We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a delight! Nothing to fault!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Bushtops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mara Bushtops
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
A Flight To Paradise
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a delight! Nothing to fault!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The camp is located on a private conservancy and what fantastic game we saw as we arrived - cheetah, elephant and buffalo!! Our magical family tent had views over a salt lick and gave us constant thrills of spectacular sightings of animals. The tents are luxurious, the food, gourmet and the staff delightful. Apart from the great game viewing in the Mara we were also able to enjoy the private conservancy with informative bush walks with Masai trackers, surprise bush breakfasts and evening cocktails watching the magnificent sunset. The exposure to the local culture and people was an interesting and wonderful element of our visit. The camp certainly caters to children with a children's menu and safari guides who know just how to entertain children. Perfect in every way. Would definitely love to go back SOON.

Room Tip: The family room is wonderful if you are traveling with children. It gives them their own room and b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
122
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our second visit to Mara Bushtops was every bit as good as the first if not better. Whilst it was not the Migration we saw so much game and a great variety from our first trip. Black Rhino, four baby Cheetahs with their mother and a big pride of lion were the highlights, but that doesn't really do the game drives justice. So many wonderful life long memories.

And as for the staff at Bushtops, well we don't think you can find a better group of people anywhere on the planet. The attention to detail and genuine warmness from all the staff has made both of our trips so memorable. Claudia, Andy and Georget, your team are just so wonderful. Specific thanks got to Stephen who yet again made us and all the guests so welcome for every meal we had and Alex (guide) made our game drives just so much fun and insightful. Thanks to all of you though and keep up the impeccable high standards.

By far the best lodge in the Mara.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I admit it - I'm a Bushtops "junkie". This was my 3rd time at Mara Bushtops and I've also been at Serengeti Bushtops 3 times. On my visit last week, I was privileged to be able to share the fantastic new family tent which is a blend of the best both camps have to offer. The lounge area and hot tub from the Serengeti, the subtle modern african decor and charm of the original camp. The tent (bigger than my apartment at home!) has 2 big double bedrooms that can easily accomodate an extra bed each, a beautiful living room with automatic espresso machine, minibar and mini wine cellar. The huge terrace with state of the art telescope has a big lounge area, a hot tub and a dining table is still manages not to look crowded.

There is free Wifi throughout the camp and guests have a TV and media player at their disposal to view the day's picture while enjoying a pre-dinner drink by the fireplace in the lounge. Since my last visit, the camp has acquired a new dark vehicle especially designed and equipped for night game drives in the conservancy making that experience even more thrilling!

The food was delicious as always - it never ceases to amaze me what high quality food is produced in the middle of the bush.

Our ranger Peter went out of his way to show us some lions who just didn't want to cooperate although strangely enough, we kept seeing cheetahs all over the place. However, the first night, a big male lion was just off our tent, calling for his pride; together with the hyenas "talking" to each other, this made for a noisily thrilling night.

Georget and his extremely attentive staff went over and above the call of duty to make our stay especially unforgetable. So many, many thanks to Claudia, Andy and the entire team for another unique experience - can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: If you are 4 persons or more, ask for Leopard tent (that's the family unit)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Mara Bushtops is perfect for a bit of luxury on your safari.

The tent (if you can call it that) was spacious, beautifully furnished with a view to die for.

Relax in your hot tub at the end of your game drive (the driver will call in on your way back to ensure its ready when you return) watching elephant and giraffe in the distance. And in our case listen to a lion grumbling in the distance!

The food is amazing with an ala carte menu and a wine cellar. Our tip - Breakfast under the sausage tree at the waterhole wrapped in blanket and watch the sun come up.

Room Tip: Ask for Fox!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

What to say ... ? It really is as fantastic as everyone says - go if you can :) Great rooms, staff, food (excellent a la Carte at every meal), wine cellar and just about everything else. We would definitely return - thanks Mara Bushtops for an excellent experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in Antelope which is the highest room on the hill, this suited us perfectly as it had the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Mara Bushtops is absolutely fantastic. The perfect tented lodge for upscale expectations. Beautiful location with scenic views. Zebras, buffalos and gazelles are grazing in front of your tent. Management and staff did everything to accommodate our individual needs and game drive requests. The food is excellent, better than most Nairobi 5-star hotels.
The only minor drawback is the 20 minute ride to enter the Masai Mara NP.
The Mara Bushtops is your perfect location for a Safari in style.

Room Tip: All are great. For families or two couples, ask for the Leopard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My new wife and I spent the first part of our honeymoon at Mara Bushtops. I stay in hotels around the world nearly every week for my job and I can honestly say I can't imagine any way our stay could have been improved. The staff were incredibly keen to make sure every little detail was covered and this really showed.

Our 'tent' (not like any tent I've ever stayed in - think more a king on campaign!) was amazing, with our own hot tub filled on demand by our personal butler (!) who also brought us dinner on the terrace overlooking the mara on one evening. Dinner in the restaurant was first rate, far better than anywhere else in Kenya and better than most places I've been at home and a good selection of wines to go with it. Don't miss the tour of the wine cellar.

Our guide was excellent and seemed to have a sixth sense for where everything was hiding as well as being great fun and knowing a lot about the animals he could share with us and good at suggesting plans for each day whilst making it completely up to us.

All in all Mara Bushtops completely exceeded our expectations and I can't think of a single thing the staff at bushtops could have done to make it better. Thank you so much.

Room Tip: Any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Bushtops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Bushtops

Address: C14, Keekorok - Masai Mara Reserve | Mara Bushtops private Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Bushtops 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience 'civilised' wilderness living, in inimitable style. Freedom, comfort and breathtaking views. At Mara Bushtops, you step into a world where nature and contemporary comfort blend into one. Wander through a timeless space where natural wooden decking links the sun-drenched outdoors to cool interiors; where fine furnishings reflect the elegance of African culture; and where your luxury tent affords utter privacy, as close to nature as you can get. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mara Bushtops Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Bushtops Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Bushtops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mara Bushtops to your Saves list