We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited this hotel last week and we really loved it!.
The tents are very comfortable and you feel as if you were sleeping among the animals, Food is great and the staff is very kind.
We will repeat!

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones near the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
53
118
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

For our honeymoon, we decided to travel to the bush and spend some time away from technology and the hustles and bustles of the city. We arrived at Kitcwa and we were welcomed by Akatch our driver who also was our tour guide. Akatch was well versed about the Mara and also was very eloquent. The restaurant and bar staff was very friendly and the food was excellent. They have a variety of foods too. I enjoyed the game drives in the morning and taking breakfast in the bush was awesome. The game walks which were accompanied by a game ranger were also adventures. I got to take photos of the wildlife up close. The hippos were so fascinating and scary at the same time. I was happy to leave the Mara having luckily seen the so called big five, the Leopard, The Elephant, the Lion, The Buffalo and the Black Rhino. Thank you &Beyond-Kichwa Tembo , for making my trip memorable. Looking forward to come again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Although The clients seem to be getting good services, The by road tour driver guides as they are known, seem to always get suprice's like having to depart on early morning game drives or even depart from kichwa tembo without breakfast. The waiter allocated in the restaurant serving driver guides should pull up his socks as not only are the ''by road driver guides'' important they are also doing the same jobs as the resident guides. This awkward treat meant and lack of hospitality leads the same guides to have heavy hearts when visiting kichwa tembo. Serving of cold meals and a waiter full of attitude is not needed by someone who has spent the better day on the road. When visiting Kichwa tembo, you should be kind enough to ask your driver if he has had his hot meals.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH AFRICA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great time there : excellent fresh vegetables picked from the organic garden created from scratch by the Chef, with amazing passion and dedication -
Our ranger, Wesley, was a star and also very dedicated to his job : always wanting to please and went the extra mile......We were very spoilt with excellent viewings of the Great Migration -
A hot air balloon trip in the early morning over the Kenyan bush was also quite an experience!

Room Tip: Tented rooms from 1 to 10, not too far to walk from the main dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is just stunning in every way - having been on safari once before we thought we knew what to expect but Kichwa Tembo has rewritten the book..
This was booked before we travelled to Mombasa with JT Safaris - Julius understood what we needed and placed us accordingly..
Travelling as a family of 5 this was always going to be expensive but as for value for money and wow factor we could have paid double!!
Met from the private airstrip by our driver who had prepared tea, coffee and cakes for us before transporting us to our accomodation for the next three nights..
The rooms - pool and dining area are all immaculately kept and the whole camp is fully sympathetic to its wildlife and surroundings (we had bushbabies clambering over the tents at night and warthogs and antelope in the grouds during the day)..
Far from being a prescriptive game drive - our driver Elly sat down with us and designed an itenerary around our enthusiasm and capability - we opted for long days and picnic lunches and this way we caught all of the wildlife we could hope to see.
Elly was as enthusiastic as we where and very knowledgable - it so important to understand what you are seeing from a guide that knows the ways of the Mara.
Everybody that we had dealings with at Kichwa Tembo where fabulous and I must thank Edward for the special attention he showed to our 8 year old Daniel..
We are already looking to book once again and this WILL be the camp we use and no doubt we will book via JT Safaris once again..

Room Tip: We had tents 5 and 6 - these are well placed in the gardens with a fantastic view over the plains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This camp is more functional than luxurious (I don't mean that in a bad way). After all, presumably the reason you come here is for the game viewing. Staff are friendly and guides do a great job tracking down game, of which there is plenty to view.

Food is served as a buffet, usually with a cooking station and it is very good indeed with changing menus each day.

Nice infinity pool with a great view of the Mara plain below.

"Rooms" are very spacious "tents" with fairly comfortable bed, washroom and shower. Other than sleeping, you probably won't spend much time in them and they are a bit dark.

The camp's lawns are mowed by warthogs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Arriving in the light aircraft with zebra and warthogs walking about was the perfect start to our safari at kichwa..... We were met by our ranger Douglas with drinks and snacks and then taken to our tents. We had 2 tents (family of 5) which overlooked the stunning African scenery and was minutes away from the pool.

The tents are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Joseph looked after us and would bring coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits as the early morning wake up call for the morning safari and also put the hot water bottles in at night which was heaven. Heat during the day and cool at night with hot water bottle and duvet. Perfect combination.

Safari was brilliant, we saw the big 5 and more..... Zebra at the start of migration, elephants crossing the river, hippo, rhino and baby and one kill ( which was enough!)

What impressed me the most was the friendliness of ALL the staff, within hours they all know you by your name and go out of their way to be welcoming and kind but at the same time love having a laugh with you.

My daughter and I were so impressed with all the wonderful food and homemade cakes (different one at the start of each drive) that we were given the opportunity to see round the extensive vegetable garden at the back of the camp,where they grow all their own vegetables..... Salads are amazing

Our daughter had her birthday there and the staff all came out singing happy birthday, the dancing was exceptional, top prize to the chef for the cake and for having the best moves!!!

We have stayed with And Beyond before at Pinda in SA, this experience is different being under canvas and maybe not as luxurious as the lodges but the overall experience exceeded all our expectations. We loved it and would love the chance to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.