We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo for two nights / 3 days. We flew into the Masai Mara from Nairobi. As we landed we saw our ranger (Meme) and our jeep waiting for us in isolation plus elephants, zebra etc which was simply breathtaking. A lovely touch was that Meme had set up a table with tea/coffee and some snacks in the middle of the Mara before we drove to the camp which was a short 10 minute drive away.

The Kichwa Tembo camp is very comfortable. We had one of the tents which was very comfortable with an ensuite shower and toilet. Meals were served at a central restaurant and bar area. There is also a nice pool.

Our ranger, Meme was simply great and very professional and experienced. We managed to see the Big4 but the leopard remained elusive....an excuse to go back I guess!

The camp was very comfortable and is going through significant refurbishment and will become even better.

We went to a local Masai village which was OK but a little commercialised in truth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
114
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

I have experienced &Beyond before, in South Africa and India, so the quality of the propery and their service didn't come as a surprise to me. It was predictably exceptional, if you know what I mean.

We were part of a large corporate group that occupied all of Kichwa Tembo and more for three nights. And what fun it was.

The great thing about the property is that they have so much of their private reserve that one can have an extensive game drive even without entering the national park. This enables very early morning or night drives in the dark. In fact some of our best "moments" occurred outside the Park area.

The &Beyond properties are best in class but what sets them apart is the people. Right from the lodge manager to every person who had to take care of us, we only experienced warmth. A smile here, a song there to celebrate a birthday, an unexpected twist in your itinerary -- Kichwa had all that for us.

We had two wonderful rangers Benson and Alice who took us around over 6 safari drives. Their knowledge of the Mara is intimate and they can customise the drives to suit your viewing goals. We had the most amazing experience - watching a couple of lionesses stalking a dazzle of zebras, then eventually the lead lioness killed a zebra and the entire pride feasted on the kill before a pack of hyenas threatened and drove the lions away.

There is no doubt that Kichwa Tembo is expensive but there isn't also any doubt that it's worth the money you spend. Go for it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botucatu, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The hotel is well runned by &beyond. The tents were very nice. The food was not very good. All meals were ok. But, besides that everything was great. Our ranger was perfect! I would recomend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This summer was our second stay at Kichwa and as usual, it was fantastic. We now almost can't imagine a summer *without* a stay at Kichwa. Daniel N., our guide for the second year in a row, has eyes like an eagle and an endless store of knowledge about the Mara; Mildred and Joseph were both fantastically helpful within the camp as well--Joseph helped organize an amazing picnic that we took on an all-day drive down to the Sand River to catch the end of the migration. We didn't do a balloon safari this year, but we did last year, and it was worth every single dime. An unbelievable way to see the Mara. We've stayed in the "luxury" tents and the "standard" tents and they're all excellent: we loved the adventure of walking through the forest to the luxury tents, and we liked staying nearer to camp in the standard tents. Kichwa is magical. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The service at this place sets it beyond even some of the apparently best hotels in the world: all staff were attentive and seemed genuinely interested in making our stay as comfortable as possible. Maggie, the manager there, leads a brilliant team. Food there is very good, and they provide for dietary needs, although breakfast out on safari is not near the standard the restaurant provides. Our guide was evidently very knowledgable and seemed to have the uncanny power to see animals from miles away, even when camouflaged in the grass. The only slight issue is having to share the safari truck with others, but this really wasn't a major inconvenience. Some lovely touches that made our stay so personable were: the provision of tea, coffee and biscuits at every opportunity, including when you arrive at the airstrip; the gentle wake-up calls in the morning; he turn-down service with hot-water bottles; but most touching of all was a little note my friend received on her bed wishing her a better night's sleep (someone must have overheard us at breakfast). I want to go back.

Room Tip: Get a tent with electricity, although the ones facing the open savannah have the most beautiful sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee, wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were camp hopping in the Mara this August and found Kichwa Tembo to be above average. We had to walk a mile to our tent, which was on the end of the line, but they were all pretty secluded, which was a plus - so we didn't mind walking so far. You just start out sooner to get back to the main area! We had 7 or 8 giraffes browsing right in front of our secluded tent, and we went on a walking safari there, which was interesting. At night, a big fire is started, and the Masai come to sing and dance. We had a very nice time here.

Room Tip: If you have walking problems, request a tent closer to reception. It's a good 10-minute walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Overall, we had a great stay at Kichwa Tembo! The staff was friendly and welcoming, our driver/guide was fantastic, and the food was very good.

One of the best features of Kichwa Tembo is the presence of Maasai naturalist guides - when we were there it was Johnathan and Erik, who are just fantastic. They are available every day to talk about the Maasai culture, and they lead daily walks in the areas surrounding the camp. We loved talking with them, and they were so nice to our 10 year old son. They made a bow and arrows for him and spent a lot of time teaching him how to use it. They also bring in other Maasai warriors for a little show and jumping competition every few nights. One night they brought our son some Maasai clothes to wear had him participate in the jumping competition with them. What a fabulous experience for him! We've been to other camps and have visited Maasai villages, but we feel like we learned much more about the culture and way of life by just chatting with Johnathan and Erik after lunch a couple of times.

Our driver/guide Jackson was amazing as well. He always did a great job of positioning us perfectly for taking great pictures. He had a knack for getting to the good animal sightings early so that we always had a great view. He really went out of his way to make sure we had a good experience.

Food is served buffet style and is quite good. There is always a meat and a vegetarian option and plenty of fresh salads, and the desserts are great. We stayed 4 nights and found there to be a very nice variety in the meals. You also have the option of taking a picnic breakfast or lunch on game drives, which makes for a nice change of pace and lets you stay out on the drives longer.

The staff is very attentive. Someone from the office stopped by our table each night to make sure that everything was going well. We had no problems during our stay, but I'm sure if there had been any issues they would have been addressed promptly. They had a great surprise for us during our last dinner - they brought by a "going-away" cake, saying they hoped we would come back soon. Our son absolutely loved that little impromptu celebration, and we were very touched by that kindness.

The classic tents are clean and well-appointed, with plenty of space for an extra bed for our son. The room steward even puts hot water bottles in the beds at night, which is a very nice touch. We followed a TripAdvisor suggestion to request a tent with a view over the Mara plains, but as it turned out the view is obstructed by trees. Our tent overlooked a nice lawn but we couldn't see much of the actual park and we were quite close to other tents. When we sat on our porch we could see all of the neighboring tents and guests - it felt kind of like being in a busy campground rather than a luxury tented camp. It would have been better to be in one of the tents that was more concealed by trees, and get our views of the plains by sitting at the pool. Some reviews have recommended staying in the tents closer to the main lodge so you don't have to walk as far, but I would recommend the farther tents. It really isn't that long of a walk unless you have mobility problems, and you will get more privacy. Note that there are two types of tents - classic and luxury. The luxury tents are slightly larger and have hairdryers and a plug for charging batteries. If you stay in the classic tents, you'll have to charge your things at the charging stations in the bar area (get there early in the evenings!). Luxury tents are farther away from the main lodge.

The one downside is that this is a very large camp (over 40 tents), so it can feel pretty crowded, especially when large groups come through. Some travelers don't seem to understand the concept that tents don't have actual walls, so other guests can easily hear all the noise you're making. Most of the time things quieted down by 10:30 pm (which isn't all that early when you're getting up for early morning game drives!). But on our last night we were kept up by loud talking well into the night. The next morning we discovered that the loudest of the voices belonged to the leader of a large tour group, who also liked to discuss plans with his group loudly in the middle of the restaurant during meals - I would expect more considerate behavior from a travel professional. I don't think the Kichwa Tembo staff can do much to mitigate the effect of people like him, but it certainly left a poor impression in an otherwise excellent stay. Maybe some gentle reminders to guests (and tour leaders!) to be considerate of others would help. We were staying in the classic tents, which were very close to each other. It might be a bit quieter in the luxury tents? I'm not sure if they have any more distance between them. I suspect in order to guarantee a bit more quiet one would have to pay a whole lot more and stay in the Bateleur Camp, where you probably would be buying more considerate neighbors.

Really though, you can't go wrong with Kichwa Tembo. We would definitely recommend it and hope to come back again sometime!

Room Tip: Classic tents #1-14 are closest to the main area and theoretically overlook the Mara grasslands (but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve
Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. • 40 ensuite safari tents (28 classic and 12 luxury)• Lodge swimming pool• Safari Shop• Wifi in guest area, reception and Safari Shop• Great Migration, kongoni, topi, elephant, buffalo, giraffe, lion and cheetah ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list