We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A true Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I would have to say this was a truly memorable stay, I have been on safari on four separate occasion and this had to be the best. Ver small lodge with 10 permanent tents all looking out on to the river. Excellent food and wine, being shaken about in a vehicle for 4-5 hurs a day w's a dsaver for the waste line. The staff to a man (all male staff) were delightful, entertaining and helpful, led by their enthusiastic manager Steve. The game in the Masai Mara was very plentiful, leopard, lion, hippopotami, gazelles waterbuck wildebeest. The bird life was also spectacular, vultures, storks, hornbills eagles and many smaller birds. A couple of highlights was a lion bring back prey for her cubs and a short burst of the wildebeest migration. Fantastic. One small gripe no WiFi.

Room Tip: All are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will have noted we are rated 2 out 89 units in Maasai Mara and we are glad you apart of this wonderful rating.
We hope to see you again
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
136
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at Mara Explorers Camp for 2 nights in September 2012 and then stayed a further 3 nights at their sister camp, Mara Intrepids. Having been to Kenya before we knew what to expect from a safari lodge but the time we spent at Explorers & Intrepids exceeded all those expectations. The main thing that stood out at these lodges was the staff. Steve, Godfrey and all the rest of the staff at Explorers, Francis, Abby and the staff at Intrepids and our expert guide Sammy who was with us at both lodges all looked after us so well that we really did feel sad to leave them. The food at both camps was very good, especially Explorers, and the tents were very comfortable and we quite enjoyed the more rustic feel of a tent over a normal lodge. Sammy was excellent on the game drives, and was very knowledgeable about the area and all the animals. He really got us in to some great positions and the amount of game we saw was amazing. His vehicle was very well kept, well stocked with water/drinks and was completely washed and cleaned after every game drive. I definitely hope to return to Explorers and Intrepids again in the future and would gladly recommend these camps to anyone wishing to see the Mara but also have a great holiday in a relaxed atmosphere with friendly staff around you. Kenya has always held a special place in our hearts and after such a great experience on this trip I can’t wait to go back and visit again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello Guest,
What shall i say other than thank you for having such an awesome review for the Units. We are so glad you came.
The Mara Explorer Camp
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

If I could move in to the Mara Explorer camp I would definitely do so. It is by far my favorite lodge location that I have ever stayed at. The lodge is situated in the Confluence area of the Masai Mara, which swarms with wildlife (including the infamous Maleika the Cheetah) during the Migration. It is nestled in to bends of the Talek River, providing extreme privacy and excellent views. The lodge is small, intimate, and meticulously run. The food is 5 star and includes a 4 course meal (with desert!) at lunch. The staff was amazing! But the best feature is definitely the hippos. There are several areas in the river where they congregate- you can see them from the main lodge and many of the tents- but you can hear them from almost anywhere in the camp. There is nothing more amazing that soaking in an outdoor bubble bath and listening to the hippos down below. The thought is making me smile right now : )

Room Tip: I understand that Tent #4 is quite famous, but I loved my room at Tent #7 and wouldn't change fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Indeed you are correct this is such an awesome Unit. We are so glad you came and had a nice time.
The Team will be happy to host you again.
The Mara Explorer Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at Mara Explorer at the end of our ten day safari in Tanzania and Kenya. I was expecting a high quality camp but was blown away by this extraordinary property. The setting is amazing. The Talek River wraps around the property and is filled with wallowing hippos who would occasionally come by the little beach, just beneath our deck and sun themselves. We also had a family of baboons come by every afternoon to entertain us and once a day, a large group of bandit mongoose ran around tent (No. 4) and played on the beach. It was an amazing atmosphere. Our tent was large and beautifuly appointed and provided us with a feeling of secluded luxury and privileged to be surrounded by these wonderful animals and beautiful scenery. The rest of the property was just atmospheric. With only 10 tents, the level of service was the best we experienced in Africa, or for that matter, anywhere in a very long time. We enjoyed beautifully presented and delicious food at every meal. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Steve, the manager sets very high standards of service and hospitality. As an added bonus, the proximity to the airport was surprisingly convenient. Oh, and did I mention the outdoor tub. Staying at the Mara Explorer was a wonderful way to end our trip. This was one of the highlights of our two week trip and will live in our memories forever.

Pat & Bob

Room Tip: We stayed in Tent No. 4. The river wrapped around our property and surrounded us with wildlife and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
What shall i say other than WOW.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Mara Explorer Camp is just a few minutes from the air strip when flying into the Maasai Mara. A small, intimate setting makes this location ideal. On the banks of the Talek River, it is common to hear the roar of the hippos during the night. The room is large and tastefully decorated...having a very colonial feel. Hair dryers are available upon request, for use in your tent. The ceiling has a beautiful white gathered fabric covering it which feels very rich. The claw foot tub just outside on the deck beside your tent is tempting and a wonderful treat. They occasionally have dinner out in the open, food cooked on the grill, with white table clothes and candles everywhere. Candles light the path as you walk to and from dinner. This is a very special spot. Loved it!

Room Tip: I've been told that room number 5 is occasionally lucky to see the hippos in the water below the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are so glad you found the Unit to be just as you like. We are committed to making it better and so we hope when you come it will be an even better experience.
Good day.
The Mara Intrepids Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Myself and my travel buddy from Nigeria made one of the best decisions to visit Masai Mara early in August. Prior to the trip, we had looked at the top rated camps including explorere and Mara Intrepids , a sister company of the explorer without luck as this was its peak season. Just at the point of giving up we called mara explorer and they had availability. May i mention that our main aim was to witness just a day of the Great Migration.

We arrived Mara Explorer on August 16,2012. From the moment we stepped in, we knew we were in for a trip of a lifetime. From the moment we stepped into our room, it dawned on us that it was indeed luxury in the Jungle.

Steve, the camp Manager was extremly nice and welcoming, he answered all our questions and made our stay at the explorer unforgettable. I will not fail to mention James our driver, who took us on all the Game Drives, James was very nice and patient especially as we had informed him that we wished to see the wildebeest crossing the river. We spent three days and two nights at the camp and we saw the Leopard, Cheetah, Elephant, Giraffe, warthog, vulture, Lions, hippos, and guess what we saw in addition???.....the wildebeest and zebras crossing the mara river on day 2 and 3 . That was the highlight of our trip. The chef at the camp was the best we had done in a long time.
N.B-You must be very patient to experience the great migration, this is also combined with luck as some tourists never get to see the crossing.

Well done mara explorer for making our trip memorable, to Steve and our Driver James, thank you very much.

Female Traveler from Nigeria.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello,
So glad you came and had time to post such a wonderful review. It means so much for all of us who work here.
We have taken note of all the Bouquets and can only commit ourselves to raising the bar higher.
We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our stay at Explorer was everything we could have hoped for and more. The camp is set in a brilliant location right on top of the Talek River where you can sit either outside your tent or over food or a drink and watch the local wildlife (hippos, elephants, impala, even leopards) go about their business!

The staff were simply the best we've had in any safari camp, and I would say this is what separates Explorer from some of the other camps nearby. Steve the Manager is a brilliant guy who runs the camp excellently - always keen for a chat and a laugh and looking after any issues or special requests. Our driver Paul was extremely knowledgable and a lot of fun, James looked after our room beautifully and Jeremiah and the wait/kitchen staff succeeded in their quest to keep us eating and drinking constantly!

What made the camp even more special and memorable was that me and my partner became engaged (outside tent 3 with the hippos as our only witnesses!), with Steve and all the staff celebrating the moment with us with several days worth of laughs, champagne and every animal sighting we could have wished for!

All in all it is a brilliant camp and a must visit for anyone in the Masai Mara! Asante sana Steve & Co, Tutaonana badai!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, GOM at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Allow me to start by congratulating you on your engagements. We hope all the anniversaries will be at the Explorer or other special Heritage Hotels Units which are all so special.
I have taken note of your good account of what transpired while you were here. This information has been posted on the "Wall of Fame" so all the associates can be able to see and celebrate the Success they are contributing to.
We are glad You Came, You Saw and You Enjoyed.
The Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.