We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serian
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Thika
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Still amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We recently spent some time at Serian and their mobile camp in the Maasai Mara.
What a delight. We were amazed that Serian could improve on an already
wonderful setting, but that is exactly what we found. Wonderful staff, management, and tents - the Mara river rolling past and African at its finest!
The perfect place to be in Kenya.

Room Tip: If pricing is not a consideration..... cross over the river and stay at Ngare Serian - a more romant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Serian Camp as part of a safari round trip and enjoyed it very much. Service, food, location and staff were all perfect as one could expect from a high class camp like this. What we felt truly was wonderful were our guides (Sam and Bajila) and also the opportunity to do great walks in the Mara North Conservancy right from the Camp. Also at Serian you always have your own guides and vehicle which is a great luxury.
The wildlife was plentiful and very varied and you honestly don't need the migration when you are here! We saw leopard, cheetah, lion, civet cats, mongoose, lots of zebra and wildebeest and other antelopes and gazelles, many elephants and wonderful birds.
The spaces between the tents are very generous and one thing to mention is the very open bathroom (no door - no window). To go there in the middle of the night with only a torch and all the sounds of the bush around you is definitely not for the very fainthearted characters!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great camp, great game, great food and great staff. The team running the camp are great fun and nothing was too much trouble for them. My wife and I stayed 4 nights at this small camp the first week of March 2013 and we had a superb time. Uncertainty surrounding the local elections in combination with low season meant we were the only guests and had the whole place to ourselves. The camp is situated on the Mara river in the Mara North Conservancy adjacent to the National Park. This means off road and night drives were possible. We saw an amazing number of animals and particularly liked the local genet Jen. Her nightly appearance in the dining room made dinner so much more special. A great thank you from Edward Pennings and Claudia Quintela.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Serian Camp Maasai Mara/Kenya

I had forgotten to ask what "Serian" (the name of the Serian Camp in the Maasai Mara) actually means. For me personally, the name of Alex Walker's camp on the Mara River represents one of the most beautiful and impressive trips I have ever embarked on. The camp standards are so high and service, cleanliness, food and security is so perfectly organized that one is free to experience the incredible vastness of the Savannah and its animals in the purest sense of the word.

Alex Walker's staff fulfills even the most unusual of requests: The power supply for my apnea machine was a car battery located next to my bed that was charged each day. This was also the case at the Nkorombo mobile field camp - something that simply must be experienced in person! And if I wanted to, the crew would have carried a battery to the Suguroi Hill Tree house for me: Access is possible on foot only, giving you that authentic Tarzan & Jane feeling!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I recently spent 12 days at the Serian Camp on the Mara River in the North Mara Conservancy and I have to say that it was absolutely wonderful! Super staff, luxury bush accommodations, and great food! As a nature and wildlife photographer, I was especially interested in photographing a wide variety of wildlife and I was able to do just that! Lions, cheetahs, leopards, elephants, gazelles, dikdiks, elans, waterbucks, hippos, baboons, monkees, eagles, vultures, zebras, wildebeests, cranes, giraffes, hyenas, mongooses, antelope, buffalo, hyraxes, kingfishers, owls, warthogs, crocodiles, starlings, storks, and more. I highly recommend The Serian Camp!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent that has a view of the river. And to get the best experience a stay of 4-8 nights is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

From the moment we exited the small plane to a welcoming committee of Dominick (our guide), Dennis (our driver), and a rather large group of giraffes, we knew we were in a special place with terrific people.

We started the first game drive immediately-and the love affair began-each and every drive (two a day) brought something new and exciting. Just when you really thought you had seen it all, something unique happened and you once again experienced the awe that is Africa.

Adrian, Roshin and their staff met us at the end of the suspension bridge with a warm welcome and beverages. As they brought us to our 'tents' (really gorgeous rooms!), we were once again given a natures greeting with a large pod (maybe 30+) if hippos that seemed equally pleased to see us. Thoroughly enjoyed seeing and hearing them every day-what a wake up call! It could have been difficult to leave the comfort of the huge bed (complete with a wonderfully warm hot water bottle), but the excitement of the days possibilities had us up early and ready to go.

We were treated like family (actually royalty) and the meals could be considered fine dining-lots of variety, very tasty and the presentation impressive.

As a first time traveler to Africa I must admit I was a little concerned from a safety standpoint-my family fairly accuses me of being a worrier. All fears were allayed immediately as we could clearly see this team knows what they are doing and have tremendous respect for the surroundings.

Dominick and Dennis are extremely knowledgeable and freely shared information and patiently answered each and every question-and there were loads of those! They made it so fun and quite the learning experience as well. Our group included my daughter, son-in-law and myself. We traveled in a great vehicle with an open top that allowed for spotting and observing game with very close proximity. We spotted-at last count- 30 different mammals and 70 different birds.

Also enjoyed the mobile camp- Craig and his team were also extremely welcoming and provided at atmosphere of fun and safety. Meals once again shared the feel of a fine dining experience. Can't imagine how they do this, but they do!

If you have ever considered an African vacation-DO IT! Alex Walker's Serian Camp far exceeded my expectations and wildest dreams! If you have not considered an African vacation, I would encourage it-definitely the experience of a lifetiime and I'm so very grateful for having enjoyed the people and critters of Kenya.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vorden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very warm welcome from Roshin the manager. Very nice furnishment in the tents. Outstanding food. Excellent guide Dominic.
I was here as a travelagent and have been visiting lodges throughout whole East- en Southern Africa and I can say is was perfect all over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serian

Address: C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 108 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bush camp most suited to adventurous outdoors characters in search of a real experience. "Serian" means peaceful, calm or serene in the Maa language. An artists haven and one of the most picturesque sites in the Mara. Located in the heart of the Mara North Conservancy "Serian" operates throughout the year. A traditional tented camp focusing on quality game viewing and providing clients access to some of the very best game viewing in Africa. The migration of wildebeest occurs from June through October and sometimes November, quickly followed by the birthing season from October to March. April May & June offer opportunities for ornithologists and those who enjoy the solitude of the quiet season. Serian guarantees exclusive use of vehicle at no extra cost. This is the key to a quality experience and not a shared compromise. The Nest is a tree house perfect for a picnic after a bush walk in the private conservancy, where guests can also spend the night in the two oval double beds and watch nocturnal game on the infra-red cameras! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serian Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Serian Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Serian to your Saves list