We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serian
Save
You added Serian to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Outdoor luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

We had intended to stay in Serian Main Camp for only three nights, however a bush fire approaching to their other camp forced us to return for another two nights and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Accommodation was not only lovely, but private - ie could actually could not hear your neighbours but the hippos at night time. Dinners were lovely prepared around a large table in the lounge giving plenty of opportunity to talk to other guests at night time, the private safaris were amazing and credit has to go to the wonderful staff. Some of them never had the opportunity to attend any formal education and their caring and thoughtful personalities would rank them amongst the gentlemen and ladies of the world!
Worthwhile a stay of a few days!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
26
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We spent 3 days at the Serian main camp, and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We had Tent 2, which had a beautiful view across the river from a verandah. The bathroom was down a 5m path, and although there was only a curtain to pull cross the entrance if you were using the toilet, given no-one could see you, it wasn't really a problem. Likewise the outdoors shower, which we accepted with great enthusiasm since hot and cold running water at all times of the day is a luxury.

The food was simple and tasty, served at communal table, though I would have preferred less salads at lunchtime since I was trying hard to avoid traveller's tummy (though we didn't suffer at all) and although it was expensive local beers and house wine were included, as well as all food and the game drives. We had a number of different guides and they were all good.

Overall, we would recommend this camp if you want a peaceful location outside of the main game park (which therefore allows sundowner drives) with excellent guides and you don't mind the sound of hippos snorting at night.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

I stayed at both the Ngare Serian and Serian main Camp. The tents in Ngare are larger and sit right on the Mara where as Serian our tents were up a little higher with a view of the Mara regardless both offered outstanding staff and service. This place gives you the real feeling of being in Africa – camping at its best - tents with flush toilets and baths overlooking the Mara river hippos. You can hear the hippos from either side of the river. I had never been to Africa and really did not know what to expect – traveled to both Kenya and Tanzania but Serian stands out in my mind. Waking up to a knock on the door and a tray of coffee - superb! Our Serian driver & guide did everything to make sure we enjoyed all of our ventures out of camp, finding all we wanted to see and then some. We saw a couple of other vehicles from other camps jammed packed with people and was happy to be in our Land Rover with just us and our Masai guides.
I was told before I went to Africa that this was a once in a lifetime experience but they were wrong I will back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

A friend that has been in the Travel Industry for 30 years recommend Alex Walkers Serian for my recent trip to Africa. He told me that this was his favorite place that offers luxury but still manages to give you an authentic African experience. Needless to say I took his advice and stayed at the Serian for 4 nights of my 12 night African Safari and it is now my favorite place as well. It really is a place to experience not only are the accommodations lovely but so is the staff. Everyone there makes you feel at home while you are in the camp and the safaris' were excellent - saw so many amazing animals including that elusive Leopard! Don't miss the opportunity for your bush breakfast in the AM Safari. Also, Serian is homebase to "Living with Lions" Mara Predator Project which is dedicated to the conservation of the Kenya Lions - which just makes this place a little more special. www.livingwithlions.org

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nairobi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Alex Walker's Serian is more like one's own private camp. The owner hosted camp's hospitality is fantastic, food exquisite and service exceptional. Being a photographer their guides are very experienced and knowledgeable. The Mara North Conservancy offers peace and quite for optimum wildlife viewing away from the mad rush of 8-10 vehicles of the inner Reserve. A definite for any serious wildlife photographer and intrepid travelers alike. A truly authentic African safari experience!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

Waking with a view across the River watching Hippos bathing was the first sight upon rising, There is nothing like creeping quietly through the long grasses with a picnic feast and driving through the Mara to watch the young with their mothers before the day began, and the hot sun arrives. Seeing elephants, using their tusks to push the trees over, to reach the rich branches of the Acacia trees. Quietly driving through miles and miles of Africa, just my guide for company, as one, after another sight unfolds. The wild flowers that spring up amongst the rich grasses, and an endless expanse of scenery, each one broken by a splash of colour with the movement of yet another animal. Hyenas, Leopards, Lions, Zebra, Buffalo, Gazelle, of all variety, Giraffe, Maribou storks, Hippo, and many more, to name but a few.

This was my first safari, yet i felt safe enough to travel alone , to be met in the friendly and luxurious camp of Serian., after transfer from Nairobi. The staff professional, courteous, approachable and have great knowledge of the animals and my environment. The accommodation is pure luxury, yet natural and in keeping within the expectations you would expect on a Safari. Huge tents , more like individual Marques, i am thinking, arguing with the brochure.

The food was plentiful, and varied and each day ended with an intimate surrounding of either a large dinner party with the other guests after their thirsty day out or "sundowners" a local ride to the top of the Mara with drinks and canapés watching the sun go down ... after a 5 day visit, I was in love with Africa and everything else left behind me...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotonou
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Have been to the Mara 3 times, the last 2 at Serian which was recommended by friends at work. Whether you want to see the animals or relax by the river, this is the place to be. Each time, our host was great and made it feel like it was our own private camp. One price includes safari, park entrance fees, good food and an extensive bar. We were there to celebrate a friend's 40th birthday party and what a party it was!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serian

Address: C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Serian 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bush camp most suited to adventurous outdoors characters in search of a real experience. "Serian" means peaceful, calm or serene in the Maa language. An artists haven and one of the most picturesque sites in the Mara. Located in the heart of the Mara North Conservancy "Serian" operates throughout the year. A traditional tented camp focusing on quality game viewing and providing clients access to some of the very best game viewing in Africa. The migration of wildebeest occurs from June through October and sometimes November, quickly followed by the birthing season from October to March. April May & June offer opportunities for ornithologists and those who enjoy the solitude of the quiet season. Serian guarantees exclusive use of vehicle at no extra cost. This is the key to a quality experience and not a shared compromise. The Nest is a tree house perfect for a picnic after a bush walk in the private conservancy, where guests can also spend the night in the two oval double beds and watch nocturnal game on the infra-red cameras! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serian Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Serian Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.