We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leleshwa Camp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Leleshwa Camp to your Saves list
Leleshwa Camp
C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was not keen on taking an African safari with my fiancee as it was never really on my bucket list. However, as we arrived to camp after a long drive and were greeted with chilled orange juice and cold face towels to cool down I immediately realized that we may be in for a real treat!

The camp was absolutely amazing and exceeded all my expectations. Luxury at it's finest in the middle of the jungle. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent (equally good, if not better than most high end restaurants here in Montreal) and the daily activities were fascinating.

Truly an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had another great trip to Leleshwa. From sunset cocktails to spectacular tents to first-class accommodations, this is the way to experience the Masai Mara at its best. The food was great and having a hot shower after a long day in the Mara (despite being in a tented camp) makes this hard to call "camping". Brought several work colleagues here for the first time and many are already talking about bringing family/friends back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Was here on my birthday Jan 10-13. The camp is so beautiful located in the Siana Conservancy. The staff is now like family to me and already looking for my return. The tents are beautiful, the grounds captivating, the food 5 star. David was my personal guide with Sopia as my spotter, yep I was blessed to see the big 5 in one day. If you go nowhere else you must go here

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Three nights and four days at Leleshwacamp ... Named after a tree in the Mara bush... There were leleshwa leaves left at our bedside, on our linens, as a greeting, and a lovely gift on our arrival.
We were met at the airstrip by two Maasai warriors, Julian and Rinka, who drove us to the camp, all the while explaining their culture and what we were seeing en route in excellent English. They stayed with us, taking us on game drives, walking trips, along with eating at our table. We even visited one of their families' villages, dancing with the men and women, and being invited into a home in the boma.
Our relief Manager, Andy, was most hospitable and informative.
Our tent was definitely a 5-star, with a flush toilet and hot water available in thr mornings and evenings. The game drives always involved a sundowner (cocktails at sunset, and or dinner) and we could also have an early breakfast picnic drive. Most memorable was our late night drives.
Everyone was ready for any type of activity we desired.
Our children had two babies under two, and they were welcomed and cherished by the very friendly Kenyans.
The food was fabulous, always fresh and plentiful.
The other guests had their own guides, and dinner in the dining tent was always fun to swap stories, and later by the fire.
Nothing could surpass this vacation of a lifetime.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed in Leleshwa Camp in December with my family of five - two adults and three kids aged 11(boy), 7 and 3.5 (girls). We had a fantastic holiday!! It was exactly what we were hoping for and more. We wanted a holiday in the Mara which was engaging for the kids beyond the game drive and pool experience. From the moment we arrived at the camp we felt like we were visiting friend in their fabulous camp. The atmosphere was so relaxed and the kids were not made to feel like they were in the way of any guests. There was adequate space for the kids to play without being in the way of other guests as they might be in a hotel lobby etc. The kids were also kept engaged with activities when they were not on game drives. They had bow and arrow making and archery which my older two kids absolutely loved! The girls had a bead making session with two Maasai ladies.

We enjoyed the sundowners in the conservancy, the game drives in the Mara, the long walks, the food, the friendships, the whole expereince


The staff at Leleshwa Camp were not only knowledgeable but also very pleasant and friendly. We had Simon as our tour guide and Pere as our Maasai tracker and they were both amazing!! Andy the Manager and his team at Leleshwa Camp are doing fantastic job and I cannot recommend this camp enough for anyone looking for a unique experience of the Mara.

We booked directly with Leleshwa Camp's Nairobi office. I would like to request that they consider enabling their customers to pay by credit card as it was a little inconvenient having to deposit the money into their bank account.

If you want to visit the Mara, don't hesitate to go to Leleshwa Camp!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned back from the family holiday of a lifetime in Kenya. To celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary we pushed the boat out and took our 2 children (7,5) to Kenya for half term.

Following a friends recommendation, we booked the trip through Natural Habitat Safaris - planning a few days on Safari and then 5 days at Watamu on the coast.

As a rule we're not very good a booking holidays - we seem to spend longer trying to work out where to go and worrying about making the wrong decision then we do actually on holiday. This time we had none of that and it was bliss! The team at Natural Habitat Safaris were amazing - they took care of everything for us.

We'd read some brilliant reviews about Leleshwa and so our expectations were pretty high - but the words and a few photos had not really prepared us for the magical time we had at the camp and with their team on Safari.

On the way to the camp we drove across plains filled with zebra, wildebeest and gazelle, all our eyes popping out of the heads. We then dipped down into the trees before parking up beside the bridge to the camp - across which our hosts came greeting us with the warmest smiles and coolest flannels.

It was the start of an unforgettable few days being looked after by the loveliest people, seeing the most amazing sights, eating delicious food, laughing lots and seeing out children loving every moment.

There happened to be 2 other families and on the second day all our children were treated to an art and craft session with 2 lovely Masai ladies. They were in heaven, painting and making beaded necklaces and bracelets.

As for the safari's - WOW. The Leleshwa guides really know the area, the fauna, the flora and how to show you the real wild - avoiding the crowds and taking you to the most beautiful spots and the best sites for seeing the animals. This time we did not see a rhino but we saw everything else - without chasing anything we simply stumbled across them.

I could spend hours sharing stories of our time at Leleshwa but the only way to really share it is to encourage you to go too.

Sundowners overlooking paradise, marshmallows one the fire, happy children and a million more memories...

I don't know if we'll be able to wait another 10 years to go again. We all loved it!!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the family tents - but they all looked lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed 2.5 wks on safari, been to multiple camps and lodges but this one was superior compared to it all. mark and jeanine really did a great job at making you feel welcome and a relaxed atmosphere. anything you want, whenever you want it. doesn't get any better than this

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maasai Mara National Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
6.8 mi away
Porini Mara Camp
Porini Mara Camp
#1 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sarova Mara Game Camp
Sarova Mara Game Camp
#2 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Mara Explorer Camp
Mara Explorer Camp
#9 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 247 reviews
6.6 mi away
Kilima Camp
Kilima Camp
#49 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
16.5 mi away
Mara Intrepids Club
Mara Intrepids Club
#24 of 133 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leleshwa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleshwa Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 133 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleshwa Camp is an intimate tented camp situated on the Siana Conservancy on the North–Eastern edge of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya. Resting along a stream valley overlooking picturesque hills and rolling plains dotted with resident game, Leleshwa Camp seeks to give its guests an authentic African experience. The camp offers simplistic elegance and style in a relaxed environment with six spacious permanent tents privately situated and designed to blend in naturally with the surrounding nature.We also offer a private traditional Mobile Tented Camp, also with six spacious ensuite tents that can be located anywhere in Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Leleshwa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleshwa Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leleshwa Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.