We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Save
You added Mara Bushtops to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 nights for 3!
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Although a long time has passed since our stay in the Mara Bushtops, October 2013, not a day goes by without thinking of the fantastic experience my husband and i had.
The biggest regret was that we could not stay longer than the 4 wonderful nights that we were there. The level of camp luxury and attention given by the pleasant and polite staff was second to none.
This was our first safari experience and i would be lying to say that i was not a little bit apprehensive about being so close to nature. The noise of the animals at night , although extremely close, i actually found more enthralling than frightening. Our first night was disturbed by a resident lion feasting on a zebra kill in a bush adjacent to the tent. For a little bit of reassurance we called the night masai " watchman who responded swiftly and gave us the reassurance that we were safe. What a first night, but it was just a taster of what was to follow over the next few days. The excellent safaris onto the Mara left us wanting for nothing. With the services of the excellent guide , Daniel, and spotter, Joseph we quickly got to see the Big 5.
The camp itself was wonderful, food , drink and service excellent. From the manager , Lawrence to the butler ,Mary, nothing was of too much bother.
A fantastic stay in a wonderful place.......absolutely unforgettable! Here was hoping that the next 3 nights in the Serengeti Bushtops would be as good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
154
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The place to be !!! Zero mistake ! The perfection !!! It is impossible of complaining ! A warmful and lovely lodge ! Say what you desire, they will do it ! They take care of you in order that you spent the unforgettable moment ! It is unbelievable the way they give themselves in order to satisfy you. It is the one best of my trip, I have never done ! I can say, Mara bushtop belongs to my top 3 of the best places. Delighted, delicious, amazing, marvelous, wonderful moment ! Congratulations to the manager and his staff !!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Mara bushtops is just the bomb!I had the rare opportunity to travel there and in deed i loved every bit of it!Friendly staff,professional guides and spotters,free high speed Wi-Fi both within the camp and in the safari jeep,wonderfully cooked meals,,,,the list is endless!The trip was just awesome!

Room Tip: "KUDU" tent is just off the hook
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

After visiting many of the lodges in the Mara, the team at Mara bushtops should be commended. You are running an accumulate lodge and your staff are ultimate professionals. Whislt i had some hesitation with you being outside the park, it was quickly allayed when I saw the abundance of wildlife literally at the door of the lodge. Thanks to Lawrence and Alex and your team. See you back in a few months. (PS Just loved the hot tub and massages!!! No wonder we barely left the lodge!)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Amazing place, amazing people. You have to go!

It was our honeymoon and first safari. The guide was incredibly knowledgeable and would consult us every day/evening as to what we would like to try and see. By the end of the trip we had seen the Big 5!

The camp staff were incredibly friendly and made us feel so welcome. The attention to detail was second to none.

We will be going back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the Mara Bushtops and i can only say this was the most wonderful experience we have had and we have both travelled a great deal. The service is second to none, the staff were so friendly and ready to attend your every need. The place is just magical, i suppose it could come down to luck as to who you share the safari jeep with and we were indeed lucky being paired with an older British couple whose company we really enjoyed. Daniel was our Safari guide and Josef was our spotter - they made a great team. Daniel had so much knowledge about the animals and the environment which he would share with us, we left knowing a great deal more than we did when we arrived and all of it fascinating. Josef could spot an animal hiding in the grass or up a tree from a long way away - i have no idea how! We managed to see the big 5 as well as some very impressive scenes unfold before us. A highlight has to be the tough decision of whether or not to "radio in" to camp to ask for your hot tub to be filled after a day out on the safari accompanied by your favourite drink. This really is a magical experience and one which touches your soul in a way nothing else can.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were speechless by the amazingly organized and beautiful tent that was given to us. The staff is so friendly, that made me sad to leave them.
This reserve is surely one of the most amazing place to visit.
Special thanks to our friend DÁRIO, the camp manager who made our stay even more memorable!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 623 reviews
11.0 mi away
Porini Mara Camp
Porini Mara Camp
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#3 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
18.3 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#12 of 132 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 'civilised' wilderness living, in inimitable style. Freedom, comfort and breathtaking views. At Mara Bushtops, you step into a world where nature and contemporary comfort blend into one. Wander through a timeless space where natural wooden decking links the sun-drenched outdoors to cool interiors; where fine furnishings reflect the elegance of African culture; and where your luxury tent affords utter privacy, as close to nature as you can get. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Bushtops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.