We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Save Saved
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“A Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We and no idea that our experience at the Mara Explorer would be so incredible. We flew into the Mara in a small plane from Nairobi and the resort is literally 5 minutes from the landing strip. From the moment we were greeted, shown around and escorted to our abode, a luxurious, romantic and cozy tent next to a flowing river, we felt like we were in a dream sequence. When we went to our room that first night after dinner, we were gloriously surprised that our sumptuous bed was turned down and had two hot water bottles tucked under the sheets, a delightful way to slip away into slumber, as the sounds of the night lulled us to sleep.

The game drives left us nothing to want for, as our guide, Vincent, showed us every kind of animal one would want to see, including a rare black rhino, a pair of cheetahs, and a mother leopard and cub, among all the other wild inhabitants that peacefully roam the Mara. Vincent was intelligent, experienced, and very pleasant and friendly. We will request him again, as he made the game drives exciting and delightful.

Our meals were amazing and the service was impeccable. We did not expect the variety of fresh foods, eclectic menus and high quality. Our server Odin was one of the most gracious hosts and we looked forward to seeing him every day. He took care of us like we were royalty. One of the highlights of the day was to wind down around the fire with other guests, cocktails in hand, before being escorted to our private table, under a billowing tree, to dine and reminisce on the day's adventure.

We travel extensively worldwide, but to say this was a trip of a lifetime is no exaggeration. We are planning to go back with our grown children to share this with them.

Room Tip: We were pleased with tent 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is always my pleasure to be the one responding to such Guests reviews particularly when the Guest immensely enjoyed themselves.
What a pleasure to have been of service
The Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
120
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mysore, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second trip to Maasai Mara and it couldn't get any better than this. The camp is at the best location possible and has very friendly staff - from the guide, waiters, guards to the manager. The Bush dinner was an unforgettable and one of the most romantic dinners ever! We stayed at Tent 4 which was right in front of the hippo's. The tents are beautiful and very well maintained. When it gets dark, its quite scary to walk around after dinneras you can hardly see anything at all, though the guards try their best in making you feel safe. However, its not recommended for the weak hearted, you can hear wild animals grazing right outside your tent or lions roaring so close by! Nevertheless, If you like to be the closest to wilderness, no place can beat this

Room Tip: Tent 4- noisy but awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We are exhilarated that you had a nice time.
The Mara Explorer Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This tented property is a shear delight - the views and the service. The guides are all knowledgeable and in touch with each other if there is a siting. I was volunteering next to this property at the Koyiki Guiding School and had the occasion to go over and Steve was very hospitable -- Enjoying drinks with a spectacular view that is breathtaking. A must stop to see the new tents in beautiful decor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We are so glad you liked the Unit. We are honored to have hosted you.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent our last 3 nights in Kenya at the Mara Explorer and it was a delight. This was my third trip to the Mara and the best accomodation. The service and friendly staff left me with many great memories. I saw the Great Migration, went on a walking tour that was very informative, saw so many of the wonderful animals. We had a bush BBQ that was a pleasant surprise and was a fun evening. We were always walked to our tents by a guard after an relaxing evening in the lounge and dining room looking over the river. From our tent we viewed the river with many hippos and could hear them at night, It just doesn't get any better. I hope to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 2 Mbili . It had a great view of river and hippos
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
So glad you had such a wow experience. The team will be honored to host you again
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Mara Explorer Camp in early August. We had six nights in the Masai Mara and had contemplated splitting the time between two different camps, but as we were looking to really relax, we decided to stay all six nights at the Mara Explorer Camp. It was the best decision we ever made. Steve, the incredible manager, kindly moved us midway through from tent 6 to tent 4, with each offering their own reward: tent 6 had monkeys hanging out that we didn't see anywhere else during our stay. We were also treated to a baboon show and a herd of elephants late one afternoon. Tent 4 has the extraordinary view of the hippos. What we loved most about the explorer was the understated but impeccable service. You feel as if you're in the jungle, but it's the most luxurious jungle imaginable. All of the staff are genuine, friendly and caring people who provide an incredible level of service while making it all look effortless. And the food isn't simply good food for a camp in Kenya, it's great food, period--delicious, creative and beautifully presented. I live in London and eat out a lot and I still miss the food at the Mara Explorer, not to mention the scenery at the restaurant, which is pretty hard to beat, as was the service we received from the lovely Jeremiah. I'd been dreaming of going on safari for more than 20 years, and the Mara Explorer did not disappoint. It is difficult to imagine that there is a better place to stay in the Masai, or elsewhere. From Joseph our excellent guide to James and Samuel who looked after us in our tents, to the kitchen staff and the lovely Masai gentlemen who escorted us to and from our tents at night, our thanks for the experience of a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Guest,
As you may know i do comment on all comments posted on this forum. There are many which are correct that i need not add any comment. This is one of them. So glad you made the Mara Explorer.
Group Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This was one of the BEST vacations I've ever had. You MUST stay here if you want to see animals and be pampered at the same time. Vincent was the best guide ever. We saw 27 different types of animals (not including birds) in 3 days. We saw the Big 5 and we were lucky enough to see a wildebeest/zebra crossing during the migration. We thought we had missed it but the migration took place later this year so we were very lucky. Vincent is very patient and knows the animals and their habits very well. And then there is the camp itself. Wow! Steve does a super job of running this place. He is genuinely concerned about his guests and interested in their animal sightings. He must hear the same stories over and over but you can tell he truly enjoys his guests' delight in the wildlife. Steve loves to plan surprises which makes a stay at this camp lots of fun. We were told we were going to be "king and queen" one night for dinner. As a surprise, they had set up a lovely table on our deck and dinner was served by the staff. This was no small feat since our tent was one of the farthest tents from the kitchen. Then to top it all off, we were entertained by Masai dancers. I actually had tears in my eyes! Another night, as we were walking to the dining area for dinner, we were told to follow the lanterns in order to see a "white elephant". The staff had set up dinner in a clearing under the stars and that was our surprise. But the real surprise was when an angry hippo came up from the river to snort at the chefs while they were cooking! It was a little tense for a few moments but it was something we'll never forget. The tent accommodations are wonderful and the outside bathtubs are a great idea. We watched hippos and baboons one evening from our bathtub! How good is that? Now, I'm saving the best for last-THE FOOD!!! We are good cooks so we're rather picky about meals. The chef is fantastic and also consistent. Even the box breakfasts are good. Take my advice. Make your reservations fast. The Mara Explorer Camp is the best. It should be #1 on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Tent #4! Oh my! Be prepared for 12 hippos outside your tent flap. I had to smile every time I sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Guest,
I will add nothing or negate nothing on this review. I will only thank you for sharing with the World what Mara Explorer is all about.
Regards,
The Mara Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends for the second time. Steve, the manager was delightful and couldn't do enough for the 4 of us. The staff were so obliging, helpful, kind and funny. The food was to die for, the tents were absolutely luxurious. The setting on the Talek river was glorious. Best of all was John, the tracker/guide and his knowledge and eyesight was unparalleled. He found just everything we wanted to see. We knew him from 4 years ago and if anything, he is exactly the same, funny, knowledgeable and a joy to be with. Nothing was too much trouble. We unreservedly recommend this camp as the best in the Mara. We hope to go back in 2013 and we know that it will be exactly the same glorious, intimate place we've grown to love. Really sad to leave when our 3 days were up.
I don't know what else to say but anybody who goes there, will absolutely love it and will never want to leave. A complete and utter joy. Everything was wonderful.
As I said above, the food was of the highest order and the variety was excellent. Steve and Chef organised a wonderful bush dinner on our last night with lanterns, candles and incredible food. Drink flowed and all the staff anticipated our choices without having to be asked. That is a sign of a very good staff attitude. They were always happy, smiling and willing to help without being over familiar. Welcoming doesn't really cover their attitude. Everything seemed to be a pleasure for them. They should definitely be Number 1 in the Mara. I can't praise them enough. Don't even think about Explorer - just go. You won't regret it, I promise you.

Room Tip: The tents are all the same, but if you are a geriatric like me, possible a tent near the public area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Allow me to thank you for taking time to post this wonderful review. It is such a pleasure for me to comment on it though two months later.
We in Heritage Hotels are kept going by the Team. The staff are awesome and in my books, the best in the World.
I feel singularly honored to work for such a Team.
I am truly so glad you came, You Saw and you immensely enjoyed. You are welcome for a future visit and I pray it is soon.
The Mara Explorer Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.