We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Save Saved
You added Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp
C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
staffordshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“An amazing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the camp for 3 nights as the 2nd part of a 5 day safari and it was a wonderful experience, made all the better by the wonderful staff.
We had previously stayed at a sister camp in Sambura so we knew what to expect of the room facilities , this camp was a little better as its more ‘permanent’ the bathroom was ‘brick built’ on the back on the tent, so was a little less noisy when the wind blew!
You will get all you would expect from a nice hotel really with bathroom toiletries and little hot water bottles in your bed each evening. There is plenty of hot water for showering and somewhere to plug your phone in to charge etc. it’s a fair sized camp so I didn’t see all the tents but we had one over looking the river which was great to watch the animals wandering by on the other side of the bank etc.
The sleep quality can be a bit hit and miss as you may get the odd elephant or baboon making some noise! But you have to expect that really!
The food was really good and they do make you feel like they are preparing it especially for you, George looked after so well and even tried to teach us some Swahili (he didn’t succeed…..sorry George!) We were given a warm welcome each evening in the bar by Peter or Bernard (hope you enjoyed the wine Peter!) There is a good choice of wines and spirits considering the location.
David the head of security will keep you safe in your bed each evening, we spent 3 lovely evenings sitting around the fire he made for us with a nice drink and some lovely conversation, and then William would walk us back to our tent. All in all excellent facilities.
The game drives were amazing……and we saw just about everything you could want to….... but I have to say I think was all down to our magnificent guide Dee who is one of the most talented, intelligent and funny people I have ever had the pleasure to meet. His laugh is so infectious, and he laughs A LOT! He will make your game drive sooooo exciting, every day he asked what I would like to see , then deliver it in about 15 minutes....such talent (never did find the aardvark though Dee ). He made the drives so exciting taking us to some fantastic places, like the hippo pool where we sat at the side of the river on a log and watched them play, pride of lions sleeping in the sun or a huge male lion that we were so close too you could almost smell his breath, or a leopard walking round so close the truck you could almost touch him.
The trucks are excellent and are really open and spacious much better than some of the other ones we saw on our travels which looked very tightly packed and hot!
All in all we were very pleased with our choice and would have happily have stayed for longer if we hadn’t have had a flight to catch.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    19
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
29
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The accommodation is lovely, the food excellent, and the staff and service are outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. Ideally located for game viewing, we had several breathtaking game drives and saw all the animals we could have hoped for and more. Our guide Jonathan was amazing with excellent tracking abilities and an encyclopaedic knowledge of the Masai and the wildlife. We can't recommend this camp highly enough and very much hope to return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Driving up to the hotel, you think that you might find yourself wanting to book somewhere else - but you will be astounded by what you find; everything that you dream of whilst on Safari! This is a beautiful and bespoke set up - comparable to The Fairmont.

The food, staff, management, rooms and service provided are all second to none.

The tented room (more a suite) by normal standards was exquisite, offering European luxury together with African vibrancy. Twin sinks and enough room to swing a cat around if not a lion.

If only more camps in the area offered such accommodation to travellers.

Roar !!!!!!!! The king of the camps!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had a very memorable stay at the camp.The staff were very co-operative.We had our parent travelling with us and the chefs went out of the way to make a dish catering to our taste so my parents were comfortable.The staffs were always available at our service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Everything was just perfect at this lodge. The rooms were well kept and clean. The washrooms were well equipped and, quite frankly, much nicer than I expected in a tented lodge. The food was great and the staff were great. Would not hesitate to return to this property. Great experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Tiplilikwani is a perfect place to stay if your primary goal for a trip to the Mara is to spend the day on safari, and only sleep and eat at the camp at night. The food is perfectly adequate and the rooms are spacious. However, there is really nothing else to do at the camp, and during the day you'll want to be out driving through the Reserve.

Highlight: They do provide great breakfasts "to go." We recommend having them pack up your breakfast and head out of the camp at dawn. This is the best time to see animals (especially lions) and then you can stop mid morning to enjoy your breakfast in the middle of the Mara.

Ultimately, the price is reasonable for what you receive, but if you are looking for more of a luxurious camp, better cuisine for your evening meal, or if you're hoping to spend part of your holiday relaxing at a property, check out other camps.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Personal and genuine service by staff at Tipilikwani camp – George and Mary, our waiters and Dennis and James our housekeeper. Chef Samuel at Tipilikwani camp deserves special mention. We believe he could be one of the best chefs in Africa!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.