We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Safari experience ! INCREDIBLE !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Governors' Il Moran Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Governors' Il Moran Camp
Save Saved
You added Governors' Il Moran Camp to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First Safari experience ! INCREDIBLE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at Governors Il Moran camp last September and it was a magical experience. Il Moran is the more 'up market' of the camps at Governers and really felt quite exclusive. The tent was ENORMOUS and beautifully appointed. Location was superb, about 2 steps from the front of the tent was the Mara river complete with about 20 hippos basking in the sun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    8
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
93
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at Il Moran for three nights as part of our honeymoon and have nothing but compliments for Patrick and all those who looked after us. Service, food, location and accommodation were superb, as were all of the game drives. We would heartily recommend this secluded idyll to anyone looking for a romantic adventure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Il Moran is a fantastic camp with good people who do their very best for your comfort. We were met by our guide Simon when we landed at the small airstrip and taken to the camp; and what a place. Large comfortable tents right by the bank of the Mara river, with hippos, crocs, elephants and giraffes immidiately visible in the river and on the banks of the river. During the night we could hear the lions roar nearby. What a neighbourhood! Tents were spacious, luxurious and clean and well kept by the staff and the food superb. We stayed for three nights and had fantastic game drives with our guide and saw lots of animals and we had an unforgettable balloon trip which ended with champagne breakfast after a perfect flight.Recommended! Il Moran Camp is truly an unbelieveable place which must be experienced..

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A belated review but have to say how amazing this trip was... stayed sept 2010...

We stayed here for 4 nights before heading off to Zanzibar to get married (see my review of echo beach hotel). This was our first time on safari and can truly say it was a magical experience. I'll never forget the moment we arrived and being greeted with a cool refreshing drink, the sun was shining and nature was there in all its glory... was almost overwhelming!! Checkin was quick and were taken straight to tent to unpack. These tents are HUGE... and face the river which was filled with hippos swimming and warthogs grazing. We went on our first safari drive that evening and although it rained hard with lots of thunder, we were fortunate to immediately come across a lion with a fresh kill! Returning shortly before it got dark. Over the next few days we pretty much saw everything apart from the black rhino, even spent a couple of hours at a crossing as the migration was taking place and eventually witnessing the incredible chaos that takes place when the wildebeest finally pluck up the courage to cross... including the crocs lurking around and grabbing the odd weak one.

Without spending hours writing my review which i could quite happily do as this whole experience was unforgettable i'll only be reiterating what others have said. We also did a hot air balloon ride which was out of this world, theres no better place to do one! and with a full english and champagne on landing what more could be better!??

If you're considering this place, consider no more... its the one!!

Room Tip: Tipping the drivers will help you as well as them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

From when I first arrived I could not fault anything, then when we got to our tent I was even more taken back, firstly it has all home comforts of a toilet shower and comfy bed, but out on the little porch were views of a valley looking down on a river which was low when I was there and saw crocodiles and in the trees on the other side of the valley were lots of baboons. The food is lovely and the area is pretty. I saw hippos wandering around the camp and one night an elephant was right outside my tent eating the fruit off of one of the trees. And the safari was spectacular I went on everyone possible and think I saw every animal in the masai mara. The tour guide was amazing and would go back. I had a booking for the hot air balloon but due to the not so good weather it got cancelled but completely not their fault. From the moment I arrived to the moment I left I was one happy lady. Would recommended to all

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

WOW is the only word I can find to describe every emotion I felt on my arrival here. The whole experience from beginning to end blew my mind.The levels of care,respect, kindness and generosity afforded me by all members of staff was the most outstanding feature of this property. Like the couple from Denmark who have just posted a review I would return again in an instant.

There is an old Gucci saying that is fittingly appropriate to this whole experience " that quality is remembered long after price is forgotten" Maina my guide, was a gentleman that guided me through this abundance of wildlife. He brought everything I have ever watched on national geographic alive instantly. It was wonderful

The food was excellent the setting was stunning. As for the "EXPERIENCE" well that cannot be described. There is only one way to experience it and that is just go there. if you are reading this you might be considering going there. Do not hesitate, you wont be disappointed. I booked a whole governors package which also included Loldia House and its own internal flights. It was worth every penny.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Il Moran camp was part of our recent honeymoon travels. It was stunning and if I ever again have the spare cash, I'll go back in a heartbeat. We stayed for 7 days over Christmas in December. We were prepared for this to be "high" season, but as it is the end of the rainy season, it was still very quiet.

The rooms there are tented, but have king size beds, a lounge area, and a desk area - as well as a huge bathroom with 2 person cast iron tub. We used the tub several times and never ran into troubles filling it with hot water. The shower was luxurious too.

The tent's balconies have a table for private dining (if you wish) as well as camp chairs and a hammock. They all face the river - where you can see hippos and crocodiles among other creatures as you relax.

For Breakfast and Lunch you have the choice of eating them "in camp" or as a "picnic". We ate 3 breakfasts out and 2 lunches out (on different days). The "picnic" meals included every variety of food you might want (couscous salad for lunch on the road anyone? grilled chicken?, how about a spot of home made yoghurt?). There was about double the amount of food provided as we could eat. Wine, beer, pops, water, mixed drinks, tea, coffee also followed us into "the bush".

All meals "in camp" started with a menu brought to your table for selecting what courses of the meal you wanted. Soup, Salad, breads, selection of mains, desserts, coffee/tea/chocolate were standard for lunches and dinners. Breakfasts were pancakes, eggs any way, french toast, fresh fruit.... I could go on. The camp is "all inclusive" and they really do mean it.

In the evening wake up "calls" were arranged for the following day - "What would you like brought to your tent? Coffee? Tea? Hot Chocolate? What time will be good for you?"

Service throughout the camp was marvelous - there is an army of staff there to see to your every whim. Patrick, the camp manager was wonderful, and genuinely excited to hear about the animals you'd seen that day when on safari. Internet is a little unstable, but we had no problems when there were no thunderstorms disrupting the signal.

Due to the season, we were very fortunate to have a great driver and land rover all to ourselves for the week we were there - it could easily have held a second couple without a problem. Our driver was very skilled and friendly, and was good at finding information out about where the harder to spot animals were located. He helped make our safari experience memorable.

We went for a balloon ride one morning - which was wonderful, and finished with a "bush breakfast" that included a ready-made pancake stand as well as Mimosas. No "roughing it" ever happened.

Another morning we went for a walking safari - lead by Patrick, the manager. He shared stories from his years in Kenya and his obvious love of the bush. This too finished with a "Bush breakfast" that was gourmet in style and quality.

We used the Governor's Camp airline to get to and from the camp - they were great too, and we'd highly recommend it for anyone.

We had a great time - this was a perfect honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: There are only 10 tents in the camp - they all face the river and are all spectacular. I'd prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Governors' Il Moran Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors' Il Moran Camp

Address: C14, Keekorok - -Masai Mara Reserve-, Maasai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Maasai Mara National Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 109 Specialty lodging in Maasai Mara National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Governors' Il Moran Camp 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governors' IL Moran Camp is small and intimate. Located right in the heart of the Masai Mara Game Reserve, this small luxurious camp is hidden under ancient trees, deep in the forest on the banks of the Mara River. 10 spacious tents line the winding river banks of the Mara River. With the best game viewing right on your doorstep game drives and game walks are included in the rate. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Governors` Il Moran Camp Hotel Maasai Mara National Reserve
Governors' Il Moran Camp Kenya/Maasai Mara National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Governors' Il Moran Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.