We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place but it does need an overhaul” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp
Save Saved
You added Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp to your Saves list
C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice place but it does need an overhaul”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Pros:
Staff friendly, manager is quite a presence
Nice size rooms
Amenities there; good water pressure
Restaurant is open-plan and spacious, really comfortable to hang out in
Ask for Jonathan for the game drive.

Cons:
Rooms felt worn down
Long distance walk from restaurant to low numbered bungalows
Have to drive through dull farmland to get to property (but: there is a bridge which you can take directly to the game drive)
Tent flaps were functional and there were no mosquitoes
Lighting was not pleasant in the room and on the property not very good covers.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    21
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
27
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was our last stop on a safari through Kenya with three nights to enjoy the incredible sights of the Masai Mara. This property is very well setup and located to do this, and while the scenery was absolutely 5-star, Tipilikwani Camp struggles to deliver the same kind of experience.

There is a lot to like about the accommodation: firstly, its only a short drive to the National Park, which is a good thing as the roads are so awful (this is not the fault of this property). Actually, as a general observation, I found the dirt tracks inside the National Park to be better than the roads outside, which are supposedly "maintained" by the government. Please see my comment below about travel to the Masai Mara.

Secondly, the buildings/tents are quite spacious and we thought very comfortable, well provisioned with toiletries, generally well maintained and were always kept clean by the housekeeping staff. The evening turn-down service was discreetly done, and involved closing the blinds for additional privacy at night. Like the other tented camps we stayed at, security escorts at night made sure that you could move around safely.

The general areas were well maintained, like the tents, and the restaurant in particular was very large. A pedestrian bridge over the river connects you to the National Park (this was a blessing as it meant we didn't have to endure the road trip back on a couple of occasions) which provided a really delightful means of seeing some of the wildlife: we caught some spectacular views of a journey of giraffe on our final night.

What lets this property down is the manner in which it is managed: like another TA reviewer, we stayed at this property as it was run by the same operator as the fantastic Elephant Bedroom camp in Samburu (which we also stayed at - see my review on that!). It came as a surprise to us that everything that had been done easily at Elephant Bedroom, was a chore at Tipilikwani. Almost every service interaction, while always friendly and polite, was slow, involved regular reminders ("may I please have that coffee"?) or had some condition (you could settle your room bill with a credit card, but had to pay cash for the laundry service) that didn't reflect the premium price paid.

On one morning, we were offered breakfast leftovers after returning from our early game drive where you would expect food to be available. We searched for kitchen or management staff, but everyone had gone missing. Someone was ultimately found after about half an hour and food was promptly cooked and served, but clearly there is a disconnect in the way the property should be, and is, managed.

We also noticed that there was also nothing "special" done by the camp: our visits to Elephant Bedroom and Mbweha (in Lake Nakuru), both run by the same operator, we had been spoiled by outstanding service and both had sprung a really nice "surprise" to enhance our stay. Clearly the operator knows how to do this, it just isn't executed by the property management.

One final recommendation for guests travelling to the Masai Mara: we got there by 4wd Landcruiser, travelling from Lake Nakuru. The last 2 hours of that 6 hour drive were spent on dirt roads getting to Tipilikwani: I found it to be almost the worst experience of our safari and I wouldn't recommend it. We flew out of the Masai Mara to Wilson Airport in Nairobi, and I would certainly use this method again. There wasn't much to see on the road trip and the violent shaking and jolting of the Landcruiser on the very poorly maintained roads removed whatever pleasure was left in viewing the landscape.

All that said, nothing can detract from the brilliant experience of being on the Masai Mara: there is so much to see and experience that we would definitely go back, however we would probably try another property as there is plenty of good options available.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms, but as per my review, my tip would be to fly in/out of the Masai as the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jude b, Operations Manager at Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We are glad to know you liked our Tipilikwani Mara camp and thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, we have found them to be very useful. As a company we encourage and appreciate any information that can help us improve on our product and guest satisfaction. Your email has enabled us focus on the areas in the camp service delivery that you pointed out shortcomings.
Your comments on our service have enabled us to address areas of weakness and though some of them came as a surprise to us, we have communicated them to the camp manager. Various steps have been taken to address the speed of service as well as attention to detail by our staff including, ongoing training to sensitize staff on the importance of attention to detail. We are determined to ensure that no other guest has an experience similar to yours at this or any of our other camps. Payment of bills at the camp using a credit card is perfectly acceptable.
We welcome you to visit Tipilikwani Mara Camp again and assure you that all services will meet and probably exceed your expectation.
Yours Sincerely

Jude Baraza Boy
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nestled in a curve of the Talek River and surrounded by wilderness and wildlife, hyenas cackling in the night, odd bits of bone to deter intruders, and an armed guard to guide one through the meandering paths between the tents and main house ... this is really an adventure. Rustic but with all the amenities. Dark wood, colorful Masai fabrics (including a cosy bathrobe), comfy beds (with a hot water bottle at night to keep the footsies warm). Terrific meals. Handled our safari party of around 30 with style and grace; very friendly and accommodating. After a fulfilling day of animal-spotting all over the Mara, all the bumpy roads led to home ... Tipilikwani. Spent 3 nights there, and it was not long enough. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our last stop on our trip through Tanzania ans Kenya so it easy to compare accommodations. This camp had the largest tents and probably the best bedrooms we experienced. I had a king size bed, large lounge and nice desk with suitable furnishings. The bathroom area was also large and suitable but we did experience better.
Sitting on the deck area of the tent overlooking the river and having an afternoon drink was very peaceful.
An interesting feature was that each tent had their own Masai Guard to escort you to and from the dining area at night. It was certainly implied that they should be tipped at the conclusion of your stay.
I did a walking safari for $US 20 with two Masai and we found the animal tracks and use of different vegetation interesting. I was disappointed we did not see any animals. Having done walks in the Chitwan area of Nepal where we encountered Rhino and sloth bear it was a little tame. Perhaps those that accompanied me were happy we did not see similar animals.
We found the food good but not excellent. The bar had a wide variety of drinks and we enjoyed some late nights trying some digestifs.
Wemwould rate this as our second best camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

As soon as Dee, our Masai guide, picked us up from the airstrip, I knew that we were in good hands. Firstly his control of our 4 by 4 open jeep was masterly as we navigated the rutted mud splattered tracks leading to the camp and secondly he was a mine of information about the wildlife. Over six safari drives he and his assistant Francis were a joy to be with as they spotted herds of buffalos, elephants, antelope as well as the sleeping cheetahs and mating lions. We shall never forget the pride of 11 lions who snuggled up to our jeep for their early morning siesta.

Further honours should also go to Peter, the barman for his sundowners from crocodile tears to doua - whose secret receipe I shall not reveal as it is up to you to go and experience the delights of Tipilikwani!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have visited Tipilikwani a number of times over the past 18 months, each time with different visitors from overseas. This is camp which offers excellent friendly service, in a delightful setting. Entry can be made through the park. Taking people for their first gentle drive en route is a delightful way to introduce them to the pleasures of Tipi and the Maasai Mara. It gives them a taste of what is to come once you have been welcomed and checked into your tent. The tents are tastfully done and very comfortable. A major plus is that if you are alone you will have a delightful tent with it's own verandah just a short walk from the dining room and bar. If however you are a family who want to be together there are two sets of family tents. These are 2 'semi-detatched' tents, with a shared vaerandah which runs the width of both tents. Evening sundowners can be be shared after a hard day of safariing. Children are welcome and special diets can be catered for, the chef always comes out at least once to check if the food has been enjoyed. i would not hesitate to reccommend Tipilikwani as it is a pleasure to visit every time., with staff who take an interest in your day as well as your comfort.the chance to sample the delights of the Maasai Mara in comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, great to listen to the sounds of Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My first time in Kenya or Africa the continent. I had no real expectations going there other than seeing wild animals and large barren plains. I was pleasantly surprised. The country is very beautiful and the people are very friendly. When doing our safari in the Masai Mara park we stayed at the Tipilikwani camp. This is a very modern, comfortable and high standard accommodation. We got a large tent with 2 kingsize beds, all modern hotel comforts, a large bathroom and fully functional toilet. Our patio was right in front of a river, which made falling asleep very easy listening to the running water noise. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. The food was very good as well. I felt right at home. If you want to explore Africa, Kenya and do safaris, and you don't want to go back to basics, this camp is for you. Modern, up to par yet still the African atmosphere and style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.