We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chunk of heaven in the Masai Mara!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Save Saved
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Croydon, Surrey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A chunk of heaven in the Masai Mara!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights with friends for the second time. Steve, the manager was delightful and couldn't do enough for the 4 of us. The staff were so obliging, helpful, kind and funny. The food was to die for, the tents were absolutely luxurious. The setting on the Talek river was glorious. Best of all was John, the tracker/guide and his knowledge and eyesight was unparalleled. He found just everything we wanted to see. We knew him from 4 years ago and if anything, he is exactly the same, funny, knowledgeable and a joy to be with. Nothing was too much trouble. We unreservedly recommend this camp as the best in the Mara. We hope to go back in 2013 and we know that it will be exactly the same glorious, intimate place we've grown to love. Really sad to leave when our 3 days were up.
I don't know what else to say but anybody who goes there, will absolutely love it and will never want to leave. A complete and utter joy. Everything was wonderful.
As I said above, the food was of the highest order and the variety was excellent. Steve and Chef organised a wonderful bush dinner on our last night with lanterns, candles and incredible food. Drink flowed and all the staff anticipated our choices without having to be asked. That is a sign of a very good staff attitude. They were always happy, smiling and willing to help without being over familiar. Welcoming doesn't really cover their attitude. Everything seemed to be a pleasure for them. They should definitely be Number 1 in the Mara. I can't praise them enough. Don't even think about Explorer - just go. You won't regret it, I promise you.

Room Tip: The tents are all the same, but if you are a geriatric like me, possible a tent near the public area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Allow me to thank you for taking time to post this wonderful review. It is such a pleasure for me to comment on it though two months later.
We in Heritage Hotels are kept going by the Team. The staff are awesome and in my books, the best in the World.
I feel singularly honored to work for such a Team.
I am truly so glad you came, You Saw and you immensely enjoyed. You are welcome for a future visit and I pray it is soon.
The Mara Explorer Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    182
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
115
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Last stop on our 3 week S. African, Tanzania and Kenya trip. Great way to end. Very relaxing on the Talek river.Loved hearing the hippos,lions,elephants,etc at night. Staff with Steve as manager was great.Coffee wake up in the am was terrific, Quick escorts to dinner (or early breakfast) from the tents to the reception/lunch/lobby area. All tents very secluded. Wish we had the time to enjoy the outside tubs on the deck but the animal viewing from the land rovers were too good to pass up. Great location, close to the airstrip. Really hope to be able to return with more family and friends.

Room Tip: I think they are all great and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are so excited you enjoyed. We look forward to hosting you again soon
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at Mara Explorer at the tail end of an East African safari trip and absolutely loved it. If you are on your honeymoon, a reunion trip with family or friends, an anniversary trip or any other special visit, this is absolutely the place to stay and be extremely happy:

The 'tents" are high luxury, permanent tented cabins, beautifully appointed, extremely comfortable, with the type of bathroom you'd expect from a super high end hotel. Each tent/cabin is seculded away from others. I believe each has river views. Special features are the outside bathtub (again, as you are secluded from everyone, you have plenty of privacy to use it) and the outside porch.

Service is excellent and exceeds even very high expectations. The small number of tents ensures personalized service and the lodge manager Steve does an incredible job of creating magical moments for the guests. Frankly, its as if he and the staff are compensated based on how often they are all able to suprise and delight their guests. Which is quite often. A few examples:

- Our second night there, the staff arranged for the guest to have a dinner in the bush, setting up tables and grills in a groove area a short walk from the camp. Then then arranged for a Masai troope to come in to dance.

- Our second morning, we were driven to a breakfast in the bush, again, with fully set tables, wait service, full breakfast menu. Just way cool and a great way to take advantage of the settings.

- We did a hot air ballon ride our first morning, which sets out from another camp. On our way back from the experience, we shared the car trip with the two balloon pilots. The next morning, we slept in and were awakened by a weird sound coming from outside the tents. Hippos? No. Hyenas? No. Lions? No. It was, in fact, the two hot air ballons we had been on who buzzed our camp. While there is a small chance this was mere coincidence, given that the camp staff all knew that these were the ballons we had been on (there are *many* ballon companies), I expect it was arranged between the balloon pilots (Jon and Steve) and the camp.

Food is terrific. Seriously great. If this was a restaurant in our home city, we'd likely eat there weekly. Don't skip on desserts!

Game drives are great: we shared a 4x4 and guide (Vincent) with a wonderful couple from California and the drives themselves were amazing: leopard momma and cub eating their kills, cheetah momma and cubs trying to track down wildebeest. Great pictures.

Overall, highly recommend staying here if you are visiting the Masai Mara.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent 4 which overlooks a bend in the river where the hippos hang out. We also saw a cro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Hello,
Glad you came you saw and you were were elated
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would have to say this was a truly memorable stay, I have been on safari on four separate occasion and this had to be the best. Ver small lodge with 10 permanent tents all looking out on to the river. Excellent food and wine, being shaken about in a vehicle for 4-5 hurs a day w's a dsaver for the waste line. The staff to a man (all male staff) were delightful, entertaining and helpful, led by their enthusiastic manager Steve. The game in the Masai Mara was very plentiful, leopard, lion, hippopotami, gazelles waterbuck wildebeest. The bird life was also spectacular, vultures, storks, hornbills eagles and many smaller birds. A couple of highlights was a lion bring back prey for her cubs and a short burst of the wildebeest migration. Fantastic. One small gripe no WiFi.

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will have noted we are rated 2 out 89 units in Maasai Mara and we are glad you apart of this wonderful rating.
We hope to see you again
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Mara Explorers Camp for 2 nights in September 2012 and then stayed a further 3 nights at their sister camp, Mara Intrepids. Having been to Kenya before we knew what to expect from a safari lodge but the time we spent at Explorers & Intrepids exceeded all those expectations. The main thing that stood out at these lodges was the staff. Steve, Godfrey and all the rest of the staff at Explorers, Francis, Abby and the staff at Intrepids and our expert guide Sammy who was with us at both lodges all looked after us so well that we really did feel sad to leave them. The food at both camps was very good, especially Explorers, and the tents were very comfortable and we quite enjoyed the more rustic feel of a tent over a normal lodge. Sammy was excellent on the game drives, and was very knowledgeable about the area and all the animals. He really got us in to some great positions and the amount of game we saw was amazing. His vehicle was very well kept, well stocked with water/drinks and was completely washed and cleaned after every game drive. I definitely hope to return to Explorers and Intrepids again in the future and would gladly recommend these camps to anyone wishing to see the Mara but also have a great holiday in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff around you. Kenya has always held a special place in our hearts and after such a great experience on this trip I can’t wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Guest,
What shall i say other than thank you for having such an awesome review for the Units. We are so glad you came.
The Mara Explorer Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If I could move in to the Mara Explorer camp I would definitely do so. It is by far my favorite lodge location that I have ever stayed at. The lodge is situated in the Confluence area of the Masai Mara, which swarms with wildlife (including the infamous Maleika the Cheetah) during the Migration. It is nestled in to bends of the Talek River, providing extreme privacy and excellent views. The lodge is small, intimate, and meticulously run. The food is 5 star and includes a 4 course meal (with desert!) at lunch. The staff was amazing! But the best feature is definitely the hippos. There are several areas in the river where they congregate- you can see them from the main lodge and many of the tents- but you can hear them from almost anywhere in the camp. There is nothing more amazing that soaking in an outdoor bubble bath and listening to the hippos down below. The thought is making me smile right now : )

Room Tip: I understand that Tent #4 is quite famous, but I loved my room at Tent #7 and wouldn't change fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Indeed you are correct this is such an awesome Unit. We are so glad you came and had a nice time.
The Team will be happy to host you again.
The Mara Explorer Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Mara Explorer at the end of our ten day safari in Tanzania and Kenya. I was expecting a high quality camp but was blown away by this extraordinary property. The setting is amazing. The Talek River wraps around the property and is filled with wallowing hippos who would occasionally come by the little beach, just beneath our deck and sun themselves. We also had a family of baboons come by every afternoon to entertain us and once a day, a large group of bandit mongoose ran around tent (No. 4) and played on the beach. It was an amazing atmosphere. Our tent was large and beautifuly appointed and provided us with a feeling of secluded luxury and privileged to be surrounded by these wonderful animals and beautiful scenery. The rest of the property was just atmospheric. With only 10 tents, the level of service was the best we experienced in Africa, or for that matter, anywhere in a very long time. We enjoyed beautifully presented and delicious food at every meal. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Steve, the manager sets very high standards of service and hospitality. As an added bonus, the proximity to the airport was surprisingly convenient. Oh, and did I mention the outdoor tub. Staying at the Mara Explorer was a wonderful way to end our trip. This was one of the highlights of our two week trip and will live in our memories forever.

Pat & Bob

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent No. 4. The river wrapped around our property and surrounded us with wildlife and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
What shall i say other than WOW.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.