We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Serian

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Serian
Save Saved
You added Serian to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Vorden, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very warm welcome from Roshin the manager. Very nice furnishment in the tents. Outstanding food. Excellent guide Dominic.
I was here as a travelagent and have been visiting lodges throughout whole East- en Southern Africa and I can say is was perfect all over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
22
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

My sister and I had a fantastic 4 nights at Serian, 2 at main camp and 2 at mobile camp. Both were fabulous - the staff who looked after us were amazing and even after such a short time it felt like home. Mobile camp, in particular, on the banks of the river was a perfect haven away from the world. In all we had 4 weeks travelling on safari and Serian is the place that has stayed with me the most. Even without the game drives, this would be the perfect place to disappear for a few days with wonderful hospitality, excellent food & drinks and a good book! Highly recommended and I hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlexWalker, Guest Relations Manager at Serian, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear Di,
Thank you very much for your kind review and we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. We continue to train all our guides and staff so as to maintain our high degree of luxury and servive- and we look forward to seeing you again soon! All the best from the green green Mara !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Lovely location, well hidden and secluded with views directly over the Mara river. Great welcome and fantastic service, geared entirely around what we and the other guests wanted to do. Excellent food including freshly baked bread every day (terrible temptation).

Also had an excellent guide (Steve) and an equally excellent driver (Onyango), a boon in conditions that had many other vehicles frequently bogged. Game viewing average for the time of year (long grass), which meant that it was pretty good! Great lion sightings specially.

Loved the camp, liked the company's philosophy and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

My family spent an amazing 3 days at Serian. We were treated like Royalty in the most amazing surroundings. Fantastic food, staff and tents. We had our own itinerary planned so weren't tied into anything we didn't want to do. We had our own Landcruiser and driver at our beck and call which was really fantastic. 4 o'clock cake was the best I've ever tasted. Tea in the the tent in the morning and a hot water bottle in the bed in the evening were just some of the magic touches that made this trip so fantastic. I would recommend it to anyone.... young or old.

Room Tip: We travelled as a family and all slept in one enormous tent. This worked perfectly as each tent is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Wonderful five day stay in Kenya. Beautiful views from our tent. Our guide, Steve, and driver, Mikala, were extremely knowledgeable and excellent company. One day I did a walking safari that was extremely difficult, but well worth it, once you reached the top of the escarpment. The views were awesome. The great thing about Serian is that you have your own driver and guide, so you have total control over what time you leave and when you come back to camp. It was great having that flexibility.

The food was wonderful and the staff was extremely helpful and more than willing to provide anything they could. The regular camp managers were on leave, so Sophie was running the camp. She was very funny and it was a pleasure getting to know her.

We saw a wildebeest and zebra river crossing that was so exciting to watch. We saw so much game -- leopard, cheetah, lion, elephant, hippo, crocodile, pack of hyenas including babies and tons of birds.

Most of the drivers and guides are from the Masai tribe. It was great getting to know their culture and beliefs.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Our trip of a lifetime was completed with 4 days @ Serian Camp. Accommodations were unique and "safari camp" elegant; food was great! The game drive were perfect with fun guides.

We experienced everything we were hoping for at Serian. Hopefully will go again this year!

PS- THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT with wonderful customer service... ALWAYS!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

As first timers to The Mara, we did not know what to expect with our 3 nights in the Serian Mobile and 2 at the Serian lodge. Our experience far exceeded any expectations we had, so much so, we asked to spend all 5 nights in the mobile camp, which we did.
The mobile camp, hosted by Mike with a staff of about 9 is on the banks of The Mara river. We arrived just after the Wildebeest migration and we saw nature at it rawest with dead Wildebeest in the river, crocs, hippo's, vultures and other bird life. This may not be for everyone, so if you need hair straighteners or need a hair dryer, we suggest the main camp, but for us, this was the experience we were looking for. We were lucky to be the only family in the camp and quite frankly were treated like royalty by the staff. This is a rustic setting with many creature comforts akin to the golden age of safari, but if you are expecting the elements of the concrete jungle, then maybe this jungle would not suit you.
The tents were spacious and clean and well equipped with flush toilets and bucket showers. The beds have feather pillows and duvets and were incredibily welcoming and comfortable. We would recommend mosquito repellent although the tents were netted. The hot water bucket showers were some of the most refreshing showers we have ever had and were ordered as and when you wanted them.
The staff were so very attentive and made sure we had drinks, snacks, clean laundry etc.They welcomed our children and took great care of us all. No electricity in the tents, but the staff were able to charge camera's etc for us when the generator was on. This all added to the rustic charm and minimal impact of modern life.
At night we felt very safe with Ascari's escorting us to and from our tents as needed. One morning we woke to find Hyena and Leopard footprints....AMAZING!
Now on to the food, wow, wow, wow. It was like eating in a Michelin star restaurant. My only complaint was that sometimes there was too much food! Breakfast consisted of cereals, fresh fruit, home baked bread, sausages, eggs, bacon, pancakes and Kenyan specialities. Lunch was buffet style with ribs or chicken, salads and fruit desserts. Dinner was always a minimum three course affair - fillet of beef, dauphinoise potatoes, rhubarb crumble and custard, lamb curry, homemade soups and bread rolls. All accompanied by soft drinks, wine, spirits, beer, whatever might take your fancy. We ate better at the camp than anywhere else on our 2 week holiday. After dinner, we sat by a roaring campfire, next to the sound of the river having those life changing and thought provoking conversations the surroundings ultimately gave rise to. We also experienced a local speciality "Dowa" translated as "medicine" - crushed ice, washed in vodka, drizzled with honey and topped with small wedges of lime, all muddled with a bamboo stick! Our New medicine !!
Mornings included a wake up call at a time set by you and included hot drinks of your choice, chai, filter coffee, juice and a basin of hot water, followed by a bucket shower if requested. A refreshing and natural start to the day in the Mara, delivered to your tent.
The game driver and spotter, Masai guides, Dennis and Stephen were phenomenal.
We tried different combinations of game drive, early morning/late evening, early morning with packed lunch, all of which were accommodated. We planned the next day at dinner the night before. Both Dennis and Stephen were excellent and knowledgeable , they were very attentive to your group and individual needs and nothing was too much trouble including finding appropriate Mara PeePee stops. They were able to share many Masai traditions and animal facts with us. We also felt they were extremely sensitive to the animals and the surroundings. Not all land cruisers/drivers were, some got too close, some did not control their guests, especially when it came to noise, acceptable behaviour and appreciation of the animal needs! We had a treat one evening on our way back from the game drive, when we were surprised by the opening of the bonnet bar of the land cruiser, by the team, incorporating gin and tonics( on the rocks with a wedge) in what was one of the most beautiful sunset backdrops in the world.
Mike was a wonderful host and the camp leader Moses, made our stay unforgettable for all the right reasons. If your wish is to be at the heart of The Mara, and in sync with nature, whilst retaining some of those small creature comforts, then the Serian mobile camp, with its attentive staff, excellent guides and wonderful cuisine is the right choice, in fact, we believe, there is NO other choice!

Room Tip: Serian mobile camp for those looking for the real African safari.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Serian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serian

Address: C14, Keekorok -Siria Escarpment Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 110 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Serian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional bush camp most suited to adventurous outdoors characters in search of a real experience. "Serian" means peaceful, calm or serene in the Maa language. An artists haven and one of the most picturesque sites in the Mara. Located in the heart of the Mara North Conservancy "Serian" operates throughout the year. A traditional tented camp focusing on quality game viewing and providing clients access to some of the very best game viewing in Africa. The migration of wildebeest occurs from June through October and sometimes November, quickly followed by the birthing season from October to March. April May & June offer opportunities for ornithologists and those who enjoy the solitude of the quiet season. Serian guarantees exclusive use of vehicle at no extra cost. This is the key to a quality experience and not a shared compromise. The Nest is a tree house perfect for a picnic after a bush walk in the private conservancy, where guests can also spend the night in the two oval double beds and watch nocturnal game on the infra-red cameras! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Serian Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Serian Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.