We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay at Naibor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Naibor Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Naibor Camp
Save Saved
You added Naibor Camp to your Saves list
Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding stay at Naibor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was an amazing experience - greeted at the airport by Lolo in full Maasai garb, with a game drive en route to the camp. We saw all of the big five, and were overwhelmed by the number of wildebeest and zebra during the great migration. We were there right at the start of the crossing, but could feel the pressure mounting with the increase in lion kills each day.

Great food, attentive staff, amazing tents (how many tents have lounging couches on their verandahs?), and a proximity to nature equaled by the facility's commitment to 'green'. Ken and Michelle were attentive (but not obtrusive, even better) hosts, and the staff took extra care of my two teenage girls with their vegetarian diet.

Lolo was our guide for the three days (two nights) we stayed here, and was knowledgeable, caring, competent, and funny. We'd drive to different spots looking for key animals, and then find an open area for breakfast/lunch in the bush.

Sleeping in a tent with all the sounds of hippos, lions, and lots of other night voices is extraordinary, especially tucked into a comfortable bed with your very own hot water bottle to take the chill off the sheets.

This was an amazing, amazing experience - and we would love to do it again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    7
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
89
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Litchfield, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Recently stayed at Naibor, and the staff welcomed us, and helped us with our bags. After a long day of traveling, we were welcomed by first class people, that made sure we were comfortable and secure. The Safari land, is truly wild, so it is nice to know that warriors are protecting you and your family 24/7. Despite a noisy hippo, which is really very cool, the accommodations exceeded my expectations. Our driver Lolo was knowledgeable about all of the wonderful Safari animals we saw. Even saw a rare Black African Rhino!@ Great luxury camp, I give Naibor my highest recommendation. You will not go wrong by choosing Naibor! Brendan J. Sanger - Attorney at Law

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Naibor Camp is a class act. The accommodations are superb with great care given to every detail. The entire staff are very well trained, welcoming and gifted with hospitality. I was particularly impressed with the quality of the meals; a first rate dining experience at every meal. Located at the heart of the Masaai Mara National Park the safari drives were fruitful with 4 of 5 big five animals seen close up and many, many other species of animals and bird life also taken in. The weather was delightful at the beginning of the rainy season. Our team was there from 4/27 to 4/29/2013.
A big thank you to Ken and Michelle who manage the camp and your staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here in july 2012 for our honeymoon. The staff was great and location was amazing - can't beat sleeping in the middle of the safari. Also helped for the mornings - you get to see action the entire time. WE LOVED THE DRIVES - went twice a day and saw all the big 5 plus a kill! The food was great, tent didn't feel like a tent at all. We are recommending all our friends visit. Only con I can think of was that they didn't have a pool (the location we visited beforehand did which helped you cool down midday) and since water was supplied manually you couldn't hop in the shoer to cool down - but that's a minor trade off for the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much and we are so glad you enjoyed your time at Naibor. Your positive comments are much appreciated and will be shared with all at Naibor. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tn
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Naibor Camp in February as part of a 5 camp 14 night trip to Kenya and Tanzania. This was our favorite camp. The camp is set in a grove of trees overlooking a bend in the Talek River. The lunch/cocktail area overlooks a pool with a large number of hippos that provide great entertainment. The food at Naibor was especially good. All the camps have good food that is well prepared but often times not very imaginative. Not so with Naibor. We enjoyed the variety and the creativity (and the spices). Our favorite experience was during a drive south to the Mara River. We had our breakfast on a bluff overlooking a bend in the river that was full of hippos and crocodiles. (We were too early for the migration but the hippos and crocs were entertainment enough). Our guide and the camp managers were both professional and friendly. This is a mobile camp so you have bucket showers and solar powered lighting. Be sure to bring your own flashlight as the interior of the tents can be dim after sunset.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive response, we are so glad you enjoyed your time and will share your comments with all at Naibor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I visited Naibor Camp with my girlfriend and three friends on the 5th & 6th of January 2013. Her friends, who live and work in Nairobi, had recommended Naibor to us and the place lived up to their descriptions of it, it was a plus to have them along on the trip. Right from the pick up at the Olkiombo Airstrip the service was top class. The vehicles were well serviced and comfortable and our assigned Maasai driver, Sammi, was friendly and extremely knowledgable - keen to get us sightings of animals but also able to talk readily about their habits and ecology. The camp managers, Ivan & Kim were great hosts, eager to please and available from early morning til lights out.
We lived like kings in the amazingly well kitted out tents (seems a shame to call such luxury "tents"), I couldn't believe that they had flushing toilets! In a camp in the bush! The tents had good showers, mosquito nets and the beds were clean and comfortable. We had a sitting area outside the tent overlooking the river, from where we could watch hippos swimming by. I am not a birdwatcher but even I started to use up a major amount of camera memory just on the birdlife outside the tent. Oh, and we found that the tents are waterproof, it rained a bit during our visit, but no leaks.
The food and drink were superb, the food would be difficult to beat in many a city. The mess tent with its candles, hurricane lamps and such just added to the atmosphere, it was most enjoyable and not all the winged visitors were mozzies, we had moths which in turn attracted bats - all good fun, well I thought so.....
During mealtimes in camp we were serenaded by hippos from the nearby Talek river, so close that their calls could be felt as well as heard.
During the hours of darkness it is camp policy for guests to be escorted around camp by Maasai warriors, this is not for show, unlike other camps Naibor is unfenced - animals can and do wander through the camp, ok if they're small antelope or mongoose but having a Maasai close by is very reassuring when you can hear larger animals on the move.
On the game drives Sammi our guide found lions, cheetahs (mum and her 3 cubs), a leopard and her cubs, hyena, bat-eared foxes plus elephants, buffalo and giraffe. We saw loads of game, the Maasai Mara is amazing in terms of the amount and variety of game, absolutely amazing. I was pleased to see just a few other vehicles about, it seems the Mara only really gets crowded around the main wildebeest migrations.The whole game-viewing experience is lifted even further for Naibor clients by the provision of bush breakfasts in the morning and stops for sundowners during the evening drives. Sitting watching lions only meters from the vehicle, camera in one hand - glass of chilled white wine in the other is surreal and highly enjoyable.
Naibor Camp was recommended to my girfriend and I by friends of hers and we were not disappointed by our time there, the time flew by and I wish that we could have stayed for a week or more. If you are seriously considering a trip to the Masai Mara I can and will heartily recommend that you consider staying at Naibor or Little Naibor (they are side by side) - I don't believe that you will be disappointed by the place, the people or the Mara itself.

Room Tip: Tent #1 is closest to the hippo pool on the Talek, don't worry, it's on a small bluff overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive response, we are so glad you enjoyed your time and will share your comments with all at Naibor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at The Naibor Camp for three nights in December, 2012. For the first two nights we shared the entire camp with only one other couple and the camp managers Ivan and Kim. we felt very welcome and enjoyed our meals together as the other couple were a great chat and we all got along really well. We had the entire camp to ourselves on the last night of our stay. To say we were spoilt is an understatement.

Ivan and Kim are doing a great job of running this camp. They are both very engaging in their guests and share a lot of knowledge about the Mara and will even offer you a few home made chili sauces for your meal....It a shame you can't buy Ivan's sauces in the supermarket!

Everything about Naibor was well above our expectations, including the delicious and carefully prepared meals, the outstanding service from all the staff and the overall organisation and attention to detail of the entire camp.

Our guide Daudi was full of knowledge and provided us with an experience we'll never forget. We saw so many animals right from the moment we left camp and his ability to spot animals from miles away was nothing less than amazing.

This is a great camp and certainly recommended for those looking to travel in style in the heart of the Mara National Reserve with wildlife at your doorstep. They even had 32 hippos living in the river which is looked over during breakfast and lunch! There is also a family of dwarf mongoose living in the camp which are great fun to watch whilst eating your gourmet lunches and breakfasts!

Well done Naibor.

Room Tip: Naibor Wilderness tents is a little further away from the main camp. I would recommend it for larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SmallWorldMarketing, Public Relations Manager at Naibor Camp, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive response, we are so glad you enjoyed your time and will share your comments with all at Naibor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Naibor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naibor Camp

Address: Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Naibor, set in the heart of the Mara Reserve on the Talek River, offers a standard of comfort and personal attention that brings “camping” into a new dimension! Minutes from the famed migration crossings and completely surrounded by game, Naibor is luxury and relaxation. 7 tents in Main Naibor and 2 Little Naibor suites are complemented by the spa, fine dining, and a high standard of service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Naibor Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Naibor Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naibor Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.