We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCITING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“EXCITING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay!!. We were warmly greeted by the staff singing & drumming to us as we arrived! Our tents were wonderful with views of the Mara and many animals right outside - great for pictures. The beds were very comfortable, the tent cozy & well appointed with toilet, shower, and electricity 24 hours a day. The special treats of a hot water bottle in your bed at night and hot chocolate with cookies delivered to your tent at your wake-up time were delightful and greatly appreciated.
The staff took a special interest in each of us - curious to know how our day went & what we had seen. The drivers were exceptional and shared their vast knowledge of the animals and history of the area. They patiently waited while we each took pictures along the way.
The food was superb! Everything was fresh and delicious. The dining room staff were so very helpful and attentive. Any request was answered immediately by the staff.
Our stay at Kichwa Tembo was exciting because of the way we were treated, the environment, and the wonderful game drives! I can't wait to go back!!!!

Room Tip: The newer tents are easier to access if you have any mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    39
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
125
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful trip to Kenya including 4 days in the Masai Mara. There are so many places to stay in the Mara - Kichwa Tembo is definitely worth considering.
The newly renovated tents now called superior tents are very comfortable with great beds, sitting areas, showers and twin vanities. Every morning our butler would wake us up with coffee and rusks to line our tummies for the morning drive. The new tents 1-8 have a view of the Mara (but they are close together); 9-16 are on stilts but look out onto the other tents and common area so that people walking past can look in (I personally would not have been happy if allocated one of these) and 20-22 look out onto the Sabaringo River. The other tents which make up the 40 in camp I can not comment on as I did not go and check out their view. We had a tent overlooking the river and its resident hippo.
The pool area is gorgeous and great for kids and adults to have some fun in the water whilst looking out over the Mara - resident warthogs and bushbuck regularly feeding by the pool with giraffes, eland, buffalo walking past on the other side of the fence.
The dining area and bar are extremely well decorated and totally relaxing with great selection of fresh food and wines. We purchased the drink supplement which is well worth it and definitely worth purchasing when you book at USD20 a day per person.
Masai warriors walk around camp and are very easy to talk to and happy to pose for pictures. My 9 year old thought they were so interesting dressed in all their jewellery. Every couple of nights there is a Masai dance which is great fun and worth watching and participating in especially if you can jump.
Shop is fabulous - lots of interesting items some expensive but most reasonably priced.
Moses was our ranger and can not praise him enough - true gentleman of the bush and successful in having us witness 2 amazing river crossings.
Kichwa is a busy camp frequented by big groups so if that doesn't appeal perhaps look at spending your money at Bateleur Camp which is truly amazing and to be honest just a little more my personal" cup of tea". We had a great time and thoroughly recommend &Beyond as a great company to deal with.

Room Tip: Every one has their own requirements but I think tents 1-8 have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

My son and I stayed at Kichwa Tembo at the end of our Africa trip and it was the perfect choice. We were met at the airstrip by friendly staff who greeted us by name and had a beautiful afternoon tea set up for us prior to riding to the camp. The remodeled camp is stunning. Definitely has the feel and decor of a five star hotel. The tents have hardwood floors, slate bathrooms and soft feather beds. The room price includes two safaris a day and delicious fresh food prepared using local garden ingredients. One morning we had to leave early for our safari and were awakened by our room steward with hot tea, cocoa and biscuits. We will definitely be returning on our next journey to Africa.

Room Tip: We had a tent near the back of the resort and while it was a bit of a walk, the privacy was worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We flew into the small dirt airstrip and was met by Jackson, our driver/guide with hot drinks, nuts, dried fruit and biscuits.
Jackson was a amazing, knowledgeable and funny. On our 20 min trip to our camp we saw 16 different animals and 3 bird species, we thought we could go home now, we've seen it all already, but we hadn't, there was more to come.
We got so close to the animals, we'd stop just to let the lions just walk in front of our open aired vehicle. Never once did I feel like we were in any danger.
The meals were beautiful. And we were woken ever morning by our butler with a hot drink and biscuits, before our early morning safari.

Room Tip: We were in room 9, the closest to the restaurant area, I wouldn't recommend as it can be noisy i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The camp, food, service, game drives wer beyond our expectations. Maggie is such a wonderful General Manager. She went above and beyond to make us feel like her personel guests!

Our cabin butler Joshua was just wonderful. He was pleasant, professional and aimed to please.

Akatch our safari driver was truely the best. Fun and always put our saftey first.

This trip is a must do!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Kichwa Tembo was our second stop on our 50th Anniversary trip. OK, we really took it on our 46th Anniversary, but... The trip was arranged by Maureen Stover at Go2Africa, who really did a great job - and at a great price. I investigated about 12 companies doing safaris, and saw others with the same itinerary but double the price. She had the same balance of bang-for-the-buck that I have... It was a fly-in safari to Ambroseli (Serena), Kichwa Tembo, Olakira in the Serengheti and Explorians Ngorongoro at the crater.

We flew from Ambroseli to the Kichwa Tembo airport on SafariLink. An hour to Wilson, 15 minutes to change planes, an hour to the Mara, and we were set down at one of the nicest safari airports. It had a building and a rest room! James was there to pick us up for Kichwa Tembo. He came supplied with a table of coffee, teas, and snacks. After pleasantries and snacks, we proceeded to drive to the camp. But two minutes after leaving the airport, we ran into three lions right by the road... Eventually, we broke away.

Kichwa Tembo is a pretty large (about 40 tents) permanent tented camp. We stayed in tent #4 of the new basic tents. If this is basic, WOW! Each tent has a solid foundation and interior walls and tent exterior. The bedroom is quite large, with a king size bed and lots of space. The bathroom is split into three parts. There are two sinks and mirrors in an extension off the bedroom, and a shower (with rain forest head) and discrete toilet near the back of the tent. If you wish, the toilet and shower are open to the Mara - loo with a view! In the back, you have a patio with table, chairs, and lounge areas. There were lights everywhere and electric plugs for your chargers. Wi-Fi is available.

As in most tented camps, your wakeup call is your cabin man bringing you coffee, teas, and biscuits. At KT, there is a two sided door when the cabin man puts everything in on his side, wakes you up, and you open your side to get everything. Convenient and discrete!

The basic tents (1-9, I think) face the Mara and are close to the dining room. You have a great view. We watched giraffes and water buffalo - and early morning hot air balloon flights - from our patio. The luxury tents we saw were on stilts, facing the Mara, but looking over our tents. At night, a Maasi warrior would walk you to and from the tents.

The resort areas were clean and stylish. Food was consistently excellent. As usual, you had buffet and something being cooked at the stove/grills. There was a nice bar area, pretty big gift shop (which my wife loved ;-)) and a lounging area by the dining area. THere were several warthogs on the property that served as lawn mowers.

The staff was always friendly and helpful - just can't say enough about them.

We celebrated our anniversary at Kichwa Tembo, and Maureen had let the word out (they would have upgraded us to a luxury tent, but we have bad knees...). The entire kitchen staff danced and sang all around the restaurant, then presented us with a Happy Anniversary cake, which we shared with then others. Then, our cabin man Emmanuel told us about an incident at our tent. We'd already had monkeys in our room at Ambroseli, and they had gotten into our tent at KT also, found our vitamins and strewn them around the room, and he wanted to come to the room to make sure that nothing was missing. Well, we got to the room and it was OK - and decorated in red and white rose petals and candles were glowing. He'd made hearts on the bed and on both sides of the bed and spread them throughout the tent. My wife cried... in a good way. Nice touch!

Our guide was James, and he was excellent. We observed three lions from about 15 feet within two minutes of leaving the airport, 2 leopards (one with kill), lots of elephants, lots of lions, zebras and tens of thousands of wildebeest. 32 giraffes - at one time. A great hippo pool (with restrooms!). A lioness walking through a wildebeest herd and going into a culvert immediately below our vehicle... We saw a crossing of about 75 wildebeest, followed by 10 zebras. Game was much more abundant than at Ambroseli.

In summary, 5 Stars! Great resort, beautifully laid out, great food, smiling staff, and some of the best game viewing anywhere!

Room Tip: Tents 1-9 are basic tents, but after the upgrade, they are great and have electricity. They have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

I have never said, "Wow!" as many times as I did at the Kichwa Yembo Tented Camp. From the initial crossing from the small airport to the tented camp on the edge of a lush bushy area, we saw 30+ species of animals and birds with the help of a guide. The excitement never let up from that point on. We were there from Sunday, July 27- Tuesday, July 29 (2.5 days), and filled the short stay with many wows. We were greeted with drinks and warm welcomes. The hostess introduced us to our guide and answered all of our questions. This availability and friendly atmosphere continued with all staff members throughout the stay.

The view overlooking the Masai Mara and beyond the pool was spectacular, with giraffe, warthogs, zebra, and beautiful trees and grasslands. The facilities and tented bungalows replaced the previous facilities with contemporary African fabrics and accessories that were definitely not typical of a tented camp, but a luxurious resort.

The service was friendly and responsive. Our guide, Sophy, a tall, Masai woman, was extraordinary and stunned the male guides when she found the leopard so quickly and expertly. Her expertise and love of the land, animals, birds, and other creatures was an inspiration. Her knowledge of the habits and her conservation of the beauty of the land and living things was clear from the very beginning. She also explained how she broke tradition as a woman guide. We saw four of the five "Big Ones" in the first day. The second day we viewed the Great Migration of the wildebeest! This was an experience beyond compare. We stopped on the top of a hill next to a solitary tree and had breakfast. The wildebeest surrounded us on both sides as we gasped at the beauty of the Mara and its inhabitants. A truly spiritual experience beyond compare! Our safaris were early morning (6:45 and 7:30) and late afternoon (3:30 and 4:00). We were safe and comfortable in our two-ton vehicle as we explored the rough. Sophy made sure
we were comfortable, had comfort breaks, and provided snacks, water, coffee, tea and hot chocolate as needed. The vehicle had four tiers of seating that allowed everyone to see the panorama of the Mara.

The room was beautiful and well-decorated. My friend and I fell asleep to the melody of creatures (bush babies and monkeys) that softly lulled us to sleep. The shower and bathroom were my favorites! The waterfall shower was a relaxing experience as the water fell through the boarded floor into a collection pan.

The food prepared by a chef who greeted the visitors. The staff expertly presented what the fare for the meal included and were attentive and fun. The food included fruit, vegetables, meat, and dessert. (Having been on many Celebrity cruises, I would compare the food to a top luxury ship.

Room Tip: Bring binoculars and a great camera! All of the rooms had excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.