We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience at the Mara Explorer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mara Explorer Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mara Explorer Camp to your Saves list
Mara Explorer Camp
5.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique experience at the Mara Explorer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Mara Explorer camp offers an adventurous, exciting experience that we will always remember. Situated in the heart of wilderness, yet offering the luxury of modern lifestyle, we found the camp as a dream come true. Our spacious and comfortable tent was overlooking the river and we had a wonderful view of a family of hippos and a crocodile, which sometimes came out to sunbathe on the beach in front of the tent. Our skillful guide Charles knew all the secret spots in the national reserve and showed us lions, cheetahs, elephants, buffalos, all the animals that we get to see on TV only. We could feel the adrenaline rush at the sight of them within a few meters distance.
The service was excellent, the food delicious, the staff kind and helpful, thanks to Steven‘s management skills everything is functioning perfectly.
We would love to come back again, and highly recommend the Mara explorer to anyone who wishes a lifetime adventure.

Room Tip: Tent No.4, right next to the river, overlooking a family of Hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    11
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
128
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We spent 4 days (3 nights) at the Mara Explorer Camp & couldn't fault it in any way. The service was brilliant, the food fantastic and all the staff (headed up by Steve) so friendly and helpful - they just want you to have a great time. The tents are lovely, very comfortable and you can't get a better location - right in the bush. Our driver (James) was extremely knowledgeable and we got to see the big five. We would have to give it a score of 11 out of 10! Hope to go back one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

The staff is great, always available and very efficient, and make you feel you are a very special gest to them...
The game drives where wonderful with our dedicated own ranger and land-rover.
The meals were very good and tasty.
Be aware this camp is not fenced, so you may have some wild life walking around the tents at night time (we had hypos next to our tent the first night). But you are safe in the tent. That is the reason why children are not allowed and you have to call via radio at night to have somebody to escort you out...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Hello Guest,
We are glad you came, you enjoyed and left happy people. we are truly honoured that we contributed to your nice stay.
Regards,
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We spent 3 days and 3 nights at Mara Explorer camp. It was a great experience! Our tent was fantastic, the food was delicious, and the staff was very friendly. Stephen did a terrific job organizing our stay and James was an awesome guide. We saw the big five during our stay and the drives were very cool. We truly felt at home here and we were sorry to leave but we have lots of great memories of our trip to Kenya.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guests,
We are glad you enjoyed the your stay at the Explorer. We are honored to have contributed to your Honeymoon being special
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This was the second stage of our safari - having spent 4 days previous in Samburu. We were greeted at the airstrip by our guide Joseph, who very quickly sorted out the arrangements for our game drives. He was very happy to combine the two morning game drives into one long one - taking breakfast out with us. He was an excellent guide, very knowledgable and friendly - a credit to the company!
The drive from the airstrip to the camp took about 5 mins and we were checked in very quickly by the manager who explained how everything ran. We were suprised that everything including including wine and beer was included in our package. The location of the dining area is lovely overlooking the river where we saw an abundance of wildlife.
Our tent was not overlooked by any other and each tent has its own view of part of the river. we constantly heard hippos down in the river splashing about. It was a magical place to sit and relax on the decking after a mornings game drive.
The tents are very well appointed, a very comfortable large bed and good washing/shower area. My wife even managed to use the outside bath one afternoon! We had plently of hot water and electricity went off on a morning and about 11:30pm at night.
One excellent idea they have is the fire pit which is lit on a night - all the guests sit around before and after dinner discussing the days game drives - its a really nice way of etting to know the other guests. The food at the camp was very very good - the chefs prepared some excellent meals with fresh vegetables - which i believe are from a garden they have there. Its amazing the standard that the food was given the location of the camp! The camp is open and two early morning game drives showed how open it is - lioans walking into the top end of the camp! (There are staff patrolling on a night which helps to keep the animals away - however you can still here them on a night - fantastic lying in the dark hearing a lion roaring!).
Our guide was great and ensured that we got to see all the big 5 - the guides all keep in touch with each other via radio - this enabled us to be quickly on scene to see the animals. We saw seevral kills and river crossings during our stay and the weather changed from hot sunshine to thunder and lightening.
Again as with Samburu its great for photography!
All the staff at the camp deserve praise for their attentio to detail and knowledge - I agree with other reviewers about feeling safe - despite getting very close to the animals.
Breakfast down by the river is something we will always remember- watching the crocs and hippos!
This area had a different feel to Samburu - however both areas are special in their own right!
I will return here sometime in the future and would highly recommend the camp. We travelled with Kuoni and flew with Safari tours. (I would not recommend mini-bus travel to and from the camps - too far and the roads are not good).
The final highlight was the flight from Masi Mara to Ukundo on the coast - it was in a refurbished DC3 (Dakota)!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - all have river views not overlooked by any of the other tents
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
It is great you had a great experience while staying with us. It is so true that Explorer is in a standard of itself. The Associates are the best one can have in the World and I am so humbled to working with such great persons.
The team looks for ward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Good Day
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

What an amazing experience! We just loved every second! The location of the camp on the river, the luxurious tents, the super friendly and professional staff and the incredibly huge diversity of animals were just out of this world. If you ever get the chance to visit this place, go for it! The Masai Mara and the Explorer Camp will take your breath away and unforgettable memories are guaranteed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are grateful you got the time to post your feedback on the Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your kind remarks. These have been posted to the Wall of Fame and our Associates are exhilarated that they were of service.
We all look for ward to seeing you again soon.
The Mara Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

The camp itself is amazing, it is exciting to know that the animals can come and go and we did hear them right outside at night, yet we felt absolutely safe in the care of the staff, who could not be more welcoming or helpful. From the early morning wake up call with coffee & biscuits, through the outstanding game drives by day, to the subtle topping up of my wine glass by the camp fire and the hot water bottle in my bed at night, I could not have dreamed of better service.
I have to mention Vincent our driver guide who, as well as being extremely knowledgeable, had amazing eyesight to spot animals that others missed. The vehicle too looked much more comfortable and capable than those from other camps. We saw three leopards on our first game drive & by the end of our short stay he had shown us all the big 5, a wildebeest crossing and so much more. Vincent is such a gentleman and had a lovely sense of humour too, we highly recommend him. We particularly enjoyed learning swahili from him while the wildebeest made up their minds about crossing the river! The option to take a breakfast box and merge the two morning game drives is another real bonus here. I will never forget drinking coffee from a china mug and eating a pastry while sitting watching rival leopards fighting over territory... amazing.
The camp itself is in an excellent location and the tents have wonderful views of the river life, as does the dining terrace. Speaking of which, the food is absolutely outstanding, plenty of choice and so fresh, we were amazed that this could be possible here and can only congratulate the two charming chefs on their achievements.
Within the tents the bed was very comfortable, the shower was excellent with plenty of hot water at the times of day that you want it and the walkie talkie was reassuring for contact when we needed it!
This was our first experience of a safari holiday and we are hoping it won't be our last. Wonderful place, incredible wildlife, lovely people. We couldn't ask for more. Thank you to the Mara Explorer team!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeutifulKenya64, Group Operations Manager at Mara Explorer Camp, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
We thank you for posting feedback on the Tripadvisor forum. We are glad you had a nice time and you have expressed it quite clearly.
We do note the good comments about Vincent, who incidentally was voted the "Best Driver Guide" in Kenya in 2011. He is a moving encyclopaedia and it is such a honour to work with him.
We have plans to make Mara Explorer a better place and your comments will go a long way in making us reach where we aspire too.
The Team in Mara Explorer wishes you all well.
Good Day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mara Explorer Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mara Explorer Camp

Address: C14 Keekorok - Talek River in the middle Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mara Explorer Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the world famous Masai Mara, Mara Explorer Camp is set on its own private peninsula, with each of its ten luxurious tents opening to the Talek River and the stunning savanna. The tents, equipped with all mod cons are set on wooden decks opening out to a private verandah where you can enjoy time alone in the wild away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mara Explorer Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mara Explorer Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Mara Explorer Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mara Explorer Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.