We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entim is the essence of a Safari Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Entim Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Entim is the essence of a Safari Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at Entim Camp for 3 days 2 nights 19th March - 21st March 2013. The camp is in a fantastic location using natural barrier's and Masai Mara Wariors to protect you (no fences). Once inside the camp you are in an elevated position with more or less uninterrupted view's South, West and North. And the Mara river is 30 Meters in front of the camp. The tents were more than adequate everything you needed was provided for. The food was more or less Al A Carte it was amazing. The staff are excellent especially Jonathan the host. Our Safari guide Pedro was excellent, we had some amazing Safari drives. Especially breakfast by a river early morning watching hippo's and crocodile's. Unlike our last visit to the Masai Mara (2001), this time we did not see a Rhino or a Cheetah, which naturally concerns us on a conservation level. But what we did see was amazing. We would thoroughly recommend this camp if you want the real Safari experience.

Room Tip: We were in tent no 4 North which in our opinion had a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
66
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Camp Entim for two nights in July 2012 and had a wonderful time. I have stayed at several camps in Masaii Mara over the years but this was the first time for my partner and I'm so glad we chose Camp Entim. There are only ten tents which makes it very personal. Tents were comfortable and spacious. The setting was gorgeous; sitting on our tent verandah overlooking the river was special. Listening to the hippos wandering around the camp at night could be a bit scary, but we knew we were well looked after by the Masaii guards. The safari dries were great; our ranger/driver knew the local area very well and we saw some fantastic game. We were a little early for the migration (or the migration was late!) but I can imagine that this would be an amazing spot to view it from. The food at the camp was superb, and there was a lovely tented bar for drinks afterwards. Sundowner drinks beforehand was great fun too, a chance to discuss everyone's safari stories. Jonathan, as mentioned in many reviews, was great - helpful and thoughtful. In fact all the service was great and I'm glad they had a general tipping box for all camp staff. Mara is a magical place and staying at Camp Entim was a fantastic experience. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Entim in Sept 2012 and the whole experience was amazing. Lexy and Johnathan were superb hosts. The tents were very comfortable and the food was excellent. You are really close to the wildlife with no fences betwwen you - at night you can hear Hippo and Zebra etc grazing outside your tent and the odd lion and Jackal calling. But our most enduring memory was our last night when we sat in front of the campfire with a drink watching an elephant grazing less than 100 yards away and then watching an amazing lightning storm over the Western Mara and Serengeti - a memory that will stay with us forever!
We have already determined that we will go back to the Mara and to Entim

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, Netherlands Antilles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Fantastic place - food was great, service was incredible. Staff kept in the background but were at your service as soon as you needed anything.
Not ultra luxurious but you really are close to the wildlife and have every need met. John and Jefferson were extremely helpful and Doume our Guide helped us find lion, cheetah and the leopard (twice). If I have the opportunity to visit the Mara again this would be my number one choice. Only downside was that there was no internet service for my daughter - this was a big plus for me!!! If you are visiting in the migration time (unfortunately we were a little early) the placement would be incredible. You have prime view from every tent of the river.

Room Tip: last two tents from the main section - not because of privacy but just because they let in a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at Entim for 3 nights in January. It was amazing. The food was fantastic and always perfectly seasoned every single meal. John and Jefferson were the best hosts and it was wonderful to come back from game trips to there smiling faces, they really know how to make you feel welcome. The tents were even pretty than the photos show.
Dominic was our guide and thanks to him we had the most amazing wildlife experiances. He really was a gem.

I would reccomend Entim to anyone and will be back there for sure. I was travelling with my parents and husband and this was the highlight of a 2 month trip through Africa and the Middle East.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went for a 2 night weekend trip while in Nairobi on business and after a bit of stress at realizing I was totally unplugged there, I relaxed like I haven't relaxed in years.

With only 10 well appointed tents, the atmosphere at the camp is intimate and convivial. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of the hippos and the hyenas. Seeing hippos and buffalo in our front yard in the mornings was an amazing experience, especially knowing that the Maasai were always on the watch to protect us from danger.

The safaris were fun and informative. Who knew we could get that close to lions without them running off.

The staff were very accommodating. The food was amazing and very plentiful. Sitting at the camp fire for a sun-downer was a wonderful way to chat about the highlights of the day and get to know people from other parts of the world.

What a great experience. I would highly recommend Entim Camp for people who are tired of the sameness of resorts and want to experience something different.

Room Tip: At one point I was the only guest and took advantage of that time to sit on the front porch of each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We (my mother, 61, and I, 29) stayed in this camp for 3 nights during a 10-day Kenya safari with Sunworld Safaris. It was just perfect! The setting over the Mara River is beautiful, you can hear the hippos at night as if they are just around the tent (however, the Massai keep them at stake, of course) and the sun sets are just amazing. The tents are lovely. The first night we had a tent just next to the common tent and the kitchens. Noise was not at all a problem as it turned out, but the tent was a bit behind so the view was less good. So we asked if it would be possible to move to another tent. The first day all tents were taken but we were allowed to move on the second day which was just incredibly nice. The second tent had a perfect view; however the shower and toilet were a bit more "rustic" and the furnishing simpler (that's why I only give 4 stars for the rooms). But for us that was of course no problem at all!

The staff, especially the host Jonathan, was incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive. In the morning, you can get some coffee and cake to your tent with the wake call and you can enjoy it in front of the tent while waiting for your breakfast or safari to start. We had rain every late afternoon, so we were a bit sad that we there was no sudowner at the camp fire. So on the last afternoon, although huge rain clouds were already approaching and the wind was blowing up, three of the Massai set up a camp fire for us and we were brought chairs, wine and snacks and could enjoy the amazing scenery with the approaching thunderstorm and the sundown at the camp fire - until the rain started... That was an effort just for the two of us that we did not take for granted!

Everything is in the camp very clean, well kept and lovely decorated. The tents are lovely, spacious with hot water showers, toilets and huge beds. The food (served at table) was just amazing, served in an open tent so you have the impression of dining right in the middle of the jungle! And of course, the place is just perfect for safaris, being right in the middle of the Massai Mara, with giraffes and elephants already waiting for you when you leave the camp and no other camps or hotels around (however, the gates are also quite far, but that should be seen as huge advantage as well). We had our own driver-guide, so we cannot say anything about the activities that are proposed.

Room Tip: The tent on the right of the common tent is a bit set behind, so the view is more restricted - on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Entim Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Entim Camp

Address: PO Box 64196 | Nairobi, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00620, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Entim is located inside the the Masai Mara game reserve and overlooks the mara river One of the migration crossing points is in front of the camp and guests are privileged to enjoy a private crossings in season. The camp is ideal for photographers and private game viewing in our panoramic location. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Entim Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Entim Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Entim Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;