We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Except no substitute” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naibor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naibor Camp
Save Saved
You added Naibor Camp to your Saves list
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Except no substitute”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Naibor tented camp is the best safari 5 star all inclusive camp the staff are welcoming accommodating nothing is two much effort, the game drives are well stocked with drinks, plenty animals, all to be exact leopard lion buffalo wild dog bat eared fox hyena hippo giraffe rhino wilder beast topi crocks and a partridge in a pair tree, all washed down will five star cooking and chilled wine, hot showers and the most amazingly comfortable bed. The staff are totally trust worthy and genuine Maasai and samburu. I have been twice now and I will certainly be going back..

Room Tip: If you want wild then 'Naibor wilderness' is for you 'little naibor' is best for a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    8
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
91
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Not our first visit to Naibor but, to my shame, the first time to comment on Trip Advisor. We were a large group of family & friends who descended on this delightful camp, which is nestled on a bend on the River Talek and comes complete with a bloat of river horses (hippos) &, during our visit, a couple of new born calves. Despite our large number, the staff didn't miss a beat and guided by managers Michelle & Ken excelled at non-intrusive 5* service throughout our stay; from the experienced Masai driver-guides, David, Pedro, Moses, Daudi, Lolo who can name all animals & birds spotted from a distance; the kitchen chefs (how do they produce such delicious food?), waiters, bar staff (nothing is too much trouble); the attentive Askaris, Namba, Senjura, Joffrey, Michael, Kititi; the young man who filled our shower bucket with hot water each evening after sundowners in the bush; to Yalla who walked us at night from mess tent to our accommodation casually scanning the bushes for animals, what a treat to spot the shy Dik-dik several times. Naibor is very special - thank you for a memorable stay.....we won't forget the Masai wedding blessing ever!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I have enjoyed Naibor before and again it didn't disappoint. After the wedding celebrations of our niece a group of family and friends flew to Naibor for more celebrations. A fabulous place, with hippos below in the river, plenty of wildlife and excellent food - how the chef cooks up those feast from a tent I will never know and the safaris with the guides second to none. Fab time was had by all, thank you once again Naibor!

Room Tip: All the tents are of excellent quality, at no time do you feel that you are just under a tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Thank you Naibor!! A fantastic experience yet again, a second visit with most of my family this time! From breakfast to sundowners out on the Mara ,fantastic food and amazing service. our guides to the mara so much fun and so knowledgeable, David, pedro and Duadi to name only a few

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment Daudi the Maasai guide picked me up at the airstrip I felt welcomed and in good hands - nothing is rushed, everything follows it's natural pace and all the staff at Naibor are professional, friendly and unobtrusive.

I saw some wonderful animals, and landscapes, and felt very secure and comfortable in the camp's amazing 4x4 land cruisers (which even feature multiple charge points for your mobiles and camera batteries!)

My tent was tastefully decorated, very clean, mosquito free and cosily spacious.

The camp's managers and hosts Ken and Michelle are absolutely lovely, knowledgeable and always available!

The common area has working wifi, cozy chilling areas, great communal and private dining tables and the food was really very good considering the remote location of the camp (I am a professional chef so have very discerning tastes). Everything was freshly cooked and well executed - I even checked out the kitchens to make sure.

At night and in the morning you can have a wonderful hot shower, which your room steward regulates at exactly the right temperature for your liking. They provide you with lovely natural soap products made from environmentally friendly organic essential oils.

At night an askari (Maasai guard) guards your tent for any "uninvited' predators and also accompanies you around the camp - they are also unobtrusive and obviously good at their job because I slept like a baby despite having 2 lions partaking in night time 'male/female activity' not far from my tent.

Oh there is a wonderful masseuse too if you like massages and pedicures etc..

All in all I can highly recommend this camp for a romantic holiday, a relaxing holiday alone or with friends or even for an adventure and discovery of the Maasai Mara! I was there for only 2 days and it felt like a week!

Room Tip: all tents are great and if there is another available you can always ask to move around
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West Rocks, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Naibor Wilderness was the first camp on our African Safari and I must say it was a very good start. When we landed in the Mara we warmly greeted and then slowly driven to our camp whilst making stops for wildlife viewing. Naibor wilderness was very comfortable, clean and secluded, Julius our camp manager was wonderful and went out of his way to assist us. Our first night in the Mara was an experience to be remembered, we were woken up so many times with Lions roaring and hippos grunting in close proximity, it was absolutely exhilarating. Being on safari was fantastic, our guide Daudi was excellent, he was extremely insightful of the history of the Mara and new how to spot wildlife from great distances. We were in the Mara in late August during the annual migration and it was amazing at seeing such an abundance of wildlife in one area. Whilst in the Mara we saw 4 of the big 5, the only one that eluded us was the Rhino, we never actually saw any crossings, but waited at great lengths to witness this, the herds kept building up to cross but then got skiddish and would then disperse, this went on for days (however in saying this we did get to witness this spectacular in the Northern Serengeti on our next stop). On one of the personal safaris we went on Daudi saw 3 cheetahs (these were older cubs, 2 males and one female making a kill in the distance and when we got to them we got to see them feasting on a baby wilderbeast, this was quite fascinating to watch and the way that they prioritise of what they were eating as they would avoid puncturing the stomach as the smell would alert other predators that there is a fresh kill. To some up our stay, it was magnificent and my husband an I do intend to return to the Mara, maybe earlier on in the Migration.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We came in November as low season began but this didn't seem any reason to be greeted by such a lacklustre experience. We were still paying and on honeymoon but the hosts Ken and Michelle seemed oblivious to the fact they were running a luxury camp. It was a couple of nights later when they had gone on holiday replaced by Johannes that we received a note congratulating us on our honeymoon and a candlelit private dinner. That said the tents are attractive, the food, especially lunches, very good and staff excellent - friendly and willing. David our guide was a lot of fun and very accommodating. The lions roaring all night and wandering around in the camp was certainly alarming but added to the safari experience! We thoroughly enjoyed being in the Mara but were disappointed by this camp. It was expertly arranged for us by Rose Hipwood of Africa Rose Travel. Naibor has all the potential to be great - we suspect it was management issues.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naibor Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.