We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
Save
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Grass Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Kichwa Tembo was exceptional! The service was unbeatable! Everyone was ready to serve you hand and foot. The food was exceptional with organic ingredients grown in their own garden and prepared by by an extremely well trained chef. We were upgraded to luxury tent cabins which were stunning and overlooked the Mara. The safari's were unbeatable-we saw the big 5 and more! Many other groups from other locations never even saw any cats. With the robust 4-wheel drive land rovers and extremely competent guide/driver we were able to get to locations that other groups couldn't get to. Definitely worth the extra cost if you are looking for an awesome experience that is certain not to disappoint.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selene d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at Kichwa Tembo in January 2013. It was our fourth visit and it was fantastic! It was quite nice to see some old friends – Benedict Kalului (our ranger on previous visits), Joel the pool attendant; James (the manager) and of course the incomparable Chef George. Our guide Protus was supurb; very professional, positive and knowledgeable. As usual, the entire staff was very friendly, professional and outgoing. Good food; friendly and professional atmosphere ; comfortable tents; fantastic view of the Mara and of course great game viewing (big five on the first day). KT is the place to stay in the Mara!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PJT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We book our safari with JT SAFARIS(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) to Masai Mara 6 month before our holiday in Kenya.we send JT small deposit and other money we pay after our safari.We stay 29/01/2013- 01/02/2013 3 nights in Kichwa Tembo.Everything was mutch better than expected.Delicious,very fresh food,very friendly people (all in Kichwa Tembo).We felt like at home!Thank for all people in Kichwa tembo,!Big thank you for our game driver Bension Ndungu,who help us to see all big five!!!He is the best game driver in Masai Mara,very nice person.We will come back in the future and definatly will choose Kichwa Tembo and same game driver Bension Ndungu!
We hardly recommend JT SAFARIS(JULIUS TACT SAFARIS) and next time we definetly will book our safari with him.Thank you Julius Nzumbi!

Room Tip: we stay in tent number 9.love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martynas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our 2 night, 3 day stay at Kichwa Tembo was beyond perfect. From the moment we arrived until our very reluctant departure, we had an absolute ball. The place itself is stunning, a real paradise with the most beautiful tented rooms, incredible grounds, a paradisical pool overlooking the Mara plains, the friendliest staff I've had the pleasure of dealing with and one of the best safari guides I've ever encountered. I cannot recommend Kichwa Tembo highly enough, from the winding, tropical pathway leading from the Mara plains into the camp, to the nightly hot water bottles waiting in your bed on your return from dinner, the morning wake up calls with coffee or hot chocolate, the fantastic food, from the abundance of wildlife on the Mara Plains to the idyllic peacefulness of this camp, I would go back in a heartbeat and would happily stay forever.

Room Tip: Tents 1-10 overlook the beautiful Mara Plains and are fronted by a stunning lawn. Other tents are tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first time to Masai Mara! Kichwa Tembo has the best possible staff! We were treated like kings and queens. The sleeping arrangements were of utmost superiority! The meals were fresh, delicious and obviously made from scratch. Our tour guide Carlton was the most incredibly knowledgable individual! He instinctively knew where to go for us to see amazing animals up close! He would take us to where we could get wonderful photos of animals up close. He even got us up close to lion pups. Thank you Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is superb as you are protected by Masai Mara men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zebraroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first experience of Africa and it could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed, enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights, managed to see the Big 5 in our first 3 hours (a feat the even surprised our wonderful guide, Timothy) and they gave us a surprise 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner at our tent, complete with special cake, music and dancing. The grounds were stunningly beautiful, the pool incredible and the staff were just magic. Edward, our butler, was simply awesome, as were so many of the staff. Both of us also enjoyed the fact that there was limited cellphone and/or internet coverage as the last thing we wanted to see were people on phones and/or computers. This is a holiday, not a work stop!
We could not have been happier. It was magical and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: Get a site that overlooks the savannah. It is magic. And USE THE POOL! It was so special and refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Morris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A wonderful experience from the moment I was picked up from the airstrip greeted with tea or coffee a selection of cookies and nuts before being driven to Kichwa. I was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and shown to my tented accommodation, which was very clean and comfortable with a lovely powerful shower.My first game drive was the same afternoon I arrived. A big thank you to Benson the guide/driver who went out of his way for me to see as much as possible and I managed to see the big 5 and more. I was looked after by Simon who supplied tea & cookies every morning before the game drives.Kichwa Tembo was a wonderful experience with fabulous friendly staff, excellent accommodation,food and in a beautiful setting.Experience that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
12.4 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#11 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
12.9 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
22.9 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karen Blixen Camp
Karen Blixen Camp
#21 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 249 reviews
2.6 mi away
Little Governors' Camp
Little Governors' Camp
#37 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sanctuary Olonana
Sanctuary Olonana
#29 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing