We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate and authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naibor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naibor Camp
Save
You added Naibor Camp to your Saves list
Masai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Intimate and authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

No better place to be in the Masai Mara, right in the heart of the park and on the banks of the river this is the real deal. Little Naibor offers surpreme luxury tents with two bedrroms, two ensuites and a lounge- heaven for a family with kids. The food, service and free house beer and wine was a bonus as was the hot water botlle in bed- old school. Dont go if you want fast and furious internet and easy power for devices, go to switch off and relax amongst some of the most beautiful landscapes in Africa. It is a bucket list kind of place.

Room Tip: Tent two comes with its own private camp fire and is out in the end, which we liked. The sounds of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    9
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
93
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

5* luxury in beautiful setting with great staff. Our tent had double beds, two bathrooms, central lounge with various comfy chairs, wooden floorings, hot showers, flush toilets...and all in a low key non abrasive style. I spent agessss looking for a lodge my mum would enjoy, she likes luxury in heaps but doesn't like stuffiness or what she calls 'over the top' or 'trashy'. I'm glad I picked Naibor! We all had a great time. Everything was faultless from the food on our private terrace to the private game drives and the incredible breakfast on the river. Our guide was fantastic.

I have three very minor complaints. Firstly, I tried to have a massage and booked it with the manger. When I turned up at the massage tent - on time - she told me she was a little behind. I waited for 20 minutes in silence before telling the lady I'd be in the mess tent when she was done. 25 minutes later she emerged with no apology and told me to follow her to the massage tent. By this time I was so annoyed and had to go on a drive anyway. Even more annoying, she told the manager that I had never turned up! Bloody cheek.

Secondly, the radio given to our tent to call for guards, drinks, etc worked but was rarely answered so we felt a little bit stuck sometimes!

Finally, my mum doesn't drink alcohol and was a bit miffed to find that the juice was from a packet. She was quite rightly expecting freshly squeezed juices on offer so that was a shame.

Apart from those small gripes, we all loved the lodge and Rosie and would certainly return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Our two-night stay in Naibor Camp was exceptional. This luxury camp was a once-in-a-lifetime experience. The staff was attentive and there was such an attention to detail-hot water bottles, hot camp shower, delicious food. Our guide, Lolo, was a font of information on local customs, animal behaviour and the land. Marcus, the manager, and our guide after Lolo fell ill with malaria, was very knowledgeable about birds and provided calm and peaceful drives. We asked to stay away from the other vehicles and were able to see many different animals, equally as interesting as the Big 5!

I can't say enough about the quality of service and the wonder of the Masaai Mara. I want to go back for a week!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a tent away from the others.....peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We returned to Naibor and stayed in Little Naibor, a family tent with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open sitting room, hot showers, water bottles in our beds, camp fires. Stunning setting on a river bend in Mara with a resident pod of hippos. Meals either under shady trees at camp or in the mess tent 3 course dinner with wine follows drinks and bitings by the fire.
Magical. Kids loved it. Saw everything last time, this time no cheetah but leopard, 3 male lions, multitudes of plains game, elephant and numerous hyena, mongoose, jackals and birds.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Naibor tented camp is the best safari 5 star all inclusive camp the staff are welcoming accommodating nothing is two much effort, the game drives are well stocked with drinks, plenty animals, all to be exact leopard lion buffalo wild dog bat eared fox hyena hippo giraffe rhino wilder beast topi crocks and a partridge in a pair tree, all washed down will five star cooking and chilled wine, hot showers and the most amazingly comfortable bed. The staff are totally trust worthy and genuine Maasai and samburu. I have been twice now and I will certainly be going back..

Room Tip: If you want wild then 'Naibor wilderness' is for you 'little naibor' is best for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Not our first visit to Naibor but, to my shame, the first time to comment on Trip Advisor. We were a large group of family & friends who descended on this delightful camp, which is nestled on a bend on the River Talek and comes complete with a bloat of river horses (hippos) &, during our visit, a couple of new born calves. Despite our large number, the staff didn't miss a beat and guided by managers Michelle & Ken excelled at non-intrusive 5* service throughout our stay; from the experienced Masai driver-guides, David, Pedro, Moses, Daudi, Lolo who can name all animals & birds spotted from a distance; the kitchen chefs (how do they produce such delicious food?), waiters, bar staff (nothing is too much trouble); the attentive Askaris, Namba, Senjura, Joffrey, Michael, Kititi; the young man who filled our shower bucket with hot water each evening after sundowners in the bush; to Yalla who walked us at night from mess tent to our accommodation casually scanning the bushes for animals, what a treat to spot the shy Dik-dik several times. Naibor is very special - thank you for a memorable stay.....we won't forget the Masai wedding blessing ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed Naibor before and again it didn't disappoint. After the wedding celebrations of our niece a group of family and friends flew to Naibor for more celebrations. A fabulous place, with hippos below in the river, plenty of wildlife and excellent food - how the chef cooks up those feast from a tent I will never know and the safaris with the guides second to none. Fab time was had by all, thank you once again Naibor!

Room Tip: All the tents are of excellent quality, at no time do you feel that you are just under a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Masai Mara National Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naibor Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.