We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see river for its action” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara River

Mara River
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A must see river for its action”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Mara River meanders to lake Victoria. It is not deep and one will see crocodiles, hippos and if lucky, wildebeest and zebras crossing as part of the migration. There is so much wild life to observe. We saw it in late September and most of the animals had crossed the Mara, but still saw plenty of animals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    134
    28
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Masa Mara Fairmont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a fabulous lodge located right on the river which is home to many hippos. The tent cabins are very comfortable and service is first rate. Safari guides are wonderful and very informative. Food is just okay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing! once in a life time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

My Wife and I wanted to visit Kenya. for my 50th Birthday. Importantly go to several
national Safari's. Which we did. This was owesome and breath taking. vaction. Nature at it's best.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Shores, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Loved seeing this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were able to see the River from the Balloon Safari and wow what a view! This river is incredible and to see the animals in their natural habitat was truly breathtaking. Definitely recommend this if you get the chance. A MUST SEE!!!! The Zebra, Wildebeest, and the Rhinos. WOW

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Animal migration/crossing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A must see spectacle. The thousands upon thousands of wildebeest and zebra make for a wonderful visual feast as you scan the vast open plains of the maasai mara.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mara River also viewed

Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 
Amboseli National Park, Amboseli Eco-system
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Rift Valley Province
 

Been to Mara River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.