We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal Idyllic Oasis in heart of beautiful Masai Mara Reserve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp
C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Idyllic Oasis in heart of beautiful Masai Mara Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Our 2 night, 3 day stay at Kichwa Tembo was beyond perfect. From the moment we arrived until our very reluctant departure, we had an absolute ball. The place itself is stunning, a real paradise with the most beautiful tented rooms, incredible grounds, a paradisical pool overlooking the Mara plains, the friendliest staff I've had the pleasure of dealing with and one of the best safari guides I've ever encountered. I cannot recommend Kichwa Tembo highly enough, from the winding, tropical pathway leading from the Mara plains into the camp, to the nightly hot water bottles waiting in your bed on your return from dinner, the morning wake up calls with coffee or hot chocolate, the fantastic food, from the abundance of wildlife on the Mara Plains to the idyllic peacefulness of this camp, I would go back in a heartbeat and would happily stay forever.

Room Tip: Tents 1-10 overlook the beautiful Mara Plains and are fronted by a stunning lawn. Other tents are tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    38
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
116
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our first time to Masai Mara! Kichwa Tembo has the best possible staff! We were treated like kings and queens. The sleeping arrangements were of utmost superiority! The meals were fresh, delicious and obviously made from scratch. Our tour guide Carlton was the most incredibly knowledgable individual! He instinctively knew where to go for us to see amazing animals up close! He would take us to where we could get wonderful photos of animals up close. He even got us up close to lion pups. Thank you Carlton!!!!

Room Tip: Any room is superb as you are protected by Masai Mara men.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first experience of Africa and it could not have been better. We were warmly welcomed, enjoyed a fantastic 4 nights, managed to see the Big 5 in our first 3 hours (a feat the even surprised our wonderful guide, Timothy) and they gave us a surprise 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner at our tent, complete with special cake, music and dancing. The grounds were stunningly beautiful, the pool incredible and the staff were just magic. Edward, our butler, was simply awesome, as were so many of the staff. Both of us also enjoyed the fact that there was limited cellphone and/or internet coverage as the last thing we wanted to see were people on phones and/or computers. This is a holiday, not a work stop!
We could not have been happier. It was magical and we look forward to returning one day soon.

Room Tip: Get a site that overlooks the savannah. It is magic. And USE THE POOL! It was so special and refr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A wonderful experience from the moment I was picked up from the airstrip greeted with tea or coffee a selection of cookies and nuts before being driven to Kichwa. I was greeted by very friendly and helpful staff and shown to my tented accommodation, which was very clean and comfortable with a lovely powerful shower.My first game drive was the same afternoon I arrived. A big thank you to Benson the guide/driver who went out of his way for me to see as much as possible and I managed to see the big 5 and more. I was looked after by Simon who supplied tea & cookies every morning before the game drives.Kichwa Tembo was a wonderful experience with fabulous friendly staff, excellent accommodation,food and in a beautiful setting.Experience that I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new mexico
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

After having read the recent reviews of this resort, I had to wonder if we stayed at the same place. We just returned from a two week safari in Kenya and Kichwa was the 3rd tented camp on our journey. In no way was it better or even up to par with any of the prior three or one later on this trip. Our arrival was met with nonchalance by the staff, totally different from our other experiences. Our tent was ok but nothing special and there were no electric outlets to charge our cameras. In addition, we were placed in a room with twin beds instead of a double as we had requested. The lighting was so dim that reading was impossible. The bathroom included a very nice open marble shower. It gave a touch of luxury until the shower was actually turned on and the large but quite dated shower head threw water over about a third of the bathroom floor and required a couple of towels to clean up.

The staff was not unfriendly, but provided nowhere near the hospitality that we had become accustomed to at previous camps. One nice touch was free use of a computer. However, the internet network was down and no one knew how to fix it or even seemed to care. We were told to “come back later and maybe it will work then”. It never did.

There were warthogs running all over the grounds which I guess was cute, until you had to walk through their droppings on the way to the meals which were served outside on the lawn. The food at all the meals was very good, and for a change even the water was included.

The reception/gift shop area had a charming feel. Also, the grounds and the pool area were also very attractive. There were hammocks on the grounds just outside the tents which also was a nice touch. Finally, the views from the grounds of the resort over the savannah were great and it was possible to see a lot of wildlife from the tent area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked a 4 day/3 night trip with &Beyond for our family of 5. We arrived in Nairobi from Dubai and were greeted at the airport and taken to the Norfolk for one night. The next morning, a driver picked us up and took us to the Wilson Airport for our 50 minute plane ride to the Kichwa Tembo airstrip. Our fantastic guide, Daniel, met us at the airstrip and our safari experience began! It is just a short drive to the camp, but it was really our first game drive. We saw at least a dozen animals along the way. The camp was perfect for a safari experience. There were warthogs, mongooses and monkeys all over the camp. The tents are clean and the beds are very comfortable. We paid extra to have electricity in our tents (I wanted to be able to dry my hair) but, if you didn't they had a charging station in the bar and hairdryers in the restroom by the bar. The food was good and the staff was fantastic! Everyone is very friendly and they make you feel very welcome. They were not busy when we were there (Jan 9-12) so we were the only 5 in the vehicle for all of our game drives. The game drives were unbelievable and Daniel was our guide for all of them. Daniel was so knowledgeable and made the experience all the more memorable. We also did a balloon safari one morning that included breakfast on the Masai Mara. Great fun! This was our first safari, so I can't compare this camp to others, but I loved the entire experience and would recommend &Beyond to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family of 5 (3 generations) treated ourselves to a 3-day break at Kichwa Tembo camp, flying from Malindi. We had been to the Mara many times before, and this trip was as good, if not better, than any. To reiterate a previous reviewer, the staff were exceptionally good - without exception. They were professional, friendly, courteous and made us all feel special and welcome. Our game guide - a young lady - was impressive: so knowledgeable and aware of our interests, and she drove brilliantly, manoeuvering a heavy land rover in thick black cotton mud! The food at the camp was the best we have ever eaten at a safari lodge in Africa, and way exceeded our expectations. The attractive swimming pool is beautifully situated and was enjoyed by the children. We also saw a delightful amount of game, including a pair of rare wild dogs hunting, so we were thrilled! All in all, we would happily return to Kichwa Tembo when we next visit the Mara.

Room Tip: The first set of standard tents (1 - 13) are on an open field nearest the pool and dining area. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Masai Mara Tented Camp is set on a private wilderness concession leased from Maasai landlords in the legendary Masai Mara. Situated where forest and savanna meet, these elegant, spacious safari tents boast some of the most magnificent views of the Masai Mara, especially from the large swimming pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kichwa Tembo Tented Safari Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
AndBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added andBeyond Kichwa Tembo Tented Camp to your Saves list
;