We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel and great safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Fairfield,CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel and great safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I joked to my kids that the only way I would ever go camping is if we could find a tent with an en suite bathroom. Well I found it! The tents are wonderful. Beds really comfortable, and a hot water bottle is popped between the sheet each evening. Excellent bathroom. Was not expecting a full size shower, sink and flushing toilet! Food not that great. My picky 11 year old survived on french fries and bowls of custard. There weren't that many choices...so if you go with kids maybe pack snacks. We went for a full day safari and the picnic they provided that day was actually the best food we had during our four days at the camp. But food aside, it was still an amazing experience. Did the sunrise balloon ride and highly reccommend that. Had a fantastic, fearless guide (Wilson), who would suddenly drive off road to view wildlife, with the command "hold on". Great fun. Stay here!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    39
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
60
125
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo for two nights / 3 days. We flew into the Masai Mara from Nairobi. As we landed we saw our ranger (Meme) and our jeep waiting for us in isolation plus elephants, zebra etc which was simply breathtaking. A lovely touch was that Meme had set up a table with tea/coffee and some snacks in the middle of the Mara before we drove to the camp which was a short 10 minute drive away.

The Kichwa Tembo camp is very comfortable. We had one of the tents which was very comfortable with an ensuite shower and toilet. Meals were served at a central restaurant and bar area. There is also a nice pool.

Our ranger, Meme was simply great and very professional and experienced. We managed to see the Big4 but the leopard remained elusive....an excuse to go back I guess!

The camp was very comfortable and is going through significant refurbishment and will become even better.

We went to a local Masai village which was OK but a little commercialised in truth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have experienced &Beyond before, in South Africa and India, so the quality of the propery and their service didn't come as a surprise to me. It was predictably exceptional, if you know what I mean.

We were part of a large corporate group that occupied all of Kichwa Tembo and more for three nights. And what fun it was.

The great thing about the property is that they have so much of their private reserve that one can have an extensive game drive even without entering the national park. This enables very early morning or night drives in the dark. In fact some of our best "moments" occurred outside the Park area.

The &Beyond properties are best in class but what sets them apart is the people. Right from the lodge manager to every person who had to take care of us, we only experienced warmth. A smile here, a song there to celebrate a birthday, an unexpected twist in your itinerary -- Kichwa had all that for us.

We had two wonderful rangers Benson and Alice who took us around over 6 safari drives. Their knowledge of the Mara is intimate and they can customise the drives to suit your viewing goals. We had the most amazing experience - watching a couple of lionesses stalking a dazzle of zebras, then eventually the lead lioness killed a zebra and the entire pride feasted on the kill before a pack of hyenas threatened and drove the lions away.

There is no doubt that Kichwa Tembo is expensive but there isn't also any doubt that it's worth the money you spend. Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botucatu, SP
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is well runned by &beyond. The tents were very nice. The food was not very good. All meals were ok. But, besides that everything was great. Our ranger was perfect! I would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This summer was our second stay at Kichwa and as usual, it was fantastic. We now almost can't imagine a summer *without* a stay at Kichwa. Daniel N., our guide for the second year in a row, has eyes like an eagle and an endless store of knowledge about the Mara; Mildred and Joseph were both fantastically helpful within the camp as well--Joseph helped organize an amazing picnic that we took on an all-day drive down to the Sand River to catch the end of the migration. We didn't do a balloon safari this year, but we did last year, and it was worth every single dime. An unbelievable way to see the Mara. We've stayed in the "luxury" tents and the "standard" tents and they're all excellent: we loved the adventure of walking through the forest to the luxury tents, and we liked staying nearer to camp in the standard tents. Kichwa is magical. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The service at this place sets it beyond even some of the apparently best hotels in the world: all staff were attentive and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible. Maggie, the manager there, leads a brilliant team. Food there is very good, and they provide for dietary needs, although breakfast out on safari is not near the standard the restaurant provides. Our guide was evidently very knowledgable and seemed to have the uncanny power to see animals from miles away, even when camouflaged in the grass. The only slight issue is having to share the safari truck with others, but this really wasn't a major inconvenience. Some lovely touches that made our stay so personable were: the provision of tea, coffee and biscuits at every opportunity, including when you arrive at the airstrip; the gentle wake-up calls in the morning; he turn-down service with hot-water bottles; but most touching of all was a little note my friend received on her bed wishing her a better night's sleep (someone must have overheard us at breakfast). I want to go back.

Room Tip: Get a tent with electricity, although the ones facing the open savannah have the most beautiful sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were camp hopping in the Mara this August and found Kichwa Tembo to be above average. We had to walk a mile to our tent, which was on the end of the line, but they were all pretty secluded, which was a plus - so we didn't mind walking so far. You just start out sooner to get back to the main area! We had 7 or 8 giraffes browsing right in front of our secluded tent, and we went on a walking safari there, which was interesting. At night, a big fire is started, and the Masai come to sing and dance. We had a very nice time here.

Room Tip: If you have walking problems, request a tent closer to reception. It's a good 10-minute walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.