We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What sets Mara Explorer Camp apart from the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Big Sky, Montana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What sets Mara Explorer Camp apart from the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There are many camps in the Masai Mara catering to a variety of price points. Having visited quite a number through the past six years, Mara Explorer sets itself a part due to its small size and the personal attention you receive. The location itself is nonpareil, sitting above the Talek River with hippos, crocs, water bucks, giraffes and the like habiting the river bottom below. At night, with the river lit up, the procession of hippos into the bush is quite impressive. The tents are semi-permanent structures with an integral bathroom and an outdoor bathtub for those so inclined. The manager, Andrew, was quite engaging and ensured that you had everything you needed. The chef, Shadrack, had an undeniable passion for cooking that was evident in every conversation and the food more than matched the resulting expectation. When we departed, we felt we were leaving our new-found family and that is what a small size is all about. We couldn't recommend Mara Explorer more highly.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
121
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have spent many a wonderful stay in the Mara and the Explorer is one of the finest I have experienced. It is the sister camp of Mara Intrepids. While Intrepids is wonderful for families, Explorer caters to those who want an experience that is tailored to those who value something a little quieter and elegant. There are only 10 tents - all overlooking the Talek River and the common area is intimate - guests gather around the fire in the evening and share the experiences of the day. The tents are well appointed and have lots of hot water and a bathtub on the deck for a relaxing venue to shed the dust of the game drive. Meals were excellent - no buffets - all cooked to order and of very high quality. Noor was our server and he was amazingly sensitive to each individual's needs. Paul and Dennis are both excellent, silver-rated guides who are able to share as much or as little information as desired. The manager allows each group the amount of privacy or social time as preferred by each guest. It truly is a lovely place.

Room Tip: Tent 4 (double bed only) is right by the hippo pool. If you love watching the hippos and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Explorer camp is another luxury camp that our guests love. We are also planning private safari's for our guests from Italy.
Wildlife is not a question while staying at this beautiful camp.the food is awesome and service what is expected. I highly recomend mara explorer.
Reuben

Room Tip: All rooms are unique. I would suggest any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights on our honeymoon in August and had a wonderful time. The camp is very luxurious with the tents furniture themed around classic safaris and bathtubs out on the decks. You get a spear to stick in the middle of the path when you don't want to be disturbed, which we thought was a nice touch.

The food is five star standard, and was delicious but sometimes a bit overwhelming - 4/5 courses at lunch and 7 at dinner. We generally skipped some courses so we weren't too full!

The game viewing was great, though the reserve is very busy in August. Our guide James was an expert at getting a great view of the animals - we were literally face to face with a leopard at one point! We saw all the big five and lots of other animals too - the baboons in particular were great fun!

The staff are all very friendly - Andrew the manager organised a bush dinner for all the guests one evening, and Jeremiah in particular took very good care of us - including ordering a bottle of wine from the other camp when the only one available was corked.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I returned to mara explorer as part of an 8 camp safari. Plenty to see with great meals and rangers. We would definitely visit a third time as it is so well positioned in the mara.take ear plugs as the hippos are noisy but fun.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our trip to Mara Explorer Camp was undoubtedly the most amazing wildlife and hospitality experience that 9 families from 5 different countries have ever experienced. We stayed for 3 nights in this camp - Steve, the Manager, and all other managers/staff/guides/security: Andrew, John, Vincent, Reuben,Maureen, and a few others whose name I cannot recall ( but remember all their faces!) were all fantastic and really made the stay even more incredible. Nothing was too much or trouble for them. The rooms are comfy and luxurious, and very eco friendly as well. They are incredibly conscious about the environment and their environmental impact, by implementing water saving, controlled electricity, etc. to minimise the damage to the environment. It's absolutely incredible how they manage to retain their 5-star luxury standard, yet ensure that they are always giving back to the environment. You can hear/see the resident hippos all day and night long!! The food is just divine, lots of vegetarian food options too! We were pleasantly surprised when they even made Indian food to cater to our group's dietary preferences. Bush breakfast, bush dinner, and Masai Dances are just some of the few aspects other than wildlife to really look forward to.

The wildlife is the true star of the show. Incredible amounts of Wildebeest, Topi, and Zebra that are in such large quantities that a single animal looks like a little spot in a sea of animals. Cats, especially Lions, are very prevalent in the area. We even saw the dramatic crossings that we could only have dreamt of seeing on a National Geographic documentary. A real added bonus was seeing the iconic and endangered Black Rhino. It was a true treat that I'll never be able to forget.

We went to another camp afterwards that, had we not been to Mara Explorer before, we would have liked very much. However, Mara Explorer was such a divine and fantastic camp that it set the standard too high for anything else to match it. Coming from a very experienced family in wildlife destinations and wildlife camps, we really recommend this camp above all others! It's honestly the best place to stay in the Mara!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family and friends

Room Tip: Honestly, all the rooms have an incredible view of the river, and chances are very high that there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a wonderful place located in the Masai Mara surrounded by forest and close to the dirt air strip where you arrive. As usual with all these African camps the staff are fantastic. Absolutely fantastic people. Food small servings but adequate and well presented. Decor in rooms amazing and it is a real pleasure to stay here a few nights. The wild life is better than many other places and you will see all the famous African wild animals. However don't forget the interesting vegetation and small birds that are prolific at the camp.

Lastly if you are on a budget there is nothing wrong with the cheaper camp. This camp is fine if you have the money and want some seclusion. But that is probably all you are getting for the extra price. Larger rooms, less people, smaller camp but really the other places will make you just as happy.

Room Tip: Great great place with great staff but expensive. The other camp is fine for lower budgets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.