We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lifetime memories"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's River Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's River Camp
Save
You added Richard's River Camp to your Saves list
Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Lifetime memories"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed at Richard's Camp for 5 days and absolutely loved it!! Our hosts Kaila and Shawn were extremely accommodating and encouraged us to experience all they had to offer. From action packed half to full day safaris, great hikes, beautiful sunsets, drinks around the fire, bush breakfasts and/or lunch if needed, we were not disappointed. Our guide Joseph was fabulous! We saw everything on our list including an exciting cheetah kill, totally exceeding our expectations! The tents were spacious and beautiful with views of the river and surrounding Savannah like terrain. Meals were fantastic as well. This was an amazing experience for our family, we have memories that will last a lifetime!! Thanks again Kaila and Shawn!!
Chris & Cathy Halyk

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sykesville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we landed at the Masai Mara "airport" and were picked up by Thor, we felt instantly a part of the family! The quality of the accommodations, food, and game drives were only surpassed by the genuine hospitality and warmth of the managers, Thor and Alisa, and their team of exceptional staff. We couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the spirit of Kenya! A few highlights from our trip were bush dinners under the stars (one of which overlooked the hippo-filled river), joking with our knowledgeable and humorous guide, William, and meeting fascinating guests from around the world. We also were able to see a wide variety of animals, despite going a bit before the great migration.

Room Tip: A tip for first-timers: they have night watch guards to ensure that animals do not get too close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I visited in April. We saw an amazing array of animals, and I can't say enough about the hospitality. Tor and Elisa (the camp managers) were very gracious, and our guides were both amusing and interesting. All the camp staff put out effort to make certain that we had a fabulous time. In addition to the game drives, we especially enjoyed the bush lunch and sundowners. The quality of the food was outstanding, and we were truly amazed by the camp staff's ability to set up a luxurious meal in the midst of the bush. We very much enjoyed the intimate and noncommercial feel of the camp. Anyone who goes in April should be forewarned that it is pretty wet. However, we very much enjoyed the trip and the upside of Spring is that there are few visitors, so the experience with the animals is more intimate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our trip began with our skilled driver Joseph picking us up and navigating through the fresh mud created by heavy rains. We saw zebras, giraffes, gazelles, wildebeast, and baboons even before we got to camp. In the two days following we were up close to lions and cubs, cheetah, leopard, elephants, hippos, rhinos, buffallo, all kinds of birds, storks, vultures, mongoose, warthogs, hyenas, jackals, and even an anteater!
We had amazing bush breakfasts overlooking the Mara river and at least a hundred hippos below us. We had sundowners out in the Mara, with giraffes walking by as the sun set ( gives a whole new meaning to happy hour). The food was outstanding and accommodation was made for my gluten-free/ paleo diet.
Thank you to Thor and staff for this extraordinary adventure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited for several nights in March 2013 and LOVED it! We were in Africa for 2 1/2 weeks staying at several different reserves and Richards was one of my favorites. The grounds were small but perfect. Our tent was very nice with a comfortable bed. Nights in the Mara are interesting. I'm not a heavy sleeper so most of my night was spent listing to the hyena, bush babies, baboons and hippos which was great! The food was the best out of all the places we stayed and we had some great food. Breakfast and Dinner in the bush was so beautiful except when Tor forgot the butter :-) Game drives were always eventful. My highlight was watching the 2 3 week old lion cubs play for about 20 minutes. I’m really into babies and March was a great time to see a bunch. Our game drives were in an open jeep that were very comfortable. We saw several game drives in a van looking thing with windows that opened which would not have been acceptable! Our driver William was great. Tor, the camp director was great. He spent time with us at meals and a couple of walks that we did. I loved hearing his stories and liked what he was trying to accomplish with the camp. He and the staff exceeded my expectations. Bottom line is I would recommend Richards camp to anyone and hope to someday go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara North Conservancy in early March 2013. It is a beautiful small camp with 8 tents. Our Masai driver/guide William was excellent and the open Land Rover was ideally suited for the task. We saw an incredible amount of game including a leopard kill at night. Our host Thor and his staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much. Given that it was just before rainy season as well as election time, we were the only guests and therefore had the whole camp to ourselves. Overall the experience was great and we would like to thank the William, Thor and all the other people who made our two days at this camp so fantastic.
Edward Pennings

Room Tip: All tents are situated in a circle around the communal lounge tent so it doesn't matter which on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdwardPennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Richard's Camp is a wonderful experience. Nestled in the woods, about 15 -20 minutes from the airstrip, you will find yourself in safari wonderland! There are no fences, gates or otherwise protections from the wildlife. This, in my opinion, is a real positive. At night, the distant roar of lions and hippos is something one cannot forget.

My daughter and I shared one of the 6 tents at this camp. This is not your average tent.. The beds are heavenly, the decor is pure Africa and the bathroom is large and wonderful. One should know that taking showers needs to be arranged ahead of time. Once you put the request in, someone is outside your tent within minutes, pouring hot water into a tank that goes into the shower. This may not appeal to some; to me, it was charming, delightful and environmentally minded.

Like Sirokoi (owned by Richard's parents), dining is an experience. Dining with other guests is delightful, and each meal we had was superb. On our first evening game drive, we were surprised by our guide when he stopped in a remote area of the Mara for sundowners. Watching the sunset around a fire, with our sundowners, is an experience I will not forget. Richard's outdid themselves the next evening when they delivered us to the edge of the Mara river for sundowners and dinner. As we ate yet another fabulous dinner, we were treated to the hippos departing the river, looking for their spot to retire for the night.

I cannot recommend this spot enough. The guides are fabulous, and the attention to detail is impressive. When comparing tented camps in Masai Mara, don't pass this one up. It offers everything I wanted - simple yet exclusive, quiet elegance and a willingness to please. Lovely, just lovely.

Room Tip: All the tents are the same: perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
2.2 mi away
Mara Plains Camp
Mara Plains Camp
#9 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
10.4 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
Olare Mara Kempinski Masai Mara
#10 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Cottar's 1920's Camp
Cottar's 1920's Camp
#20 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
8.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#36 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Porini Lion Camp
Porini Lion Camp
#4 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richard's River Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's River Camp

Address: Mara North Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated on the banks of the Njageteck River in the Mara North Conservancy, the camp allows for total privacy and exclusivity. The Ngoyanai springs provide permanent water, drawing in large numbers of animals to the area around camp. This camp is also particularly known for its resident lion pride which can often been seen hunting in front of the camp, and often herd roaring at night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard's River Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing