We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome camp in mara! Worth splashing out for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Save Saved
You added Governors' Il Moran Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Awesome camp in mara! Worth splashing out for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Il moran was recommended by a family member and I could not praise this camp enough. My wife and I just came back from a 4day masai trip.

Our game drives were amazing and we saw every big animal one would want to. Baby lions, male lion, black rhino, baby elephants, lion having breakfast after a night kill (circle of life!) baby elephant protected by mother elephant, lions playing with each other, and the list can go on. Our driver kantai was amazing and recommended.

Only having 10camps means personal service. Our dietary needs we're catered to everyday by Lilian and the other 2 chefs. Thanks again for the lovely veggie meals. Normally food would not be priority when coming to the mara, but this camp has delicious daily meals...

I would now like to try the cheaper governor camps and see what is the difference as I am told the service is similar, though camps not as luxurious as this one.

No mosq bites at all and a first for me!!

Eating outside next to the mara river was nice with the croc and hippo's!

This camp would be considered as a glamp, and the wifeys will not be disappointed!!

Ballooning on the mara is a must even though a ill pricey. Worth the splurge though for sure and the champagne breakkie with pancake live station after the balloon was amazing.

As you can tell, not any negatives at this camp.

Room Tip: All the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had the most amazing time...3 nights in October were absolutely perfect. Our driver Simon was incredible and made sure we saw all we could. Overall, the staff was excellent, some of the friendliest service we've ever had. This place is not to be missed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Il Moran as part of our honeymoon in July and the whole experience was superb. Can't fault the 'tents' with their space, hammocks, ambiance, views and the overall level of service.

The food was also a positive as we enjoyed just about everything we had and we are foodies.

Of course the best part about the whole trip were the game drives and we were not disappointed. We were there during migration season and got to see just about everything including a river crossing and all of the big five during our 3 nights at the camp. The drives are amazing and in the mornings you can opt for the longer drives which go from 6:30 to about noonish. You have breakfast in the bush and are back for lunch. Our guide Richard was great.

All in all this was a superb safari experience and can't wait to do it again in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the camp for three nights in September - we had never been on a safari before and were totally wowed.
The tents are beautiful and face out onto the Mara river - listening to the hippos at night was magical.
The staff and service were amazing, first class! I am a vegetarian and I LOVED the food!
Our driver was Enos - he went above and beyond the call in our mind and was just absolutely brilliant and we loved being in his company. We felt like we learned a lot from him over the course of the drives. We saw the big five and a crossing and were delighted!!!
Loved the little gifts we were given in the room, hot water bottles at night, tea and biscuits delivered to the room at dawn - the whole thing was bliss!!
Highly recommend this camp to anyone and hope to revisit some day soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We enjoyed stays at three Governor’s Lodges in Kenya and are very happy to review all of them individually, but at the outset would like to compliment the owners on three very different settings and styles. All shared in common the wonderful staff, magnificent settings, and excellent food.

Looking out from out “tent” we could see amongst other wildlife, a female crocodile with eggs, and baby hippos, and that was before we ventured into the Mara. “Tent” does not adequately describe the spacious and luxurious accommodation we enjoyed.

The Mara was everything we had hoped for and yielded up all of the “Big 5”, except Black Rhino which we had seen earlier on our trip. Our driver, Richard, worked hard to show us what we wanted to see and even took us to a spot to see masses of Wildebeest crossing the river where, unfortunately, one fell prey to a crocodile. However, all the staff were extremely helpful and it would be wrong to single out any one individual.

Initially, we were unsure of the need for Guards to escort us during the dark hours, but two things proved the necessity. One morning I was shown footprints of Buffalo, made the previous night, alongside one of the tents, and another evening we saw Leopards just outside the unmarked boundary of the camp. Yes, it really is that wild.

Mention should perhaps be made of the visit to the local Masai village, which we felt lacked authenticity. To us it appeared to be something put on for the tourist only.

Thank you, and please may we return?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in September for the first part of our honeymoon. I expected to have a great once in a lifetime experience but i have now caught the bug and can't wait to return for our next safari and hope to stay at Il Moran again. We had a warm welcome on our arrival after a long trip and were shown to our amazing tent which overlooked the winding Mara river - we could see groups of hippos snoozing the day away and on our first and third nights we could hear some of them wandering around the camp looking for food. The guards were great and escorted guests around during the dusk/dark so that you aren't at risk and they patrol the site at night also so there is no need to worry about safety.

Our safari guide was Richard and we really enjoyed chatting to him and learning from him during the 5 days we spent with him. Nothing was too much trouble and when we asked if he could find a cheetah he found a female cheetah that afternoon. We saw 3 of the big 5 on our way back from the local airport and really enjoyed the overwhelming safari experience. Every safari trip was different and we travelled for miles each day - it never felt like we were following the same route or doing the same thing.

I'm a coeliac so cannot eat gluten and was incredibly well looked after - bread was freshly baked for me at each mealtime and Lucas took care to talk me through what was available to me (mostly everything) for which i was very grateful. The wake up call each morning with tea and coffee helped us start the day properly and getting to spend time in the luxurious tent at the end of each day was great - there is a roll top bath and huge shower in each tent so that you can wash off the day's dust. We found the (free) daily washing service really helpful - we were told to put any washing in the basket before the first safari of the day, and it was washed and back in the tent when we got back at 6.30pm each day so really (and if you're pressed for your luggage allowance like we were) you could just take 2 days' worth of outfits for safari and have them washed every other day.

Overall we had a brilliant time and we cannot wait to return. We haven't used Governors before but would definitely look to book any future trips with them.

Room Tip: Any of the tents - they are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Il Moran for 4 nights from September 24th to 28th 2013. It's an incredibly good venue and exceeded all of our already high expectations. The customer service is outstanding and the food quality and menu choice would rival many of a London restaurant. Patrick is a great host and Caleb and Collins looked after us so well.

Our guide Dickson had great knowledge of the area and wild life and we had seen the Big 5 in less than 24 hours! We also saw a river crossing with hundreds of wilder beast swarming past our jeep as we watched whilst sipping our white wine!

If you want to experience an amazing place for a little more money then it's so worth it. The tents are huge and you are made to feel like kings and queens. Hippos walking by your tent at midnight is something we will never forget!!

Becca and Chris

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors' Il Moran Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.