We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real adventure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp to your Saves list
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A real adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Nestled in a curve of the Talek River and surrounded by wilderness and wildlife, hyenas cackling in the night, odd bits of bone to deter intruders, and an armed guard to guide one through the meandering paths between the tents and main house ... this is really an adventure. Rustic but with all the amenities. Dark wood, colorful Masai fabrics (including a cosy bathrobe), comfy beds (with a hot water bottle at night to keep the footsies warm). Terrific meals. Handled our safari party of around 30 with style and grace; very friendly and accommodating. After a fulfilling day of animal-spotting all over the Mara, all the bumpy roads led to home ... Tipilikwani. Spent 3 nights there, and it was not long enough. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    25
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
38
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our last stop on our trip through Tanzania ans Kenya so it easy to compare accommodations. This camp had the largest tents and probably the best bedrooms we experienced. I had a king size bed, large lounge and nice desk with suitable furnishings. The bathroom area was also large and suitable but we did experience better.
Sitting on the deck area of the tent overlooking the river and having an afternoon drink was very peaceful.
An interesting feature was that each tent had their own Masai Guard to escort you to and from the dining area at night. It was certainly implied that they should be tipped at the conclusion of your stay.
I did a walking safari for $US 20 with two Masai and we found the animal tracks and use of different vegetation interesting. I was disappointed we did not see any animals. Having done walks in the Chitwan area of Nepal where we encountered Rhino and sloth bear it was a little tame. Perhaps those that accompanied me were happy we did not see similar animals.
We found the food good but not excellent. The bar had a wide variety of drinks and we enjoyed some late nights trying some digestifs.
Wemwould rate this as our second best camp.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

As soon as Dee, our Masai guide, picked us up from the airstrip, I knew that we were in good hands. Firstly his control of our 4 by 4 open jeep was masterly as we navigated the rutted mud splattered tracks leading to the camp and secondly he was a mine of information about the wildlife. Over six safari drives he and his assistant Francis were a joy to be with as they spotted herds of buffalos, elephants, antelope as well as the sleeping cheetahs and mating lions. We shall never forget the pride of 11 lions who snuggled up to our jeep for their early morning siesta.

Further honours should also go to Peter, the barman for his sundowners from crocodile tears to doua - whose secret receipe I shall not reveal as it is up to you to go and experience the delights of Tipilikwani!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We have visited Tipilikwani a number of times over the past 18 months, each time with different visitors from overseas. This is camp which offers excellent friendly service, in a delightful setting. Entry can be made through the park. Taking people for their first gentle drive en route is a delightful way to introduce them to the pleasures of Tipi and the Maasai Mara. It gives them a taste of what is to come once you have been welcomed and checked into your tent. The tents are tastfully done and very comfortable. A major plus is that if you are alone you will have a delightful tent with it's own verandah just a short walk from the dining room and bar. If however you are a family who want to be together there are two sets of family tents. These are 2 'semi-detatched' tents, with a shared vaerandah which runs the width of both tents. Evening sundowners can be be shared after a hard day of safariing. Children are welcome and special diets can be catered for, the chef always comes out at least once to check if the food has been enjoyed. i would not hesitate to reccommend Tipilikwani as it is a pleasure to visit every time., with staff who take an interest in your day as well as your comfort.the chance to sample the delights of the Maasai Mara in comfort.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, great to listen to the sounds of Africa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

My first time in Kenya or Africa the continent. I had no real expectations going there other than seeing wild animals and large barren plains. I was pleasantly surprised. The country is very beautiful and the people are very friendly. When doing our safari in the Masai Mara park we stayed at the Tipilikwani camp. This is a very modern, comfortable and high standard accommodation. We got a large tent with 2 kingsize beds, all modern hotel comforts, a large bathroom and fully functional toilet. Our patio was right in front of a river, which made falling asleep very easy listening to the running water noise. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. The food was very good as well. I felt right at home. If you want to explore Africa, Kenya and do safaris, and you don't want to go back to basics, this camp is for you. Modern, up to par yet still the African atmosphere and style.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The Mara offers a truly once in a lifetime experience. The camp, had all of the extra touches, the welcome drinks, the food quality and presentation, the hospitality of the staff, down to the hot water bottle, this was "glamping" at its best! In our hour of need, when the bridge to the camp was completely flooded due to the long rains (noting that many other camps closed!), the camp impressed us further when our knight, or should I say Masai, forged through the depths to rescue us! We shall never forget the Mara or Tipilikwani, our memories will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Having stayed in many of the Maasai Mara's hotels, camps and lodges Tipilikwani camp came as a very pleasant surprise. Each of the Maasai Mara's camps have a unique selling point; for some it's the location, for others the sumptuous food on offer. But Tipilikwani for me was totally about the serenity of the camp and it's proximity to incredible game viewing with one Dee, a Maasai guide, who is simply one of the best guides I've had the pleasure to travel with anywhere in Kenya. His knowledge and love of the natural world was both educational and infectious and his company was a sheer delight.

Tipilikwani's treats, however, didn't end with Dee. The ambience of the luxury tents on the banks of the Talek river, where birdsong and the slow gurgle of the river was the audio backdrop, were comfortable, spacious and well appointed. It was a delight to wake at sunrise and sit on the veranda listening to the Kenyan bush come to life.

In the restaurant area I sipped a sundowner and watched a waterbuck feeding on the lawn as the smell of delicious cooking wafted on the air. And the food was delicious. The bar area is one of the homeliest I've seen in Kenya and allows guests to mingle and easily recount their day.

Finally, the Jackson the manager and his team couldn't do enough for the guests and inquired frequently if there was anything that could be done to enhance the stay. I was well impressed and will most definitely return to Tipilikwani once again.
Thanks to everyone for making my stay so peaceful, luxurious and entertaining.

Room Tip: All of Tipilikwani's guides are excellent, but if you have a chance to travel with Dee you won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok -Masai Mara Reserve- | Parklands Road off Waiyaki Way, PO Box 42475, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipilikwani Masai Mara Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.