We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top ten life experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top ten life experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was a solo traveler to the Mara the first week of September, 2013. I chose the Explorer camp because of it's quieter atmosphere and boy was it a good choice! To be brief, every need was catered to at Mara Explorer from food to personal wake up calls. I especially want to brag on my guide, Sami, as we saw the big five with relative ease due to his familiarity with the area. He was responsive to our requests to see different species and even took us up close on a few kills! I will return to Mara Explorer with family on my next trip to Africa. It really IS that good.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good, but I was in room 9, and it was away from the hippos which made i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Mara Explorer. It is true we pride ourselves as being in the best location in the Mara making it possible for you to visit all the areas where you can have a superior game viewing experience.
Furthermore we have very good Driver Guides and Sammy is one os them and it gives me great pleasure in recognizing that your expectation were met.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
128
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First off all,We stay on the 5th oct for 4 nights and we would like to thank all the staff at the Explorer who made our stay truly a memorable one .They are Steve the Manager ,James our House Keeper , Godfrey our Waiter (bottoms Up ),Daniel and Simon our Guards at night , and off course not forgetting our Guide James who made our Safari Unbelievable ,His knowledge is second to none,
We saw all the top 5 and lots more ,The food in the camp is outstanding better than some 5* hotels that we have stayed in , We also stayed in tent no 4 right by the hippos on one side and crocs on the other side of the river, So once again Thanks from Tina @ Martin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Mara Explorer. Further we appreciate your taking time to post comments on the Tripadvisor.
We in the Mara strive to give our Guests an unforgettable experience and from the tone of your mail we did and so for this we are elated.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at the Mara Explorer - I cannot beging to express our thanks to the many staff who truly made our experience richer: George, the on-duty manager at the time of our visit, was a true gem - attentive to details and committed to the absolute satisfaction of all guests. Katembo - our fearless guide, driver extraordinaire and patron saint of the dung beetle :) - was clearly very skilled and experienced in the are and was able to expose us to the many wondrous shows of nature for which the Mara is renowned. Godfrey was also such a treasure to us, very thoughtful, funny and entertaining. We were so blessed on our journey to have many surprises arranged by the staff which made our stay all the more memorable. Add to this to excellent cuisine, spectacular location on hippo river, beautiful accommodations, free laundry (Hooray!!) and excellent staff - and you have a truly extraordinary experience. Definitely 5 stars!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are humbled we participated in making your dream come true. Thank you for mentioning the team members who made a difference for you.
Their names have been entered in our scheme for rewarding those who offer exemplary services and they may just get some nice goodies shortly.
Most important you have given us feedback that will truly help us in our quest to be the best Unit in the area, something we are truly aspire.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were privileged to stay at both the Mara Explorer and the Mara Intrepids and we cannot say enough great things about our interactions with Stella, Edwin, Julius, Joseph (our amazing guide to the Mara), Joseph (our Masai guide to the flora of the camps and the area), John, George, and the rest of the staff, regardless of their "role." They make every effort and then some to make you feel as though you are at home in their home. It was an experience that I have been talking about non-stop, since we returned home last Tuesday.

This is a place of incredible beauty and tranquility which we easily could have stayed at for the entire time we were in Kenya.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the time of our lives during the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay immensely.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I was looking for a simple and real experience in Maasai Mara, I found Mara Explorers Camp and after having stayed there for four days I can genuinely say that I had a great time and could not be happier. The owners of the camp, Laura and Moses, made every effort to make our stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. If I return to Maasai Mara I will definitely stay at the camp again.

Colin D'Souza

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
We are excited you had a nice stay at the Explorer. From what you mention about owners of the camp, i suggest you recheck as the ones mentioned are not known to us.
However we are grateful you enjoyed your stay.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We started our trip out of town with Explorer and could not have asked for a better stay. We really enjoyed the safari rides, and the staff went out of their way to make it special. The quiet and exclusive feeling, the great game viewing, the luxury tents, bathtabs but the attention and the care of the staff was impeccable. Service in this place is truly exceptional - the hosts, Steve was the epitome of attentiveness, knowledge and attention to detail. The chef cooked up some amazing meals and was very attentive. The surprise for my boyfriend’s birthday was more than I ever thought accompanied by a surprise Masai dance during our last evening. The morning of our departure, a surprise birthday present was made. The camp was very quiet and at night you could hear the sounds of nature, we did stayed in the tent #3 (right at the Hippo beach), we loved our tent and we got to see the Hippos from the tent. The camp is really small and you get to know everyone. Our guide, Mathew, he was clearly very knowledgeable and would take us straight into the heart of the action. He knew where the animals were and if he saw an animal on the move, he would guess accurately where the animal was going and get there before all the other vehicles. Mathew was also an expert driver, getting us through some difficult terrain and positioning us for prime viewing if there were other vehicles around. Under his guidance, lions mating, cheetahs kill, leopard walking, elephants and giraffe grazing. We had front-row views of a migration river crossing and the hot water bottles in bed were a nice touch of luxury on top of the already stellar accommodations.
Explorer is the best place to be......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
I do agree with you that Mara Explorer is the best place to be always. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay immensely and look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We started our Kenyan honeymoon with 4 nights at the Explorer and could not have asked for a better stay. Our tent was beautiful and the service was impeccable. We really enjoyed the safari rides, and the staff went out of their way to make it special. Dennis was a very knowledgeable and fun guide. If you are looking for a safari in the Mara, book the Explorer, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad we impacted you positively. We are privileged to have shred with you such a special time in your life.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.