We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Hobart, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We are just leaving this magnificent place after three nights seeing a wide variety of animals and finally the spot of a leopard which has been illusive to us on all safaris.
The staff were excellent and rooms comfortable. We sit having breakfast with our friends the wart hogs snuffling around in the grounds.
A masai marA visit is essential although a bit confronting as to the comparison of our way of life

Room Tip: Probably best to pay a bit more and ask for either north ormsouth camp not so many and closer to mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    40
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
120
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Kichwa Tented Camp four years ago, and of all the places I have stayed at, it has been my favorite. The tents are clean and comfortable with hot water bottles placed on the beds in the evening – a pure delight. Each morning we were awakened by a gentle voice saying "good morning, here's your tea and biscuits" and then we'd embark on two half day excursions to see the wild animals with a brief rest mid day. A hot air balloon ride and gourmet breakfast set up in the savannah far away from civilization was a dream come true. I will return here one day with my entire family. This place is truly heaven on earth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

In August 2012 I booked a safari to the Masai Mara through JT Safaris (Julius Tact Safaris) and stayed at the Kichwa Tembo Tented Lodge.

The tented lodge was an amazing experience. The tents were very well furnished and the staff couldn't do enough for you. I loved the turndown service with a hot water bottle placed in my bed every night! The food at Kichwa Tembo was another highlight of my stay.

The tour guides are extremely knowledgeable and happy to do anything you request to ensure that you get maximum satisfaction out of your safari.

All the transfers from Bamburi Beach to the Masai Mara were arranged by JT Safaris with the utmost efficiency. All communications were clear and I would definitely book my safari with them again in future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have recently returned from our third two night stay at Kichwa Tembo, during our package holiday to Mombasa and it continues to be the tops! The tents are roomy and luxurious and we were provided with a hot water bottle as it was much colder than previously. The service was again brilliant . Everyone from our butler to the manager were so friendly and helpful. It was great to be remembered by everyone a "repeaters" and to be " welcomed home". It certainly felt like it was our home from home, all the more so as Alice was our guide for the third time. Alice, a beautiful Maasi girl who is so knowledgable, so witty and has a fantastic personality. We saw all the Big 5 ( you would expect nothing less with Alice). The highlight of our visit was to see a black rhino and her calf at close quarters for over 10 minutes. We have previously seen the back of a rhino disappearing into the bush but this time on our second day eagle eye Alice spotted the rhinos in the distance and within 2 minutes we were just 10 feet away...just Alice, the two rhinos and my wife and I...just FANTASTIC!!!. For our safari company, for the fourth year we chose JT Safaris who once again proved to be excellent value for money as well as offering a really caring and top class service.

Room Tip: We had tent 3 near reception...ask for a low number tent as some of the higher numbers mean a long t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at andBeyond camps/lodges on a few occasions and have always been 'beyond' satisfied. However, Kichwa Tembo was a disappointment. It lacks all the attention to details which I have gotten used to when going with andBeyond. Firstly, the camp is very big and it also feels like there are bussloads of people there. In other camps there were more dining areas or other solutions like not all guests eating at the same time/guests taking pack lunches.

The biggest difference was the attitude of the staff. Everything out of the box was impossible! If you wanted to do a walk, you had to skip one of your drives. The walk was very short and could have easily been accomodated for in between drives. If you wanted to leave 30 min earlier for the airport to do a short game drive on the way that was also not possible.

At Kichwa Tembo you have to pay for drinks separate, which is fine. But as a consequence there are no stops on your game drives for a coffee or sundowners. I have not been at any other safari with andBeyond or other company where you don't stop to stretch your legs, enjoy the bush and sundown. Also at the other andBeyond places I have been to there is always a theme night where there is some type of special dinner and entertainment. Maybe because Kichwa has so many guest, but there were no special arrangements; just a Masai dance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Kichwa Tembo was exceptional! The service was unbeatable! Everyone was ready to serve you hand and foot. The food was exceptional with organic ingredients grown in their own garden and prepared by by an extremely well trained chef. We were upgraded to luxury tent cabins which were stunning and overlooked the Mara. The safari's were unbeatable-we saw the big 5 and more! Many other groups from other locations never even saw any cats. With the robust 4-wheel drive land rovers and extremely competent guide/driver we were able to get to locations that other groups couldn't get to. Definitely worth the extra cost if you are looking for an awesome experience that is certain not to disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo in January 2013. It was our fourth visit and it was fantastic! It was quite nice to see some old friends – Benedict Kalului (our ranger on previous visits), Joel the pool attendant; James (the manager) and of course the incomparable Chef George. Our guide Protus was supurb; very professional, positive and knowledgeable. As usual, the entire staff was very friendly, professional and outgoing. Good food; friendly and professional atmosphere ; comfortable tents; fantastic view of the Mara and of course great game viewing (big five on the first day). KT is the place to stay in the Mara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.