We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Moran is the perfect setting for your Safari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Save Saved
You added Governors' Il Moran Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Il Moran is the perfect setting for your Safari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Il Moran for 4 nights from September 24th to 28th 2013. It's an incredibly good venue and exceeded all of our already high expectations. The customer service is outstanding and the food quality and menu choice would rival many of a London restaurant. Patrick is a great host and Caleb and Collins looked after us so well.

Our guide Dickson had great knowledge of the area and wild life and we had seen the Big 5 in less than 24 hours! We also saw a river crossing with hundreds of wilder beast swarming past our jeep as we watched whilst sipping our white wine!

If you want to experience an amazing place for a little more money then it's so worth it. The tents are huge and you are made to feel like kings and queens. Hippos walking by your tent at midnight is something we will never forget!!

Becca and Chris

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Arrived after a long flight to Nairobi from London.Short flight from Wilson airport to Masai Mara.
We were met at the airstrip by Patrick,the manager of Il Moran who after introductions remebered our names for the rest of the stay.
The staff could not have been more helpful.Food was great and very plentiful.
The setting is amazing on the curve of Mara river,each tent(tent is slightly detrimental to these luxury strucures,large beds,roll top baths,scalding hot water).We had a constant natural animal display on our doorstep,watching and listening to hippos,wart hogs,baboons,mongoose gazelles,elephants and crocodiles from our veranda.
At night it is very dark and animals are free to walk around the camp.The staff take safety very seriously and escort you from dinner to your rooms when it is dark.
We could hear animals scratching around outside our tent at night and were reassured that our guards were around .
Dickson was our driver on the game drives.The luxury landrover converions were great,everyone has a window seat and they could go over the roughest terrain.
The safaris! Where to start,we saw everything and so much of it.The marsh pride,leopards,cheetahs elephants hippos.We saw two crossing of wilderbeasts and zebras taking their lives in their hands and swimming over the river.Completley spellbinding,like we were watching a TV program,but we were there.
Being on the Il Moran Package meant we had a drink stop(orders taken at lunch) so we really did feel like we were in the lap of luxury.
we were very well looked after here and would recoomend it strongly.There are only 10 tents,there is one socket per tent that allows use of a hairdryer and another for charging phones or cameras.Not for the lovers of late night revelling but not to be missed.
We would go back tomorrow and hope to be back soon.
We travelled at the end of september and there was loads to see.
Thanks to Patrick and the well trained and friendly team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had some troubles with catching the plane which was frustrating, however this was soon forgotten with the great reception, service and great driver/guide. The personal service was exceptional, the staff were friendly and considerate of our privacy when a larger group was in the camp. The food was good, the activities were well arranged and flexible (as far as possible).Overall we had a wonderful time, in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Our second camp in the Masai Mara. Accommodation was first class for being under canvas. Staff were all very helpful especially SAMMY our driver each day who could magically find the animals we longed to see,
. The highlight of our stay was witnessing the birth of an Impalla from start to finish with the baby standing up on very shaky legs to suckle from Mum. Saw the migration of the Wildebeast as wll as all of the Big 5. A great camp to see some of the best of the wildlife in the Mara
Well worth visiting and good value for money if you enjoy the better things in life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We spent three nites at the Il Moran Camp and enjoyed every part of it. Wonderful accommodations in the Masai Mara Reserve, extremely knowledgeable guides and staff, amazing food. Couldn't be better...we'd love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We visited in early September, just a few weeks ago. The Massai Mara was a truly magic experience. Governor's Il Moran Camp the perfect home base. These folks know about client service and putting the guest first without being pretentious. It helps that their camp is a 5 star experience in the bush! Thanks to all for contributing to a trip of a lifetime for us old guys!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was an amazing life experience for us; the animals and the proximity to them are spectacular, but before I tell you about that let me give you my first tip.

Regardless of what your travel provider might tell you, avoid driving into this camp. When you leave the main road from or to Nairobi you will have a 77 kilometer drive into the camp. This drive is backbreaking, it is on a pathway (can't call it a road) that is rutted and filled with holes the size of the vehicle. At times the vehicle will careen on its side and you'll swear you'll tip over. The dust that comes up is choking and is unpleasant. It takes over two and a half hours to cover the 77 KMS. You'll be exhausted and tired and dirty. All I could think of was that we had to do it again on the way out. (We didn't, we changed plans and flew out) Take the flying option if you can.

Now to the good stuff... Once you get there it is amazing! The camp staff is wonderful and care for your well being. The tents are reasonably equipped considering you are in a national park, you'll be comfortable. The food is quite good, well prepared and always fresh. There is even limited WiFi available.

You will have a choice of three drives per day, or a two drive option. On the two drive option, you'll stay out longer in the morning and travel further. Your guide will bring a "bush breakfast" which you'll eat in a serene portion of Masai Mara. I recommend this, its fun.

We were there in late July during the Wildebeest migration. It was remarkable to see hundreds of thousands of these animals in every direction. We drive into the herd, never more than a foot to two way from them. We also saw several lions (male and female) as close as six feet away, leopards who had made kills and were eating their kills in a tree, countless Buffalo, Topee, gigantic crocodiles, Elephants, a dozen Hippos, Baboons, Gazelles, Impalas and numerous warthogs. There is even a warthog named Wiggly who likes to walk into the camp right next to your breakfast table and makes himself at home.

On one of your drives you will visit a Masai village, quite fascinating and educational. Morning drives commence at 6:30 am. You will have a cup of coffee or tea in your tent before you go and you'll see the sunrise over the Masai Mara from your Land Rover. Few things are worth rising this early for but this is one of them. Back to the camp by 9:00 for a hearty breakfast, then another drive at 10:30 returning at 12:30 for lunch and a rest. Then out again at 3:30 for the evening drive and back around 6:30 for a hot shower in your tent and dinner.

It sounds long but you will be amazed at how quickly the time goes by. The guides are all superb and well prepared to answer your questions and accommodate your requests to see specific animals.

Tip number two; bring the best camera you can with a long telephoto lens. A 300 mm lens would be fine and hopefully a zoom, so you can get close ups. You'll want a big data card because you'll snap hundreds and hundreds of shots. Shoot without limitation and cull the unnecessary shots when you get home.

Tip number three, take several changes of clothes. You will get pretty dirty on each drive from the dust that gets kicked up. And it gets into everything. There is a reason why most of the locals wear Khaki colored or green clothing. It doesn't show the dust! By the way, the camp does offer same day laundry service. Avoid wearing light colors like white and beige.

If you apply sunscreen, make sure you use one that absorbs into the skin quickly. If you have any light residue left on your skin the dust will cling to it and you'll find the end result makes you look like a bushman.

My last tip to you is to bring a warm sweater or fleece, one that you don't mind getting dusty so dark colored. It's cold in the mornings and early evenings on the drives and you’re in an open vehicle traveling at 30-40 MPH. You will get quite chilled.

Don't let all this put you off, it's an amazing experience and you'll have memories for a lifetime. We were three or four feet from lions, watched them eat a kill. We saw Wildebeests crossing the river and crushing themselves in panic. Dozens of them floating away in the river and being eaten by huge crocodiles and vultures. And while that sounds gruesome, it is nature and the way of life in the wild.

Governors Camp is a wonderful place and will deliver an experience you will always cherish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors' Il Moran Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.