We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the bush!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
Save
You added Mara Bushtops to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free night offer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Luxury in the bush!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were unbelievably impressed with everything about Mara Bushtops! The incredible tents with what seemed like unlimited hot water and electricity were awesome! The views from our tent were incredible! We sat one morning and watched seven giraffe graze right in front of us! Our personal valet, Joyce was excellent! She made sure our every request was perfect. She even drew a hot bath for us on our veranda for when we returned from a day in the bush!
Our safari guide, Peter and spotter, Jacob were fantastic! One day they showed us the "big five" up close and personal in less than two hours. Our bush lunch was great! It was in a special spot that Jacob took us to. Great lunch and we had fun with a baboon who came in and was very curious about us and our food.
The manager, Lawrence did an excellent job. He greeted us every day at some point to ensure we were happy with everything and to enquire if there was anything he could to make our stay more enjoyable. All of the staff were excellent, very friendly and truly focused on customer service!
The wine cellar in the bush was excellent as well. We selected two bottles of fabulous South African wine to enjoy on our veranda while we laid in the hot bath enjoying the animals and the sounds. Simply perfection!
The restaurant setting and food was outstanding! The restaurant looks over a natural salt lick and water hole. As we were having lunch, we watched giraffe, impala, baboons, wart hogs, elephants, etc. come over right in front of us for a drink!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jackal room which was perfect. Total seclusion, but yet just a short walk to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
145
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is without a doubt the most luxurious "hotel" I've ever stayed in. The rooms are fabulous, the food sublime and the staff are all warm, friendly and eager to help in any way. There is free wifi, but it may not reach all the rooms, so you may have to use it in the reception area.

The camp itself is on a privately leased area of land on the edge of the Masai Mara. As noted in other reviews, there's a 20-30 minute ride in the land cruiser before you enter the national park. That is the only criticism I could possibly find.

The view from the room and the restaurant area is magnificent. You never know what animal you'll see next!

There is a nice looking pool, but since it's over 5000 feet above sea level it's significantly cooler than at the coast, so I didn't feel inclined to try it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The accommodation, staff, service and food were all first class. Our guide was not as informative as we had experienced at Serengeti Bushtops, but the game drives were excellent with plenty to see.

A few things to note: the camp is around a 20-30 minute bumpy ride to the Masai Mara Reserve, but there is plenty to see en route; once in the Reserve it was another 20-30 minutes to the main game viewing area (due the grazing animals preferring the shorter grass further from the Reserve entrance) - not sure if other camps are more centrally located; the mornings in July were very cold; there are a large number of animals in the immediate camp vicinity which was a real plus; we shared a vehicle here, whereas we had the car to ourselves at the Serengeti camp - if we had our time again, we would have pre-arranged our own vehicle so that we could determine our own schedule; there is a toilet at the entrance to the Reserve but none inside; we transferred from the Serengeti camp - you can only cross the border by land, making it a cumbersome trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I cannot rate this place highly enough. Aside from the fact that you can see the animals from your bed, there is a hot tub on your deck, which is filled for you so it is ready when you get back from along day on safari, drinks and nibbles at the ready too, and you have a masai warrior to escort you from your 'tent' after dark, they put a hot water bottle in your bed at night, the staff and lovely, happy and helpful, the food was great, the lodge/ tent area was huge and amazing......go there...please...just for me. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: We were in Kudu, good view of animals, but I think they were all equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at Mara bushtops camp and it was an amazing experience where you can feel the real Africa and freely roaming wildlife with no fences, the service and food was great, tent is nicely arranged and equipment with all necessary amenities, they stock bathroom with Bulgari toiletries.

as for safari, the timing were very flexible and you can opt for full day safari to Mara reserves, or bush walk and 3 hours safari around the private land of the camp.

I give Mara bushtops 5 stars with hesitations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have traveled many places in the world so we feel quite comfortable making bold comments about our time at the Mara Bushtops. First and foremost the staff are truly exceptional. No matter what the accommodations, in the case of going on safari to Africa, the staff can make the difference between an exceptional experience or just an OK experience. Kudos to the GM Lawrence for making us feel special and knowing we could call on him at any time. Our safari guide Charles and Masai spotter Sammy, were extremely knowledgeable and made extra effort to make sure we were comfortable (early morning drive had extra hot water bottles for us in the vehicle!) and always checked to see what we wanted to do. We echo the other reviews about the food, everything was fresh and delightful to the palate. Each evening our server greeted us with "I have good news for you" and then eloquently described the special for the evening. At times, we could not believe we in Kenya with the incredible food and service. Last but not least was our tent. We were in the Leopard Family tent and it was fabulous. Located on the far end of the camp, we enjoyed the private fire pit which came with a Masai guard who stayed around all night to stoke the fire and keep watch for animals. We would highly recommend this wonderful place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Mara Bushtops is simply outstanding. What exceptional service standards. We cannot wait to go back in a few years and very much hope the same helpful and charming staff are there. Also I would like to highlight the very high quality of food produced at every meal.
As a side note, we had our wedding here and cannot use enough superlatives to describe how helpful the team and management staff were in arranging a perfect event. We did not have to worry about a thing as everything was taken care of to the highest standards.
We will always be truly grateful for the hard work and effort put into making sure we had a perfect stay by every member of staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 'civilised' wilderness living, in inimitable style. Freedom, comfort and breathtaking views. At Mara Bushtops, you step into a world where nature and contemporary comfort blend into one. Wander through a timeless space where natural wooden decking links the sun-drenched outdoors to cool interiors; where fine furnishings reflect the elegance of African culture; and where your luxury tent affords utter privacy, as close to nature as you can get. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Bushtops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.