We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leleshwa Camp

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Leleshwa Camp to your Saves list
Leleshwa Camp
C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“absolutely the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

stayed 2.5 wks on safari, been to multiple camps and lodges but this one was superior compared to it all. mark and jeanine really did a great job at making you feel welcome and a relaxed atmosphere. anything you want, whenever you want it. doesn't get any better than this

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I travelled to Leleshwa Camp as part of a holiday with my sister and her two teenage children who were in Kenya for the first time. This Mara trip came at the end of the holiday and we loved it! Apart from getting lost on the way (make sure you get directions from staff) - it was fantastic in every way. We drove from Nairobi and arrived a bit late but lunch was waiting for us, and we were welcomed by Janine and Mark who manage the camp. Hot and dusty we retired to our very spacious family tent, which they had set up for the 4 of us. Home made biscuits awaited, and then we were off on a game drive in the conservancy, driving amongst giraffe in huge numbers. We even saw a Tommy chasing a jackal! William Ole Siara, our professional guide, with his assistant David, were extremely knowledgeable. They got a fire going and we sat star gazing and listening to the sounds of the night. Magical! Oh, and having a sundowner with delicious honey-roasted cashew nuts. We returned by 8 for dinner round a large table whereupon we met the other guests. The next morning we were up with the larks at 5.30, woken by a cup of our choice, and then drove the short distance to the Mara. We saw lions at very close proximity, also many elephant, thousands of wildebeest and zebra, hippos, crocodiles, an amazing day out including a bush breakfast under a tree and lunch in view of the Mara river.... Unfortunately we missed the animals crossing the river - very disappointing - but we saw them queuing up on the other side! That evening we slept early and rose for a brief walk near the camp before breakfast - what should we see but 2 elephants browsing in the bush! After a delicious breakfast we left for Nairobi, with heavy hearts. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We spent here just one night. I wish we could stay more. Managers, Janine and Mark, are so nice and careful that you feel like at home. Food and tents are exellent. In the night you can hear lots of animals and even when we walked back to the tent after dinner we heard a hyena. Amazing! We had a great time walking in the bush in the morning (with local guide of course! Otherwise I couldn't write it from the lion's stomach), saw wildebeests, zebras and Thomson's gazelles quite close and also footprints of lion and hyena, and have learnt a lot about animal's habits. Guides are very friendly and share their knowledges with guests. Lelshwa is really worth to stay at. You may spend time between game drives in privacy at the verandah of your tent, or if you want a company common area is also very nice (especially home made cookies). But what i can highlight the most is a great hospitality and exellent food. The only negative thing is that our verandah didn't have any view at all, just high bush. Anyway I'm sure all guests will have a great time there at Leleshwa.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I recently went to Leleshwa as part of my honeymoon and I can not rate the experience highly enough. We far preferred the exclusivity of the reserve to the already excellent Mara. There was a real element of romance in the 'old africa' feel of the place and the staff/guides knew the perfect balance between being helpful and friendly and when to give us our space. All in all an 11 out of 10 experience. Thankyou very much everybody!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This camp, located outside of the national park, offers a pristine place to stay. It has more of a natural feel to it than other camps. Animals surround the camp providing for wonderful sounds during the night. The guides are flexible about times of game rides but recommend the best times of day and night. Of course, game drives are what we all want to see and there was no disappointment there, but our wonderful guide, William and our Maasai spotter, Ringa, provided us with an incredible rich experience. We were granted our wishes to see health care facilities. Upon meeting a fellow physician struggling to help the locals, we donated solar panels to provide electricity. It was an inspiration to see a fully stocked dental clinic and learn about their outreach to school children.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I've been fortunate to now have gone on 4 safaris in different parts of Africa (Kenya, Uganda, Botswana and South Africa). Nothing tops Leleshwa. The accommodations are top-notch and the service is outstanding. Because they have their own reservation, you are truly enjoying all the wilderness has to offer, but in a very safe manner. I have very high expectations and I cannot recommend this place enough. If you only have the opportunity to go on one safari in your lifetime, go to Leleshwa. If you go on other safaris, they will all seem like a disappointment compared to Leleshwa. It's beautiful, it's comfortable, it's clean, it's safe. It's simply superb.

Room Tip: I stayed in the honeymoon suite....which was pretty sweet! :) Also - please note that I traveled in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maseru, Lesotho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Leleshwa is a wonderful, peaceful camp with an excellent staff. David and Kayok were the best ever! The food is superb and the tents very comfortable. Since I was the only one in camp, I was very fortunate to have a special night drive and saw lions and hyenas fighting over a wildebeast kill! It was unforgetable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Leleshwa Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leleshwa Camp

Address: C12 Keekorok - NE Masai Mara Reserve, Maasai Mara National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leleshwa Camp is an intimate tented camp situated on the Siana Conservancy on the North–Eastern edge of the Maasai Mara Game Reserve in Kenya. Resting along a stream valley overlooking picturesque hills and rolling plains dotted with resident game, Leleshwa Camp seeks to give its guests an authentic African experience. The camp offers simplistic elegance and style in a relaxed environment with six spacious permanent tents privately situated and designed to blend in naturally with the surrounding nature.We also offer a private traditional Mobile Tented Camp, also with six spacious ensuite tents that can be located anywhere in Kenya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Leleshwa Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leleshwa Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leleshwa Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.