We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great start to our safari experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Camp
Save
You added Richard's Camp to your Saves list
-Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Sykesville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great start to our safari experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the moment we landed at the Masai Mara "airport" and were picked up by Thor, we felt instantly a part of the family! The quality of the accommodations, food, and game drives were only surpassed by the genuine hospitality and warmth of the managers, Thor and Alisa, and their team of exceptional staff. We couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the spirit of Kenya! A few highlights from our trip were bush dinners under the stars (one of which overlooked the hippo-filled river), joking with our knowledgeable and humorous guide, William, and meeting fascinating guests from around the world. We also were able to see a wide variety of animals, despite going a bit before the great migration.

Room Tip: A tip for first-timers: they have night watch guards to ensure that animals do not get too close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jackie,

Thank you very much for your very kind review! It was great to have you and the family to stay with us at Richards Forest Camp, and we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us!

William is well and currently studying up for his next guiding level (silver)!

Hopefully we will see you all out here one day again soon!

Take care, and all the best,

Alisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
28
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I hardly know where to begin my positive ravings about this camp. For our party of 5, it represented the ultimate safari experience, a luxurious oasis in the Masai Mara. Upon arrival at the airstrip we were met by our guide, who transported us to the camp, which I understand is the newer "settlement" of Richard's Camp, originally designed as a private camp. The location on the river took our breath away, as did the beautifully designed tented dining and lounge area. White canvas-covered plush sofas, beautiful decor, and so comfortable. The tents here were new; we had a super comfy king-sized bed, and a wonderful open air bath with all the comforts (and then some) of home. Lots of hot water. The food was divine and plentiful; we had dinner out on the plains one night and it was a fantastic experience we'll always remember. Our hosts Sean and Kayla were so wonderful and hospitable. Oh -- and did I mention the animals?? Finally, we saw a cheetah! Guides were great. Can't say enough. We were there 3 nights, and would have loved to stay longer. Nice little gift shop with locally made crafts, too.

Room Tip: Any tent is wonderful. They were working on a new, large, family tent while we were there. It would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Malia8,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It was so nice to have you and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us!

Our Family tent is indeed up now! It has turned out great. We have had some families with small children in there and it seems to work really well!

We hope to see you again here!

Kaila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I visited in April. We saw an amazing array of animals, and I can't say enough about the hospitality. Tor and Elisa (the camp managers) were very gracious, and our guides were both amusing and interesting. All the camp staff put out effort to make certain that we had a fabulous time. In addition to the game drives, we especially enjoyed the bush lunch and sundowners. The quality of the food was outstanding, and we were truly amazed by the camp staff's ability to set up a luxurious meal in the midst of the bush. We very much enjoyed the intimate and noncommercial feel of the camp. Anyone who goes in April should be forewarned that it is pretty wet. However, we very much enjoyed the trip and the upside of Spring is that there are few visitors, so the experience with the animals is more intimate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Karen,

On behalf of all of the team at Richards Camp I would just like to thank you for your review and we are all delighted that you have such a wonderful time with us. The game has been wonderful with many unusual sightings in the area and, as you say, coming in April does mean that there are less vehicles on the Mara, although there is that risk of getting a little wet!

I would also like to thank you for your comments about the food and the bush dining experiences. Our staff are trained to a very high level by Richard and Liz and I think this shows in the diversity that they rustle up in the middle of nowhere!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back and do please stay in touch.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our family stayed for two nights at Richards and we loved it.
We were able to see so many of the Mara's animals and on our last game drive a leopard, what more can you ask for! The guides were really great, and the service was outstanding,
breakfast in the bush, drinks by the hippos, and dinner by candle light.
The tents were comfortable, the showers are somewhat weak in water, and make sure to just drink bottled water.

Room Tip: All the tents have a great location and private , enough space between each one .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Borton Overseas,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Richard's Camp, how lucky with your leopard, they are so stunning.

We have also noted your comments regarding the showers and will look into this matter, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Our trip began with our skilled driver Joseph picking us up and navigating through the fresh mud created by heavy rains. We saw zebras, giraffes, gazelles, wildebeast, and baboons even before we got to camp. In the two days following we were up close to lions and cubs, cheetah, leopard, elephants, hippos, rhinos, buffallo, all kinds of birds, storks, vultures, mongoose, warthogs, hyenas, jackals, and even an anteater!
We had amazing bush breakfasts overlooking the Mara river and at least a hundred hippos below us. We had sundowners out in the Mara, with giraffes walking by as the sun set ( gives a whole new meaning to happy hour). The food was outstanding and accommodation was made for my gluten-free/ paleo diet.
Thank you to Thor and staff for this extraordinary adventure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for your review of Richard's Camp, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. As you say, the game in April can be truly spectacular and the elusive anteater too!

Happy Hour will never be the same without that wonderful vista of the Mara and the Masai giraffe I am sure and we are delighted that the cuisine was up to scratch for you.

On behalf of Richard, Liz, Thor and all of the team we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mara for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited for several nights in March 2013 and LOVED it! We were in Africa for 2 1/2 weeks staying at several different reserves and Richards was one of my favorites. The grounds were small but perfect. Our tent was very nice with a comfortable bed. Nights in the Mara are interesting. I'm not a heavy sleeper so most of my night was spent listing to the hyena, bush babies, baboons and hippos which was great! The food was the best out of all the places we stayed and we had some great food. Breakfast and Dinner in the bush was so beautiful except when Tor forgot the butter :-) Game drives were always eventful. My highlight was watching the 2 3 week old lion cubs play for about 20 minutes. I’m really into babies and March was a great time to see a bunch. Our game drives were in an open jeep that were very comfortable. We saw several game drives in a van looking thing with windows that opened which would not have been acceptable! Our driver William was great. Tor, the camp director was great. He spent time with us at meals and a couple of walks that we did. I loved hearing his stories and liked what he was trying to accomplish with the camp. He and the staff exceeded my expectations. Bottom line is I would recommend Richards camp to anyone and hope to someday go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Gina G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Richards Camp and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us. Very sorry about the butter, promise we will take extra when you come back next time!

The lion cubs that you mention are growing really quickly and we see them often in the area. We are also lucky that the wild dog have been spending plenty of time in the area too.

The camp was closed in May during the rains and we have just reopened with the camp looking amazing.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara North Conservancy in early March 2013. It is a beautiful small camp with 8 tents. Our Masai driver/guide William was excellent and the open Land Rover was ideally suited for the task. We saw an incredible amount of game including a leopard kill at night. Our host Thor and his staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much. Given that it was just before rainy season as well as election time, we were the only guests and therefore had the whole camp to ourselves. Overall the experience was great and we would like to thank the William, Thor and all the other people who made our two days at this camp so fantastic.
Edward Pennings

Room Tip: All tents are situated in a circle around the communal lounge tent so it doesn't matter which on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Edward,

On behalf of Thor and the rest of the staff at Forest Camp I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the camp!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! A leopard kill is something never to forget! March is a really lovely time in the Mara, stunning dramatic skies!

Its so green here again now, all the animals are fat and happy-

We hope to have you back to stay one day.

All the best,

Alisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Camp

Address: -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard’s Camp is a traditional tented camp in true African safari style with a few modern surprises. Each individually decorated tent has either twin or double beds with triple rooms available for families. The solar system provides clean, silent power and 24-hour light to all the tents. All of the 8 large and spacious custom-designed tents feature an en suite dressing room and bathroom. rarely has sleeping under canvas been made so comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Richard's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.