We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Incredible Experience...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Forest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Forest Camp
Save
You added Richard's Forest Camp to your Saves list
Ol Choro Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Incredible Experience...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I haven't even been home yet for 24 hours after getting off the plane and need to say that this camp was incredible... The staff, the food, the views, the camp were all 5 stars. My wife did all the research on where to stay before we left and she nailed it, Richard's Camp was everything and more. The worst part of staying here was the fact we only had two nights with them at the end of our trip after spending time with working with a charity organization we are part of. Thank you Alisa, Thor, Richard and everyone else for a life changing experience... We will be back again one day soon for a longer stay! Much love -Josh & Nikki

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, January 10, 2015
Dear Josh,

Thank you so much for this review. We loved having you and Nikki to stay and would be great to see you both again one day. We hope you enjoyed your romantic bush dinner down beside the river- The frog chorus was out in full force to serenade you guys!

Thank you for choosing Richards Camp as your safari destination in Kenya, it's wonderful for us to hear that you loved it so much.

All the best from myself, Thor, Richard, Lenkume, Sadera & the rest of the crew.

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014

If you want to see African animals. This is the place! You feel in contact with the thousands of wild animals both migrating in August-October and the local fauna. Richard his staff and the Land Rover Maasai driver-guides make you feel at home in the middle of a great outdoor contact with wild nature. Wonderful people who share their knowledge of this area. Highly recommnded!

Room Tip: Limited wi-fi in the central cabin. Very limited cell access on daytrips to the higher areas around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, October 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the camp- The game is certainly plentiful in these parts, and our team of guides are brimming with knowledge about the Mara, its wildlife and people. They have all been with us a very long time and we feel it shows, so thank you!

We have recently upgraded our WIFI, it is now a lot faster. It is only available in our dining and mess tents as you say. Mobile phone network is poor in the camp as we are situated in a small valley,but this is a blessing for other guests as you can escape the world of telecommunications... However for those important calls we do have a spot where signal is strong in camp. Also once you leave the camp network improves hugely, with Safaricom, Airtel and Orange networks providing coverage all across the mara. Most international networks will roam on one of these three.

All the best,

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Richards Camp is a little slice of heaven! We had a party of 16 (friends & family) and they surpassed our dreams in every way. The food was fabulous, the staff was amazing, the camps are outstanding and the game viewing is beyond belief. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are heavenly! This was my 11th visit and I can't wait for #12!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Patty!

Thank you for writing us a review. Can't believe you have been 11 times to stay at Richards! What more can we ask for as a compliment...

We always have a great time with you and your zoo groups, and to meet your wonderful family this time was great, I hope they enjoyed it as much as you do.

So when will trip number 12 be?

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights at the Forest Camp, and 3 nights at the River Camp. Although the Forest camp is slightly more "rustic," both camps are top-notch, incredibly well managed, have outstanding staff, and you will want for nothing! We enjoyed experiencing both and didn't really have a favorite. In the Forest Camp, our two teenage daughters stayed in a separate tent, and in the the River Camp we were together in the family tent, which was huge. We all felt very safe both ways, and the girls loved having their own place for a few days. They also got a bit spoiled with the turndowns and hot water bottles every night.... they've been asking for the same amenities since we got back ;)
The managers, Alisa, Thor, and Elsa, as well as the owner, Richard, were each an endless source of energy, information, kindness, and fun. I never expected our experience to be so personalized. It's obvious that they all are passionate about their country, the animals, and the environment, as well as about making every client's experience special. They asked each night what our family would like to do the next day. Each day was an open slate, and no request was too big for them. At first I was uneasy being catered to so much, but then I just relaxed and enjoyed it! The food was fresh and amazing. We loved hanging out with the other families as well as Richard and the managers in the evenings and exchanging stories about their safari experiences as well as their lives. So many interesting people!
Our guide, Lenkume, was fantastic..... very knowledgeable, responsible, and fun! His ability to find the animals was just incredible. We loved that he came with us when we switched camps and stayed with us the whole 6 days.
A couple of helpful hints... we picked up a guide book for under $10 at the snack bar at Wilson airport on our way to camp that gives a nice summary of the region, animals, culture, etc. It was a quick read with lots of pictures. It's called Masai Mara, the Mara Triangle Official Guide by David Watson. Also, if you have any free time to spend in Nairobi, the giraffe center, elephant orphanage (definitely adopt a baby!), Maasai market, and the tour/shopping at the Kazuri bead shop were all worthwhile. We did all of these things in 5 hrs or so on our way out.
I can't think of anything that could have been better about this trip. Everything far exceeded our expectations. It was definitely the experience of a lifetime for our family. We can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Denise,

Thank you, what a wonderful review, and so useful for other readers to know that you spent an equal amount of time at both of our camps and didn't have a favourite. Did any of you try our ''forest bath'' at forest camp? definitely a high-light for many guests who stay there.

Thank you for being very complimentary about all of us here, you got to meet us all! Hopefully it wasn't an overload of stories around the campfire :) We try our best to make everyone's experience as personalised as possible by getting to know our guests and offering them as many or as few activities as guests would like. You guys were great and really made the most of all 6 days here, I hope you saw all and more than you had hoped!

Please do visit us again one day-

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The entire experience was absolutely amazing, from the service to the meals to the location. The service couldn't have been better, my family and I felt safe the whole trip and the experience was unforgettable. Everybody there was incredibly kind and helpful, I hope to go back soon!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Claire,

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you felt so at ease here, thats what we like to hear! We really enjoyed having you, your folks, and your siblings to stay with us for the three nights.

Alois sends his best to you all too!

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Beautiful accomodations and amazing sights and sounds. The staff was knowledgeable and very accomodating....Basically, if you wanted it, them made it happen. The tents you sleep in are comfortable and beautiful! We had an amazing time and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Richard's Camp was an unbelievable spot to set up a 'home base' for our Safari's on the Mara. As a family of 5 we were very comfortable in our 2 tents and were treated like family by our hosts Kaila and Shawn who went above and beyond to make our experience incredible. Our guide - Joseph - was extremely knowledgable and worked tenaciously to make our game drives something we will never forget. On top of the amazing people the food was incredible for all 5 days / nights (including many meals right out on the plains), hot water was abundant and the beds were very comfortable. I wish we could have stayed longer! I would 100% recommend Richard's Camp to anyone planning on staying in the Mara.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Corey,

Thank you so much for your review of Richards River Camp! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time here, and hope you will find time to visit one day again!

The river has been in full flow over the last few days, and everything is beautiful and green! The elephants, giraffe and lion have taken a particular liking to the camp recently so we are seeing them everyday, which we are all loving!

Hope that you are all well,

All the best,

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Richard's Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Forest Camp

Address: Ol Choro Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a cool and shady forest, which is home to resident leopard as well the elusive Narina Trogon (a beautiful forest bird), the camp looks out onto the Mara plains. Big cats, giraffe and all other wildlife are regular visitors to the camp's perimeter, while hippos graze the lawns by night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Richard's Forest Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Forest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.