We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First off all,We stay on the 5th oct for 4 nights and we would like to thank all the staff at the Explorer who made our stay truly a memorable one .They are Steve the Manager ,James our House Keeper , Godfrey our Waiter (bottoms Up ),Daniel and Simon our Guards at night , and off course not forgetting our Guide James who made our Safari Unbelievable ,His knowledge is second to none,
We saw all the top 5 and lots more ,The food in the camp is outstanding better than some 5* hotels that we have stayed in , We also stayed in tent no 4 right by the hippos on one side and crocs on the other side of the river, So once again Thanks from Tina @ Martin

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nozzle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at the Mara Explorer. Further we appreciate your taking time to post comments on the Tripadvisor.
We in the Mara strive to give our Guests an unforgettable experience and from the tone of your mail we did and so for this we are elated.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at the Mara Explorer - I cannot beging to express our thanks to the many staff who truly made our experience richer: George, the on-duty manager at the time of our visit, was a true gem - attentive to details and committed to the absolute satisfaction of all guests. Katembo - our fearless guide, driver extraordinaire and patron saint of the dung beetle :) - was clearly very skilled and experienced in the are and was able to expose us to the many wondrous shows of nature for which the Mara is renowned. Godfrey was also such a treasure to us, very thoughtful, funny and entertaining. We were so blessed on our journey to have many surprises arranged by the staff which made our stay all the more memorable. Add to this to excellent cuisine, spectacular location on hippo river, beautiful accommodations, free laundry (Hooray!!) and excellent staff - and you have a truly extraordinary experience. Definitely 5 stars!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dutcherin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are humbled we participated in making your dream come true. Thank you for mentioning the team members who made a difference for you.
Their names have been entered in our scheme for rewarding those who offer exemplary services and they may just get some nice goodies shortly.
Most important you have given us feedback that will truly help us in our quest to be the best Unit in the area, something we are truly aspire.
Kind Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were privileged to stay at both the Mara Explorer and the Mara Intrepids and we cannot say enough great things about our interactions with Stella, Edwin, Julius, Joseph (our amazing guide to the Mara), Joseph (our Masai guide to the flora of the camps and the area), John, George, and the rest of the staff, regardless of their "role." They make every effort and then some to make you feel as though you are at home in their home. It was an experience that I have been talking about non-stop, since we returned home last Tuesday.

This is a place of incredible beauty and tranquility which we easily could have stayed at for the entire time we were in Kenya.

Thank you, thank you, thank you for the time of our lives during the trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay immensely.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We started our trip out of town with Explorer and could not have asked for a better stay. We really enjoyed the safari rides, and the staff went out of their way to make it special. The quiet and exclusive feeling, the great game viewing, the luxury tents, bathtabs but the attention and the care of the staff was impeccable. Service in this place is truly exceptional - the hosts, Steve was the epitome of attentiveness, knowledge and attention to detail. The chef cooked up some amazing meals and was very attentive. The surprise for my boyfriend’s birthday was more than I ever thought accompanied by a surprise Masai dance during our last evening. The morning of our departure, a surprise birthday present was made. The camp was very quiet and at night you could hear the sounds of nature, we did stayed in the tent #3 (right at the Hippo beach), we loved our tent and we got to see the Hippos from the tent. The camp is really small and you get to know everyone. Our guide, Mathew, he was clearly very knowledgeable and would take us straight into the heart of the action. He knew where the animals were and if he saw an animal on the move, he would guess accurately where the animal was going and get there before all the other vehicles. Mathew was also an expert driver, getting us through some difficult terrain and positioning us for prime viewing if there were other vehicles around. Under his guidance, lions mating, cheetahs kill, leopard walking, elephants and giraffe grazing. We had front-row views of a migration river crossing and the hot water bottles in bed were a nice touch of luxury on top of the already stellar accommodations.
Explorer is the best place to be......

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joyjoy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
I do agree with you that Mara Explorer is the best place to be always. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay immensely and look forward to hosting you again soon.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We started our Kenyan honeymoon with 4 nights at the Explorer and could not have asked for a better stay. Our tent was beautiful and the service was impeccable. We really enjoyed the safari rides, and the staff went out of their way to make it special. Dennis was a very knowledgeable and fun guide. If you are looking for a safari in the Mara, book the Explorer, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelchickNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad we impacted you positively. We are privileged to have shred with you such a special time in your life.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What made this place special was not so much the fabulous setting, the quiet and exclusive feeling, the great game viewing, the luxury tents, but the attention and the care of the staff. Service in this place is truly exceptional - the hosts, Steve and George were both the epitome of attentiveness, knowledge and attention to detail. Coming back from our safari drives during our three day stay at the Explorer, we felt like little kids who had someone to share their experiences with - George always came by to ask us about what we saw and if we needed anything. David, a Masai staff member, helped me get the type of Masai necklace that I was looking for. The chef cooked up some amazing meals and was very attentive.

They had surprise bush breakfast for us the day of our departure, a barbecue surprise dinner and a surprise Masai dance during our last evening. The camp was very quiet and at night you could hear the sounds of nature. Even though we didn't stay in the famous tent #4 (right at the Hippo beach), we loved our tents and we got to see the Hippos from the main dinner / hangout deck, in addition to some crocodiles and buffalo. We made friends with the people who were staying there and they invited us to go and hang out by the hippos and take pictures of them. The camp is really small and you get to know everyone.

Our guide, Silas, was a little more quiet and reserved than we had expected but he was clearly very knowledgeable and would take us straight into the heart of the action. He knew where the animals were and if he saw an animal on the move, he would guess accurately where the animal was going and get there before all the other vehicles. Silas was also an expert driver, getting us through some difficult terrain and positioning us for prime viewing if there were other vehicles around. Under his guidance, we saw lions eating, lions mating, cheetahs stalking, leopard walking, elephants and giraffe grazing. We had front-row views of a migration river crossing and we were the second car to arrive to see a black rhino.

The hot water bottles in bed were a nice touch of luxury on top of the already stellar accommodations.

Room Tip: We had tents 7 and 8 which overlooked the river - in 8 you could hear a nice sound of running water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendly_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
clearly you were WOWED and this means so much to us.
The Mara Explorer Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We finished a 10-day Kenya/ Tanzania safari trip with a 2-night stay at Mara Explorer. From the time we walked into the welcoming arms of the wonderful staff, to the final morning when they pleasantly surprised us with a breakfast in the bush!, everything was just right. John Parmasau- our guide/ driver for the 4 drives we did was simply amazing. He knew the park well and knowing that we had spent time in other camps, asked us specifically what we were looking for- and even made sure we had a rare Rhino sighting (that my daughter badly wanted). James was wonderful, gracious and helpful with his wake up calls in the morning and coffee at our tent. The tents are right on the Talek River and simply sitting out, watching hippos, or the bushbucks, or even the one leopard sighting as we stepped out for dinner...
The cook and serving staff were excellent and we felt pampered.
Last, 2 minutes from the air strip! We left at 950 from our rooms for our 10 o'clock flight to Nairobi.
Would recommend it highly to anyone looking for luxury in the bush, and an awesome guide.

Room Tip: All tents have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srm33804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
What shall i say other than Thank you so much.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
15.8 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#35 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 649 reviews
14.3 mi away
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
Naboisho Camp, Asilia Africa
#1 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
Rekero Camp, Asilia Africa
#7 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
14.9 mi away
Basecamp Masai Mara
Basecamp Masai Mara
#15 of 140 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 140 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing