We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dissapointment compared to other andBeyond camps/lodges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A dissapointment compared to other andBeyond camps/lodges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at andBeyond camps/lodges on a few occasions and have always been 'beyond' satisfied. However, Kichwa Tembo was a disappointment. It lacks all the attention to details which I have gotten used to when going with andBeyond. Firstly, the camp is very big and it also feels like there are bussloads of people there. In other camps there were more dining areas or other solutions like not all guests eating at the same time/guests taking pack lunches.

The biggest difference was the attitude of the staff. Everything out of the box was impossible! If you wanted to do a walk, you had to skip one of your drives. The walk was very short and could have easily been accomodated for in between drives. If you wanted to leave 30 min earlier for the airport to do a short game drive on the way that was also not possible.

At Kichwa Tembo you have to pay for drinks separate, which is fine. But as a consequence there are no stops on your game drives for a coffee or sundowners. I have not been at any other safari with andBeyond or other company where you don't stop to stretch your legs, enjoy the bush and sundown. Also at the other andBeyond places I have been to there is always a theme night where there is some type of special dinner and entertainment. Maybe because Kichwa has so many guest, but there were no special arrangements; just a Masai dance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    40
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
120
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Kichwa Tembo was exceptional! The service was unbeatable! Everyone was ready to serve you hand and foot. The food was exceptional with organic ingredients grown in their own garden and prepared by by an extremely well trained chef. We were upgraded to luxury tent cabins which were stunning and overlooked the Mara. The safari's were unbeatable-we saw the big 5 and more! Many other groups from other locations never even saw any cats. With the robust 4-wheel drive land rovers and extremely competent guide/driver we were able to get to locations that other groups couldn't get to. Definitely worth the extra cost if you are looking for an awesome experience that is certain not to disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo in January 2013. It was our fourth visit and it was fantastic! It was quite nice to see some old friends – Benedict Kalului (our ranger on previous visits), Joel the pool attendant; James (the manager) and of course the incomparable Chef George. Our guide Protus was supurb; very professional, positive and knowledgeable. As usual, the entire staff was very friendly, professional and outgoing. Good food; friendly and professional atmosphere ; comfortable tents; fantastic view of the Mara and of course great game viewing (big five on the first day). KT is the place to stay in the Mara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We book our safari with JT SAFARIS(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) to Masai Mara 6 month before our holiday in Kenya.we send JT small deposit and other money we pay after our safari.We stay 29/01/2013- 01/02/2013 3 nights in Kichwa Tembo.Everything was mutch better than expected.Delicious,very fresh food,very friendly people (all in Kichwa Tembo).We felt like at home!Thank for all people in Kichwa tembo,!Big thank you for our game driver Bension Ndungu,who help us to see all big five!!!He is the best game driver in Masai Mara,very nice person.We will come back in the future and definatly will choose Kichwa Tembo and same game driver Bension Ndungu!
We hardly recommend JT SAFARIS(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) and next time we definetly will book our safari with him.Thank you Julius Nzumbi!

Room Tip: we stay in tent number 9.love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our 2 night, 3 day stay at Kichwa Tembo was beyond perfect. From the moment we arrived until our very reluctant departure, we had an absolute ball. The place itself is stunning, a real paradise with the most beautiful tented rooms, incredible grounds, a paradisical pool overlooking the Mara plains, the friendliest staff I've had the pleasure of dealing with and one of the best safari guides I've ever encountered. I cannot recommend Kichwa Tembo highly enough, from the winding, tropical pathway leading from the Mara plains into the camp, to the nightly hot water bottles waiting in your bed on your return from dinner, the morning wake up calls with coffee or hot chocolate, the fantastic food, from the abundance of wildlife on the Mara Plains to the idyllic peacefulness of this camp, I would go back in a heartbeat and would happily stay forever.

Room Tip: Tents 1-10 overlook the beautiful Mara Plains and are fronted by a stunning lawn. Other tents are tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first time to Masai Mara! Kichwa Tembo has the best possible staff! We were treated like kings and queens. The sleeping arrangements were of utmost superiority! The meals were fresh, delicious and obviously made from scratch. Our tour guide Carlton was the most incredibly knowledgable individual! He instinctively knew where to go for us to see amazing animals up close! He would take us to where we could get wonderful photos of animals up close. He even got us up close to lion pups. Thank you Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is superb as you are protected by Masai Mara men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first experience of Africa and it could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed, enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights, managed to see the Big 5 in our first 3 hours (a feat the even surprised our wonderful guide, Timothy) and they gave us a surprise 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner at our tent, complete with special cake, music and dancing. The grounds were stunningly beautiful, the pool incredible and the staff were just magic. Edward, our butler, was simply awesome, as were so many of the staff. Both of us also enjoyed the fact that there was limited cellphone and/or internet coverage as the last thing we wanted to see were people on phones and/or computers. This is a holiday, not a work stop!
We could not have been happier. It was magical and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: Get a site that overlooks the savannah. It is magic. And USE THE POOL! It was so special and refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.