We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to visit and enjoy in the Mara Reserve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Richard's Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Richard's Camp
Save Saved
You added Richard's Camp to your Saves list
-Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A place to visit and enjoy in the Mara Reserve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Five nights and my fifth visit to this lovely camp (previously with diverse family members). An incredible amount of wildlife highlighted by an exciting view of two leopards, spotted by the laser accurate eyesight of guides Sandera and Andy ; good companions in the Land Rover.
Very well looked after by Shawn and Kaila and the members of the camp staff - friendly and helpful, with a good sense of humour. Lovely tents and must mention very comfortable beds pre - warmed with hot water bottle for a good nights sleep: until a gentle awakening with a cup of tea before the sunrise game drive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear JM Ball,

Thank you so much taking the time to review Richard's Camp after your stay in January. Fifth visit - and we very much hope not the last one!

The game has been exceptional recently and guests a couple of weeks ago were able to spend the morning with Wild Dog - they came through camp as everyone was starting to rise and the rest as they say is history. They are a really rare sighting on the Mara and were in the immediate area of Richard's Camp for a few months last year and are now back again, a true reflection of the conservation efforts.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sarah Humble
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I can't begin to tell you what a wonderful experience we had at Richard's Camp in the Masai Mara. We have stayed at other places but this was unique in every way. Kiala and Sean manage the lodge and their care and expertise shows in every way. From the knowledgeable guides, to the incredible chefs and housekeeping, every element fit together to make our stay perfect. We will be back every year and bring more friends to enjoy this beautiful place, which is located at the most perfect spot in the Mara for game watching. I can't believe we saw leopard, cheetah,and lion on our very first day of the safari! Not to mention all the other animals that proliferate this area of the Mara. Every evening the sun-downers and dinner were magical, creating an ambiance that makes memories to last a lifetime. Thank you for a perfect trip!

Room Tip: All tents are luxurious and even though you are in the wilderness it creates the feeling of warmth a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richards-camp, Manager at Richard's Camp, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Thank you Anne for taking the time to give Richards River Camp a review. WE really enjoyed having you both to stay, and we too hope that you will be back again soon! The rains made an appearance recently so everything is so beautiful and green!

Lots of baby animals as you said! We will be sure to pass on your comment to Lenkume, he never fails to surprise us with what he can spot!

All the best, thanks once again.

Alisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Ct, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

My son & I spent 3 nights at Richards Camp and were treated by Kiala & Sean as if it was our own place. They were enchanting. Joseph & Sendara were wonderful guides out on the Mara during the day. The bush lunches & dinner on the edge of the Mara was fabulous.
The food & company was excellent & the memorable "bucket" showers refreshing!
We look forward to our next visit & recommend this camp to anyone looking for an experience of a life time.
Thanks Kiala, Sean, Liz & Richard

Room Tip: I was in tent #5 & my son #6 all the tents are spread a part and privately sited in a semi circl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

An amazing experience, beautiful tents with fantastic views! Everyone was amazing! When we were out on the Mara looking for wildlife we were always the first ones on scene. Thank you all so much it was great!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Richards Camp is a great place to stay while visitng Kenya and the Mara. They have a knowledgable staff with kind hearts and great personalities. They let you do as little or as much sightseeing/game driving as you want by letting you create your schedual. I cant say enough about this camp and these people. If your heading to Kenya for a safari this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently spend 3 nights at Richard's and had a wonderful time. The tents are very comfortable and the food is excellent. It is some of the best dining we experienced Kenya. The daily game drives were both inside and outside the Mara and we preferred the trips outside the national park. We caught the last of the migration so there were plenty of animals seen on every drive including dozens of lions. The guides, dressed in full Masai gear, were wonderful and we the most articulate guides we have encountered in eight trips to Africa. Besides having great eyes, they were funny, bright and a joy to spend time with - they knew where to find the animals and they seemed like they truly lked being with us.

This is a great place to stay on the Mara and Kaila and Shawn are super hosts.

Room Tip: We had tent number 3 - a choice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Richard's Camp is absolutely 100% the best possible place to stay in the Mara. The hosts (Kayla and Shawn) are lovely - nothing is too much trouble. I loved that you got to set your own personalized schedule too (i.e. go game driving when you want, go visit the village when you want, eat breakfast out on the Mara - whatever YOU want to do is what you will do).

We were lucky enough to see the "Big 5" by 11am on our first day, but I think that was the exception not the rule. The guides will do everything possible to get you around to see everything and will set the truck up perfectly for photos.

The food is out of this world too and the wine is plentiful! The nightly camp fires are picturesque and the bath tub in the woods is a must. Hopefully, you'll be lucky enough to dine with the Hippos too!

In short, have a great time - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Kayla and Shawn will choose your tent for you in advance, but I am sure that if you wanted to move o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Richard's Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richard's Camp

Address: -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richard’s Camp is a traditional tented camp in true African safari style with a few modern surprises. Each individually decorated tent has either twin or double beds with triple rooms available for families. The solar system provides clean, silent power and 24-hour light to all the tents. All of the 8 large and spacious custom-designed tents feature an en suite dressing room and bathroom. rarely has sleeping under canvas been made so comfortable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Richard`s Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Richard's Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Richard's Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.