We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra mile hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naibor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naibor Camp
Save Saved
You added Naibor Camp to your Saves list
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Extra mile hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Thank you to Rosie and the team at Naibor for a really wonderful kick off to our honeymoon. Given the restraints within which they work (this is a camp on a river in the Mara), the food is great, there is a hot shower delivered when you need one, the wake up calls with a fresh coffee and some biscuits are welcome at 6am before a game drive and the tents are comfortable and are sympathetically furnished. The main eating/mess area is relaxing and the view of the river and the hippos really makes sure you know you are somewhere that is not central London! What really stands out though is the staff; friendly, professional, efficient and clearly enjoying what they do. A special thank you to our Masai guide David whose eagle eye was somehow able to spot animals that were invisible to us at first glance! He is knowledgable, fun and able to impart Attenborough-like animal facts with humour and we really got the feeling that he was proud to show off the very special place that he knows so well. Well done Naibor, we will be back!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    8
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
89
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This camp is situated in such a great location right on the river and central to all of the animals, you couldn't ask for a better camp. The rooms are beautiful yet they are set so remotely that you can simply disappear if you wish during yiour stay. When you wake in the morning you can identify the variety of footprints of the animals you suspected you heard at night and then plenty more after you fell asleep that happened to walk past (including lion prints!).

As far as the camp and its staff it far exceeded every expectation. The staff many times anticipated our needs before we even asked and they always did it with a smile, they just made you feel very special. The food was excellent and be sure you request dinner at your tent at least one night during your stay along with the campfire.

Recognizing that this kenya location is all about the animals, suffice to say we saw everything we had hoped to see plus more even including a totally unexpected wildebeest crossing! Our guide Jackson was just outstanding and he worked hard to make sure we saw what the park had to offer, he was a great person to spend our 3 days with, we will miss him!

As we studied various tent camps before our trip this one received consistently high reviews and it is easy now to understand why. The food, the views, the animals, a great guide, the sundowners are memories that will last a lifetime.

Room Tip: room 6 is very close to where your vehicle can park in the morning and evening minimizing walking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at Naibor wilderness camp in July 2013, We had booked our safari holiday through Africa Rose Travel, they had put together a wonderful, very personal itinerary for us to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and the highlight of the holiday was our stay at Naibor. The staff were very friendly , the camp was in an excellent location, overlooking the river and loads of hippos. We were very well fed too.
Our guide for the game drives was Jackson and he was top class, very knowledgeable and excellent at spotting the wildlife, it was a pleasure to spend time with him.
We had an amazing time at Naibor thanks to Julius, Jackson and Africa rose travel.

Peter

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I had 4 days at Naibor tented camps and we could not fault anything .
From the luxury tents, amazing food and fantastic guides.
We can't describe how sad we were to leave. We saw every animal and more than we had ever imagined and had food that excelled everyday. We both felt safe and contented and finished our days with wonderful massages. What a brilliant place .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our first experience of a tented camp, having stayed in lodges during the first two stages of our safari. We approached the experience with some trepidation but our worries and fears were allayed during our stay at this fabulous place.
Ken, Michelle and the staff were so friendly, welcoming and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed the company of all the staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We especially enjoyed the private, and very romantic, dinner outside our tent, complete with our own camp-fire, and the complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our special wedding anniversary. Thank you.
Our tent was very spacious and it was with much relief that we saw the sturdy, semi-permanent bathroom facilities. We were a bit worried about the bucket-shower idea (notwithstanding Ken's gentle teasing!) but this was a reassuringly enjoyable experience.
The food exceeded our expectations and would not be amiss in a top-notch restaurant in any European city. Beautifully cooked, presented and served, it tasted divine.
The setting, next to the Talek river, is simply beautiful. It must be the nearest thing to peace on earth, with even the hippo noises adding to its beauty.
Our drivers and guides, David and Moses, were such very good company. They were so friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the environment and wildlife. We particularly enjoyed chatting with them as we enjoyed our 'sundowners' and watched spectacular sunsets.
We had only booked to stay for two nights because of our uncertainty about sleeping under canvas. However, we were totally converted and left wishing we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed here for two nights only, sadly. Had a wonderful time and would highly recommend.
The tents are beautiful and spacious. The furniture, decor etc. is lovely- modern and light. Was dreading the bucket shower, but actually it was lovely and refreshing.
Some great little touches like the hot water bottle tucked into your bed at night, and the coffee brought to wake you up in the morning.
The food was amazing- would not have been out of place at a London restaurant. Felt really fresh and healthy. Nice wine too- and plenty of it.
Pre-dinner drinks around the campfire then the communal dining was a pleasure. The main tent at night is decked out with candles and looks beautiful. My 12 and 15 year olds were made very welcome and very much brought into the conversations at dinner.
Really did feel like we could make our own plan and the hosts, Michelle and Ken would sort it. Just trying to make sure we had the best time, arther than stick to their timetable.
David the driver was great. Knowledgeable, grabbed the best spots for things. And just a really nice guy.
Camp is open but felt very safe. The guards outside each tent seemed strange at first, but actually very reassuring.l
Just can’t rate highly enough!!!
Contrary to other reviews, our host Ken did not dance on the tables at all when we were there (bit disappointed really!!!), and both he and Michelle were actually just really great people. We wish them well in getting the #1 slot for Naibor!

Room Tip: All the tents are beautiful. We had 5 and 6 which were furthest away from the communal tent, but abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Thank you, Michelle and Ken, for making so welcome and giving me a very special stay at Little Naibor Camp. Everything about the camp is top notch and you are a very professional team. Every member of staff was very pleasant and helpful and I felt quite at home with every comfort to hand. The tents are lovely and spacious and the food is delicious. The spa and treatment room run by Mabel is a haven of peace - Mabel really knows what she's doing whether giving a pedicure or body massage.
Excellent game drive with Moses who knows the Mara well, showing me cheetah and lion amongst other flora and fauna. Highly recommend every aspect of the camp and Main Naibor and Naibor Wilderness Camp too. Thanks to you all.

Room Tip: Wonderful beauty treatments, pedicure, massage consumer tested 100% approved! I had room 2 Little N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naibor Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.