We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Edward Pennings Richard's Camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Forest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Forest Camp
Save
You added Richard's Forest Camp to your Saves list
Ol Choro Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Edward Pennings Richard's Camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We visited Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara North Conservancy in early March 2013. It is a beautiful small camp with 8 tents. Our Masai driver/guide William was excellent and the open Land Rover was ideally suited for the task. We saw an incredible amount of game including a leopard kill at night. Our host Thor and his staff were incredibly friendly and nothing was too much. Given that it was just before rainy season as well as election time, we were the only guests and therefore had the whole camp to ourselves. Overall the experience was great and we would like to thank the William, Thor and all the other people who made our two days at this camp so fantastic.
Edward Pennings

Room Tip: All tents are situated in a circle around the communal lounge tent so it doesn't matter which on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Edward,

On behalf of Thor and the rest of the staff at Forest Camp I would like to thank you for taking the time to review the camp!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! A leopard kill is something never to forget! March is a really lovely time in the Mara, stunning dramatic skies!

Its so green here again now, all the animals are fat and happy-

We hope to have you back to stay one day.

All the best,

Alisa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
32
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Five nights and my fifth visit to this lovely camp (previously with diverse family members). An incredible amount of wildlife highlighted by an exciting view of two leopards, spotted by the laser accurate eyesight of guides Sandera and Andy ; good companions in the Land Rover.
Very well looked after by Shawn and Kaila and the members of the camp staff - friendly and helpful, with a good sense of humour. Lovely tents and must mention very comfortable beds pre - warmed with hot water bottle for a good nights sleep: until a gentle awakening with a cup of tea before the sunrise game drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JM Ball,

Thank you so much taking the time to review Richard's Camp after your stay in January. Fifth visit - and we very much hope not the last one!

The game has been exceptional recently and guests a couple of weeks ago were able to spend the morning with Wild Dog - they came through camp as everyone was starting to rise and the rest as they say is history. They are a really rare sighting on the Mara and were in the immediate area of Richard's Camp for a few months last year and are now back again, a true reflection of the conservation efforts.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful experience we had at Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara. We have stayed at other places but this was unique in every way. Kiala and Sean manage the lodge and their care and expertise shows in every way. From the knowledgeable guides, to the incredible chefs and housekeeping, every element fit together to make our stay perfect. We will be back every year and bring more friends to enjoy this beautiful place, which is located at the most perfect spot in the Mara for game watching. I can't believe we saw leopard, cheetah,and lion on our very first day of the safari! Not to mention all the other animals that proliferate this area of the Mara. Every evening the sun-downers and dinner were magical, creating an ambiance that makes memories to last a lifetime. Thank you for a perfect trip!

Room Tip: All tents are luxurious and even though you are in the wilderness it creates the feeling of warmth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Forest Camp, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you Anne for taking the time to give Richards River Camp a review. WE really enjoyed having you both to stay, and we too hope that you will be back again soon! The rains made an appearance recently so everything is so beautiful and green!

Lots of baby animals as you said! We will be sure to pass on your comment to Lenkume, he never fails to surprise us with what he can spot!

All the best, thanks once again.

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My son & I spent 3 nights at Richards Camp and were treated by Kiala & Sean as if it was our own place. They were enchanting. Joseph & Sendara were wonderful guides out on the Mara during the day. The bush lunches & dinner on the edge of the Mara was fabulous.
The food & company was excellent & the memorable "bucket" showers refreshing!
We look forward to our next visit & recommend this camp to anyone looking for an experience of a life time.
Thanks Kiala, Sean, Liz & Richard

Room Tip: I was in tent #5 & my son #6 all the tents are spread a part and privately sited in a semi circl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience, beautiful tents with fantastic views! Everyone was amazing! When we were out on the Mara looking for wildlife we were always the first ones on scene. Thank you all so much it was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Richards Camp is a great place to stay while visitng Kenya and the Mara. They have a knowledgable staff with kind hearts and great personalities. They let you do as little or as much sightseeing/game driving as you want by letting you create your schedual. I cant say enough about this camp and these people. If your heading to Kenya for a safari this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spend 3 nights at Richard's and had a wonderful time. The tents are very comfortable and the food is excellent. It is some of the best dining we experienced Kenya. The daily game drives were both inside and outside the Mara and we preferred the trips outside the national park. We caught the last of the migration so there were plenty of animals seen on every drive including dozens of lions. The guides, dressed in full Masai gear, were wonderful and we the most articulate guides we have encountered in eight trips to Africa. Besides having great eyes, they were funny, bright and a joy to spend time with - they knew where to find the animals and they seemed like they truly lked being with us.

This is a great place to stay on the Mara and Kaila and Shawn are super hosts.

Room Tip: We had tent number 3 - a choice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard's Forest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Forest Camp

Address: Ol Choro Conservancy, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a cool and shady forest, which is home to resident leopard as well the elusive Narina Trogon (a beautiful forest bird), the camp looks out onto the Mara plains. Big cats, giraffe and all other wildlife are regular visitors to the camp's perimeter, while hippos graze the lawns by night. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Richard's Forest Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Forest Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.