have been to Africa several times and have seen a lot of camps and lodges. The Entim camp is not a lodge, so don't expect ultimate luxury. It is a tented camp and give you the original safari feeling. It is a perfect place to start your game drives. Good vehicles, good drivers and more important good game spotters. Tents are spacious, clean, sober decorated, showers perfect with plenty of hot water (if you are an early riser,...) The mess tent and the common aera need an absolute renovation or even a complete renewal. It was told by management that these would be changed before the 2013 high season. So normally this would be ok, but it is still Africa,.... Food is ok, but without much imagination, especially for the breakfast/luncheon you take in the field. I stayed for week so some variation would have been ok for me.
In the end a very nice place to spent some time, I will be back in August /September to see the migration crossing the river just in front of the camp.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Entim, Manager at Entim Camp, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for having take time to post your positive feedback on trip Advisor .In regards to your comments concerning the bar lounge and dining tent needing an overall, Entim has been busy and hence our plans were to close in May during the low season for the new refurbishment. we will be closing the camp next week for renovations and opening in June . Our picnic menu will also be changed to incorporate more variety during extended stays

We look forward to hosting you again in September
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Entim Camp for 3 days 2 nights 19th March - 21st March 2013. The camp is in a fantastic location using natural barrier's and Masai Mara Wariors to protect you (no fences). Once inside the camp you are in an elevated position with more or less uninterrupted view's South, West and North. And the Mara river is 30 Meters in front of the camp. The tents were more than adequate everything you needed was provided for. The food was more or less Al A Carte it was amazing. The staff are excellent especially Jonathan the host. Our Safari guide Pedro was excellent, we had some amazing Safari drives. Especially breakfast by a river early morning watching hippo's and crocodile's. Unlike our last visit to the Masai Mara (2001), this time we did not see a Rhino or a Cheetah, which naturally concerns us on a conservation level. But what we did see was amazing. We would thoroughly recommend this camp if you want the real Safari experience.

Room Tip: We were in tent no 4 North which in our opinion had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Camp Entim for two nights in July 2012 and had a wonderful time. I have stayed at several camps in Masaii Mara over the years but this was the first time for my partner and I'm so glad we chose Camp Entim. There are only ten tents which makes it very personal. Tents were comfortable and spacious. The setting was gorgeous; sitting on our tent verandah overlooking the river was special. Listening to the hippos wandering around the camp at night could be a bit scary, but we knew we were well looked after by the Masaii guards. The safari dries were great; our ranger/driver knew the local area very well and we saw some fantastic game. We were a little early for the migration (or the migration was late!) but I can imagine that this would be an amazing spot to view it from. The food at the camp was superb, and there was a lovely tented bar for drinks afterwards. Sundowner drinks beforehand was great fun too, a chance to discuss everyone's safari stories. Jonathan, as mentioned in many reviews, was great - helpful and thoughtful. In fact all the service was great and I'm glad they had a general tipping box for all camp staff. Mara is a magical place and staying at Camp Entim was a fantastic experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Entim in Sept 2012 and the whole experience was amazing. Lexy and Johnathan were superb hosts. The tents were very comfortable and the food was excellent. You are really close to the wildlife with no fences betwwen you - at night you can hear Hippo and Zebra etc grazing outside your tent and the odd lion and Jackal calling. But our most enduring memory was our last night when we sat in front of the campfire with a drink watching an elephant grazing less than 100 yards away and then watching an amazing lightning storm over the Western Mara and Serengeti - a memory that will stay with us forever!
We have already determined that we will go back to the Mara and to Entim

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic place - food was great, service was incredible. Staff kept in the background but were at your service as soon as you needed anything.
Not ultra luxurious but you really are close to the wildlife and have every need met. John and Jefferson were extremely helpful and Doume our Guide helped us find lion, cheetah and the leopard (twice). If I have the opportunity to visit the Mara again this would be my number one choice. Only downside was that there was no internet service for my daughter - this was a big plus for me!!! If you are visiting in the migration time (unfortunately we were a little early) the placement would be incredible. You have prime view from every tent of the river.

Room Tip: last two tents from the main section - not because of privacy but just because they let in a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Entim Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entim Camp

Address: PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entim is located inside the the Masai Mara game reserve and overlooks the mara river One of the migration crossing points is in front of the camp and guests are privileged to enjoy a private crossings in season. The camp is ideal for photographers and private game viewing in our panoramic location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entim Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Entim Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entim Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.