We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a truly amazing place!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Mara Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Mara Safari Lodge
Save
You added Royal Mara Safari Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Mold, North Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a truly amazing place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed there for two nights on 15 & 16 August from the moment we landed at the nearby airstrip to the moment we left everything can be described as truly amazing.

The camp tents, if you can call them tents, are better than some 5 star hotels. We had a family tent which was more than big enough for the 4 of us. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here and their service is second to none. On arrival at the gate we were met by the resident Eland who is domesticated and loves attention. Steven met us in reception and explained the camp rules and what we would be doing during our stay. The food here is brilliant with a good selection and outstanding quality (our first lunch consisted of soup, T- bone steak and desserts to die for). The price of the drinks is also very reasonable with a good choice of wines etc. Meals are taken overlooking the Mara river with a log fire burning in a pit during the cooler evenings.

Thank you also to william our very attentive waiter who could not do enough for us.

The tents overlook the Mara river and on this stretch they have their own resident pods of Hippo and several crocodiles also inhabit this area and you can watch them from the safety of your tent going about their daily routines. Of a night time you can hear animals wandering around the grounds safe in the knowledge that the camp is well protected by the staff.

Our housekeeper Simon kept the place spotless and woke you up prior to the morning game drives with fresh tea/coffee or hot chocolate. The laundry in this camp is also incuded in the cost and when left comes back ready for you the next morning.

The game drives with our guide another Simon were stunning, Simon knew all the animals habits and their territories and within two hours we had seen as four of the big five (no rhino) Simon found us the three resident prides of Lions, Leopard with a kill (zebra up a tree) Cheetah with two cubs and his knowledge of the animals was brilliant. He also knew the best places for us to get some stunnig photos of the landscape. We wanted to see rhino so Simon took us the next day to a place where he said we would get close to Rhino, about an hours drive away from the Royal Mara. On arrival at the place we got out of the vehicle and were introduced to a ranger, Peter, who then took us on foot into the bush where we walked with the two resident rhinos a truly amazing feeling and one which we wil never ever forget.

Also whist at the Royal mara we did a bush walk with Reagan one of the camps staff and he showed us things and places you would not see from a safari vehicle this walk lasted about 1 1/2 hours and was very informative. We also did a night drive with Simon and Moses and saw a different side of life in the bush. Simon and Moses found us a leopard hunting, pride of lions, white tailed mongoose and an Aardvark. The area around this camp is teeming with wildlife of all varieties and importantly the staff of the Royal Mara know their importance to the area and to the conservation of the species resident there.


Sadly when we had to leave to continue our safari at other camps George junior was there to wish us a fond farewell.

I would recommend this camp to anybody, their customer serviceand attetion to detail is second to none. We will be going back there one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    22
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
97
194
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic service, amazing tents,super location 5 mins from airstrip. Well worth a visit as this place is so personal, all the staff are so friendly they make you so welcome. Great game drive, very few vehicles but so many animals.
If you want a real safari this is the place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Mara for three nights from 15th to 18th August..
we were very impressed with the hospitality and the level of personalized service
Steve our waiter plus trip arranger was fabulous and could meet all our requests with a smile.

The guides were superb and knowledgeable .most of the time we were with Simon but one day we went with Wilson and he was fabulous as well in terms of drive comfort .. flexibility and ability to spot the cats from a distance

in our 3 days trip we spotted all the three prides of lions in that area..the marsh pride, the river pride and the peacock pride.

we saw a cheetah with her 2 cute babies .. we saw a male cheetah and another female with her young cub

we were lucky to have many leopard spotting s and even saw one with its zebra kill atop a tree

our night game drives were fruitful too where we saw a pride of lions and a leopard on the hunt.
the royal Mara people were happy to oblige us for night drives whenever we requested them to

the food was simply awesome .. the variety of soups and the desserts baffled us and the preparations were served right by the river an awesome feeling

the guides at royal Mara are well informed hence we went to see the migration/crossing on the right day at the right time ..and we saw a huge herd of wildebeests and zebras crossing

we even took a village tour which was nice

the ever smiling and friendly George Junior was there at the lodge during our stay and went out of his way to please customers .. even offering his hi-tech camera to one of the guests whose camera had conked off

The bathrooms were neat and clean and we had hot water whenever we wanted

A blissful place . nice decor lovely lodge and friendly people who know their business .. i would definitely recommend royal Mara as a favorite destination in the Masai Mara area

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Amazing place. Truly royal treatment. Thje staff loojk after you like family. The food is exceptional. First class soups, appetizers, mauin courses. Five star truly in every sense. The suites on the river amazing. Great views of the hippos and crocodiles on opposite bank. The gamke drives out of this world. We saw cheetah and leopard wioth cubs. We did a night drive and saw a wildebeest taken by a pride of ten lions. We had an unforgetable bush lunch on the open plain and saw a giraffe give birth beyond our dining area in plain view. At night we thoroughly enjoyed the sounds of the bush anhd the hippos grazing outside our suite. Loved the staff who catered to us like royalty. Thanks Royal Mara for the best safari holiday of our lives.

Room Tip: Ask for suite number one. It is the nearest to the big hippo pool at their Hippo Bend and has the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We flew into Royal Mara with Safarilink organised by Royal Mara a day later coz divertion to Mombasa instead of Nairobi but Royal Mara changed our reservations with compliments.

Staff were so friendly from checkin, we met Steve our personal checkin concierge, itineray organizer and waiter throughout the 4day stay. Im from Kenya and my fiance is from Australia but this was the best experience overall as we had been to Masai Mara before but we were treated as Royalty in Royal Mara, with fantastic food from coffee/tea and bisciuts delivered to our too when they woke us up for breakfast, to filling breakfast, delicious lunch and filling dinner (we are a BIG fan of the variety of soup every day, big ups to the chef!!!)

Some things they did different were, the personalised walks we had with the armed Resort Guards to the Wild Mara to the Hippo filled river and walks spotting different animal droppings etc.

We were newly engaged couples and the experience brought us together and now happily married. Thanks Royal Mara for a happy beggining of our fantastic married life.

Special thanks to Steve and George Sphikas JR and Senior

Lotsa love, Faridah and Matthew Edwards

Room Tip: Every room is special, all situated on the River Mara full of Hippos. Each room is named after an an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My family of 4 (2 kids, ages 7 and 8) booked the Royal Mara through Julius Thuvi Safari's (pls see my review on this fantastic and trustworthy booking agency). We went for a 3 night 4 day safari and had the time of our lives. We flew out of Nairobi and were promptly picked up by the lodge from the landing airstrip. After doing some basic paperwork we were shown to our tent/lodge which is only 1 of 8 on the premises. This lodge is personal and friendly. The accomodation is stunning, clean and simple. The grounds are open for animals to roam so for that reason, you must have an armed guard with you when leaving your tent/lodge. Most of the meals were served outdoors along the Mara River. The food was excellent and the smiles aplenty. Food and water/breakfast juices were included with our package but not soda or alcohol. Our driver Julius was amazing and was able to show us everything! Regan and Stevie were amazing grounds rangers and showed us an amazing walking safari and wonderful conversation too.
This lodge is the lodge to be at at the Mara. After talking to others on the plane and elsewhere, there are larger, hotel like places to stay at (Serena houses 300!) but this place gave us the true african experience.
Some tips that you should know about safari in June-Sept:
1. BRing some books and activities for you and the kids. There is some downtime between meals and safari's.
2. Bring a scarf, warm fleece, hats and mitts with you. It can be really cold in the morning!!!!
3. Be patient. Animals are not props, you might have to do some searching.....this is the nature of a safari.

Room Tip: All are great. We had a large king bed with 2 singles in ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What can express the beauty of God's creation better than seeing it first hand in the Masai Mara? What can express the royal treatment guests receive than experiencing this first hand at the Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Words cannot describe either. It is for you to have a taste. Once you do, you'll be asking to return and sending people for their own enjoyment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Mara Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mara Safari Lodge

Address: Masai Mara North Conservancy | P.O Box 260, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00621, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 119 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Mara Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Mara is a luxury safari and game viewing lodge located in Kenya's world famous Masai Mara, home to the annual Great Migration of the Wildebeest. We are situated directly on the Mara River with six riverfront guest suites. All suites are raised upon wooden decks with full mahogany flooring and original hand carved furniture. See the same wildlife-rich areas as broadcast on the BBC Big Cat Diary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Mara Safari Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Royal Mara Safari Lodge Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Mara Safari Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.