We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, truly luxury camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp
Save
You added Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp to your Saves list
C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, truly luxury camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the camp 3 days/2nights as the middle portion of a visit to Kenya, the first part being at the beach. The first shock was how truly luxurious the tents were - two queen-sized beds and an enormous bathroom that included a full bathtub! We enjoyed that each tent is named after a famous conservationist, with the history of the individual on the wall in the tent. The decor was beautiful and incorporated Maasai art tastefully.

The staff was exceptional, everyone was very helpful and attentive and really went out of their way to make sure our visit was enjoyable. We particularly enjoyed our driver-guide extraordinare D (David). Having been born and raised within walking distance of the camp, D knows the Mara like the back of his hand and ensured we saw every animal we hoped to see and more.

The food in the restaurant was great, the chef and his staff created wonderful meals worthy of the luxury of the camp. Bernard was our waitperson at the restaurant and was exceptional in remembering how we liked our tea each day.

We had purchased an all-inclusive which included specific beverages, there was some difficulty with this at the restaurant and again at check-out so advice is to make sure the staff is aware that if this package is purchased that beverages are included and keep a copy of the reservation confirmation with you to show staff should they forget.

Room Tip: The rooms all overlook the river, advise for choosing a good room is consider how far you want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
33
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the camp for 3 nights as the 2nd part of a 5 day safari and it was a wonderful experience, made all the better by the wonderful staff.
We had previously stayed at a sister camp in Sambura so we knew what to expect of the room facilities , this camp was a little better as its more ‘permanent’ the bathroom was ‘brick built’ on the back on the tent, so was a little less noisy when the wind blew!
You will get all you would expect from a nice hotel really with bathroom toiletries and little hot water bottles in your bed each evening. There is plenty of hot water for showering and somewhere to plug your phone in to charge etc. it’s a fair sized camp so I didn’t see all the tents but we had one over looking the river which was great to watch the animals wandering by on the other side of the bank etc.
The sleep quality can be a bit hit and miss as you may get the odd elephant or baboon making some noise! But you have to expect that really!
The food was really good and they do make you feel like they are preparing it especially for you, George looked after so well and even tried to teach us some Swahili (he didn’t succeed…..sorry George!) We were given a warm welcome each evening in the bar by Peter or Bernard (hope you enjoyed the wine Peter!) There is a good choice of wines and spirits considering the location.
David the head of security will keep you safe in your bed each evening, we spent 3 lovely evenings sitting around the fire he made for us with a nice drink and some lovely conversation, and then William would walk us back to our tent. All in all excellent facilities.
The game drives were amazing……and we saw just about everything you could want to….... but I have to say I think was all down to our magnificent guide Dee who is one of the most talented, intelligent and funny people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. His laugh is so infectious, and he laughs A LOT! He will make your game drive sooooo exciting, every day he asked what I would like to see , then deliver it in about 15 minutes....such talent (never did find the aardvark though Dee ). He made the drives so exciting taking us to some fantastic places, like the hippo pool where we sat at the side of the river on a log and watched them play, pride of lions sleeping in the sun or a huge male lion that we were so close too you could almost smell his breath, or a leopard walking round so close the truck you could almost touch him.
The trucks are excellent and are really open and spacious much better than some of the other ones we saw on our travels which looked very tightly packed and hot!
All in all we were very pleased with our choice and would have happily have stayed for longer if we hadn’t have had a flight to catch.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The accommodation is lovely, the food excellent, and the staff and service are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. Ideally located for game viewing, we had several breathtaking game drives and saw all the animals we could have hoped for and more. Our guide Jonathan was amazing with excellent tracking abilities and an encyclopaedic knowledge of the Masai and the wildlife. We can't recommend this camp highly enough and very much hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the hotel, you think that you might find yourself wanting to book somewhere else - but you will be astounded by what you find; everything that you dream of whilst on Safari! This is a beautiful and bespoke set up - comparable to The Fairmont.

The food, staff, management, rooms and service provided are all second to none.

The tented room (more a suite) by normal standards was exquisite, offering European luxury together with African vibrancy. Twin sinks and enough room to swing a cat around if not a lion.

If only more camps in the area offered such accommodation to travellers.

Roar !!!!!!!! The king of the camps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a very memorable stay at the camp.The staff were very co-operative.We had our parent travelling with us and the chefs went out of the way to make a dish catering to our taste so my parents were comfortable.The staffs were always available at our service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this lodge. The rooms were well kept and clean. The washrooms were well equipped and, quite frankly, much nicer than I expected in a tented lodge. The food was great and the staff were great. Would not hesitate to return to this property. Great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tiplilikwani is a perfect place to stay if your primary goal for a trip to the Mara is to spend the day on safari, and only sleep and eat at the camp at night. The food is perfectly adequate and the rooms are spacious. However, there is really nothing else to do at the camp, and during the day you'll want to be out driving through the Reserve.

Highlight: They do provide great breakfasts "to go." We recommend having them pack up your breakfast and head out of the camp at dawn. This is the best time to see animals (especially lions) and then you can stop mid morning to enjoy your breakfast in the middle of the Mara.

Ultimately, the price is reasonable for what you receive, but if you are looking for more of a luxurious camp, better cuisine for your evening meal, or if you're hoping to spend part of your holiday relaxing at a property, check out other camps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.