We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The big 5 and more, great guides, great food and an amazing stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Richard's Camp
Save Saved
You added Richard's Camp to your Saves list
-Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The big 5 and more, great guides, great food and an amazing stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Our trip began with our skilled driver Joseph picking us up and navigating through the fresh mud created by heavy rains. We saw zebras, giraffes, gazelles, wildebeast, and baboons even before we got to camp. In the two days following we were up close to lions and cubs, cheetah, leopard, elephants, hippos, rhinos, buffallo, all kinds of birds, storks, vultures, mongoose, warthogs, hyenas, jackals, and even an anteater!
We had amazing bush breakfasts overlooking the Mara river and at least a hundred hippos below us. We had sundowners out in the Mara, with giraffes walking by as the sun set ( gives a whole new meaning to happy hour). The food was outstanding and accommodation was made for my gluten-free/ paleo diet.
Thank you to Thor and staff for this extraordinary adventure!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Heather,

Thank you so much for your review of Richard's Camp, we are delighted that you had such a wonderful experience. As you say, the game in April can be truly spectacular and the elusive anteater too!

Happy Hour will never be the same without that wonderful vista of the Mara and the Masai giraffe I am sure and we are delighted that the cuisine was up to scratch for you.

On behalf of Richard, Liz, Thor and all of the team we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mara for your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garland, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We visited for several nights in March 2013 and LOVED it! We were in Africa for 2 1/2 weeks staying at several different reserves and Richards was one of my favorites. The grounds were small but perfect. Our tent was very nice with a comfortable bed. Nights in the Mara are interesting. I'm not a heavy sleeper so most of my night was spent listing to the hyena, bush babies, baboons and hippos which was great! The food was the best out of all the places we stayed and we had some great food. Breakfast and Dinner in the bush was so beautiful except when Tor forgot the butter :-) Game drives were always eventful. My highlight was watching the 2 3 week old lion cubs play for about 20 minutes. I’m really into babies and March was a great time to see a bunch. Our game drives were in an open jeep that were very comfortable. We saw several game drives in a van looking thing with windows that opened which would not have been acceptable! Our driver William was great. Tor, the camp director was great. He spent time with us at meals and a couple of walks that we did. I loved hearing his stories and liked what he was trying to accomplish with the camp. He and the staff exceeded my expectations. Bottom line is I would recommend Richards camp to anyone and hope to someday go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Gina G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for Richards Camp and we are delighted that you had such a wonderful time with us. Very sorry about the butter, promise we will take extra when you come back next time!

The lion cubs that you mention are growing really quickly and we see them often in the area. We are also lucky that the wild dog have been spending plenty of time in the area too.

The camp was closed in May during the rains and we have just reopened with the camp looking amazing.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again.

Kind Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara North Conservancy in early March 2013. It is a beautiful small camp with 8 tents. Our Masai driver/guide William was excellent and the open Land Rover was ideally suited for the task. We saw an incredible amount of game including a leopard kill at night. Our host Thor and his staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much. Given that it was just before rainy season as well as election time, we were the only guests and therefore had the whole camp to ourselves. Overall the experience was great and we would like to thank the William, Thor and all the other people who made our two days at this camp so fantastic.
Edward Pennings

Room Tip: All tents are situated in a circle around the communal lounge tent so it doesn't matter which on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Edward,

On behalf of Thor and the rest of the staff at Forest Camp I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the camp!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! A leopard kill is something never to forget! March is a really lovely time in the Mara, stunning dramatic skies!

Its so green here again now, all the animals are fat and happy-

We hope to have you back to stay one day.

All the best,

Alisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Five nights and my fifth visit to this lovely camp (previously with diverse family members). An incredible amount of wildlife highlighted by an exciting view of two leopards, spotted by the laser accurate eyesight of guides Sandera and Andy ; good companions in the Land Rover.
Very well looked after by Shawn and Kaila and the members of the camp staff - friendly and helpful, with a good sense of humour. Lovely tents and must mention very comfortable beds pre - warmed with hot water bottle for a good nights sleep: until a gentle awakening with a cup of tea before the sunrise game drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JM Ball,

Thank you so much taking the time to review Richard's Camp after your stay in January. Fifth visit - and we very much hope not the last one!

The game has been exceptional recently and guests a couple of weeks ago were able to spend the morning with Wild Dog - they came through camp as everyone was starting to rise and the rest as they say is history. They are a really rare sighting on the Mara and were in the immediate area of Richard's Camp for a few months last year and are now back again, a true reflection of the conservation efforts.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful experience we had at Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara. We have stayed at other places but this was unique in every way. Kiala and Sean manage the lodge and their care and expertise shows in every way. From the knowledgeable guides, to the incredible chefs and housekeeping, every element fit together to make our stay perfect. We will be back every year and bring more friends to enjoy this beautiful place, which is located at the most perfect spot in the Mara for game watching. I can't believe we saw leopard, cheetah,and lion on our very first day of the safari! Not to mention all the other animals that proliferate this area of the Mara. Every evening the sun-downers and dinner were magical, creating an ambiance that makes memories to last a lifetime. Thank you for a perfect trip!

Room Tip: All tents are luxurious and even though you are in the wilderness it creates the feeling of warmth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you Anne for taking the time to give Richards River Camp a review. WE really enjoyed having you both to stay, and we too hope that you will be back again soon! The rains made an appearance recently so everything is so beautiful and green!

Lots of baby animals as you said! We will be sure to pass on your comment to Lenkume, he never fails to surprise us with what he can spot!

All the best, thanks once again.

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My son & I spent 3 nights at Richards Camp and were treated by Kiala & Sean as if it was our own place. They were enchanting. Joseph & Sendara were wonderful guides out on the Mara during the day. The bush lunches & dinner on the edge of the Mara was fabulous.
The food & company was excellent & the memorable "bucket" showers refreshing!
We look forward to our next visit & recommend this camp to anyone looking for an experience of a life time.
Thanks Kiala, Sean, Liz & Richard

Room Tip: I was in tent #5 & my son #6 all the tents are spread a part and privately sited in a semi circl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience, beautiful tents with fantastic views! Everyone was amazing! When we were out on the Mara looking for wildlife we were always the first ones on scene. Thank you all so much it was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Camp

Address: -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard’s Camp is a traditional tented camp in true African safari style with a few modern surprises. Each individually decorated tent has either twin or double beds with triple rooms available for families. The solar system provides clean, silent power and 24-hour light to all the tents. All of the 8 large and spacious custom-designed tents feature an en suite dressing room and bathroom. rarely has sleeping under canvas been made so comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Richard's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.