We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Save
You added Governors' Il Moran Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed in September for the first part of our honeymoon. I expected to have a great once in a lifetime experience but i have now caught the bug and can't wait to return for our next safari and hope to stay at Il Moran again. We had a warm welcome on our arrival after a long trip and were shown to our amazing tent which overlooked the winding Mara river - we could see groups of hippos snoozing the day away and on our first and third nights we could hear some of them wandering around the camp looking for food. The guards were great and escorted guests around during the dusk/dark so that you aren't at risk and they patrol the site at night also so there is no need to worry about safety.

Our safari guide was Richard and we really enjoyed chatting to him and learning from him during the 5 days we spent with him. Nothing was too much trouble and when we asked if he could find a cheetah he found a female cheetah that afternoon. We saw 3 of the big 5 on our way back from the local airport and really enjoyed the overwhelming safari experience. Every safari trip was different and we travelled for miles each day - it never felt like we were following the same route or doing the same thing.

I'm a coeliac so cannot eat gluten and was incredibly well looked after - bread was freshly baked for me at each mealtime and Lucas took care to talk me through what was available to me (mostly everything) for which i was very grateful. The wake up call each morning with tea and coffee helped us start the day properly and getting to spend time in the luxurious tent at the end of each day was great - there is a roll top bath and huge shower in each tent so that you can wash off the day's dust. We found the (free) daily washing service really helpful - we were told to put any washing in the basket before the first safari of the day, and it was washed and back in the tent when we got back at 6.30pm each day so really (and if you're pressed for your luggage allowance like we were) you could just take 2 days' worth of outfits for safari and have them washed every other day.

Overall we had a brilliant time and we cannot wait to return. We haven't used Governors before but would definitely look to book any future trips with them.

Room Tip: Any of the tents - they are all brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
32
102
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Il Moran for 4 nights from September 24th to 28th 2013. It's an incredibly good venue and exceeded all of our already high expectations. The customer service is outstanding and the food quality and menu choice would rival many of a London restaurant. Patrick is a great host and Caleb and Collins looked after us so well.

Our guide Dickson had great knowledge of the area and wild life and we had seen the Big 5 in less than 24 hours! We also saw a river crossing with hundreds of wilder beast swarming past our jeep as we watched whilst sipping our white wine!

If you want to experience an amazing place for a little more money then it's so worth it. The tents are huge and you are made to feel like kings and queens. Hippos walking by your tent at midnight is something we will never forget!!

Becca and Chris

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arrived after a long flight to Nairobi from London.Short flight from Wilson airport to Masai Mara.
We were met at the airstrip by Patrick,the manager of Il Moran who after introductions remebered our names for the rest of the stay.
The staff could not have been more helpful.Food was great and very plentiful.
The setting is amazing on the curve of Mara river,each tent(tent is slightly detrimental to these luxury strucures,large beds,roll top baths,scalding hot water).We had a constant natural animal display on our doorstep,watching and listening to hippos,wart hogs,baboons,mongoose gazelles,elephants and crocodiles from our veranda.
At night it is very dark and animals are free to walk around the camp.The staff take safety very seriously and escort you from dinner to your rooms when it is dark.
We could hear animals scratching around outside our tent at night and were reassured that our guards were around .
Dickson was our driver on the game drives.The luxury landrover converions were great,everyone has a window seat and they could go over the roughest terrain.
The safaris! Where to start,we saw everything and so much of it.The marsh pride,leopards,cheetahs elephants hippos.We saw two crossing of wilderbeasts and zebras taking their lives in their hands and swimming over the river.Completley spellbinding,like we were watching a TV program,but we were there.
Being on the Il Moran Package meant we had a drink stop(orders taken at lunch) so we really did feel like we were in the lap of luxury.
we were very well looked after here and would recoomend it strongly.There are only 10 tents,there is one socket per tent that allows use of a hairdryer and another for charging phones or cameras.Not for the lovers of late night revelling but not to be missed.
We would go back tomorrow and hope to be back soon.
We travelled at the end of september and there was loads to see.
Thanks to Patrick and the well trained and friendly team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had some troubles with catching the plane which was frustrating, however this was soon forgotten with the great reception, service and great driver/guide. The personal service was exceptional, the staff were friendly and considerate of our privacy when a larger group was in the camp. The food was good, the activities were well arranged and flexible (as far as possible).Overall we had a wonderful time, in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our second camp in the Masai Mara. Accommodation was first class for being under canvas. Staff were all very helpful especially SAMMY our driver each day who could magically find the animals we longed to see,
. The highlight of our stay was witnessing the birth of an Impalla from start to finish with the baby standing up on very shaky legs to suckle from Mum. Saw the migration of the Wildebeast as wll as all of the Big 5. A great camp to see some of the best of the wildlife in the Mara
Well worth visiting and good value for money if you enjoy the better things in life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nites at the Il Moran Camp and enjoyed every part of it. Wonderful accommodations in the Masai Mara Reserve, extremely knowledgeable guides and staff, amazing food. Couldn't be better...we'd love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited in early September, just a few weeks ago. The Massai Mara was a truly magic experience. Governor's Il Moran Camp the perfect home base. These folks know about client service and putting the guest first without being pretentious. It helps that their camp is a 5 star experience in the bush! Thanks to all for contributing to a trip of a lifetime for us old guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors' Il Moran Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.